We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Friendly's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Friendly's
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in South Hadley
Restaurant details
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Friendly's has a wide variety of food - Try the soup in the bread bowl. It was tasty and warmed us up during a snowy day visit. We splurged and added milkshakes for dessert. Very rich. A Brownie Girl Scout Troop was selling cookies at a cookie booth outside the restaurant that day so we got double dessert. Glad to support a business franchise that supports the community.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank deb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Once a local Icon, now a fading name in history”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have been eating here for over a decade, the moderation and changes are too numerous to list. We have eaten Breakfast, lunch and dinner, The food has varied as well as service, too many face changes monthly ,indicate poor screening and some are barely 18 with no training.
Friendly's was once a force to be reconed with, a large local business with it's own internal distribution center and trucks. Restaurants saturated the tri-county area, including northern Ct and upstate NY. Last year due to the recession many were closed, mostly outside Mass as well as within Tri-county area.
Prices escalated way too fast after the recession start, food quality, service and general management of the remaining stores has gone down. Screening process for waitresses is lousy, they hire anyone who can count to ten without using fingers. One time we were ripped off for 10 in change by a cunning lil hash slinger, who was skimming the till, it was reported and resolved however, no monies returned, a 10 dollar voucher was issued, little consolation, individual was fired.
Also this restaurant is located in a busy plaza parking lot, where after school for at least two or so hours ,the local brats from the elementary and jr high schools hang out. Not only do they over occupy the restaurant acting like a bunch of animals, creating a awful noise. I'm quite sure they don't tip well either. If not inside they are outside loitering by the doors, discouraging customers, some are tempting fate fooling around with skateboards in a parking lot with active traffic and heavy delivery trucks, they don't even get out of the way, they are undisciplined as thier encourageable parents allow them to be. The management does nothing to control this as I am sure the local police won't either. Go somewhere else , no wonder this town lives up to it,s reputation of "Bully-Ville" Stay away between the hours of 3 to 5 PM weekdays.
In retrospect, Friendly's in the 70's and early 80's was known for being an ice cream and small sandwich shop, the food was marginal but over priced. When many complained they never change with the times, Friendly's re-vamped thier menu's, ....it's about time !
After the changes a broader, more diverse menu came out and prices standardized, this held true till about the turn of the milleninum. Bad attempts to make commercials more memerable, constant banter of annoying pitches ,did no good to thier reputation.
Finally the disasterous recession of 2008 struck and the industry as a whole was decimated, wihtin the last 4 years ,numerous small restaurants failed, small ,family owned businesses, established locally for years, faded off in the sunset. Then the closures hit the commercial market, if you weren't in the top fortune 500 club, you were doomed to fail, it was a matter of time ,when even Friendl'ys would fall to the wayside.
It's now a matter of time before the remaining close down and the name Friendly's becomes just a phrase in a sentence, thier service has declined, thier prices too high and inconsistently trained service personnel constantly changing. Yes they are slowly dying, problem is no one cares, there are too many other places out there to replace this operation
For us, friendly's was once a great ice cream place, now it's just a step higher in dining than that of McDonald's, we go only when we want a change in eating out. Another annoyance within ,is the breaks between the outdated elevator music, an annoying symphony of bratty banter with the song chorus of " I wanna go to Friendly's". Let's face facts, kids with tinny voices do not capture my attention and for the love of Pete, keep the advertising out of the restaurant, we see enough on television. So long Icon, you will fade into history ,as long as you never try, to return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Breakfast is the Best”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Service is great in the morning, but not so much in the evening. Doesn't open until 8:00am, so an early breakfast is out of the question.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dkefaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slowly Dying”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Friendly's used to be great but over the years has slowly slipped in quality and increased their prices. My last Sundae cost five fifty but only had less then two scoops of Ice Cream and hardly any toppings I actually called and complained. 2 burgers 2 cokes $12.50 not cooked right and the service was horrible that day.

Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Poor service”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Ordered a small ice cream... Wow, it's small. Weight watchers would be happy but got two and half dollars I was less than impressed...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ws_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly's also viewed

South Hadley, Hampshire County
South Hadley, Hampshire County
 
South Hadley, Hampshire County
South Hadley, Hampshire County
 
South Hadley, Hampshire County
South Hadley, Hampshire County
 

Been to Friendly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing