We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Egremont Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I came up and stayed for a weekend last winter. It was during some of the recent renovations and improvements. The owners were very accommodating. My GF and i had a great stay. The grounds are gorgeous. Can't wait to see what it's like after the reno. Headed up there this weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Inn is very pretty and the small room we stayed was cozy, although very small. We have seem to arrive in an unfortunate day, the inauguration of the Inn's restaurant. The owners were still nice, but seemed busy with something else. I had asked if there would be gluten free options available for breakfast and they were nice to buy me some granola, but the breakfast itself was disappointing. I was expecting eggs and something warm (specially after reading the reviews here), but there was just yoghurt, some berries and granola. They didn't have breakfast tea (only the more mild black teas), and this was also a bit disappointing. It wasn't a bad experience at all, but it wasn't fantastic. Also, there is a lot of noise because of the restaurant. They have live music and this goes on directly bellow the rooms, and it seems like the piano is just beside you. By the time we booked, we didn't know there would be a restaurant on site, otherwise we might just have chosen another place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_Bee_410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick K, Manager at The Egremont Village Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Jay_Bea_410,
Thank you for visiting us at The Egremont Village Inn,
We do apologize for the circumstances of your most recent stay, and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Please contact me directly when your travels bring you through this way again. Sincerely, Nick K., Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

A wonderful find in a beautiful part of the US. Clean, friendly, inviting with so much to do from the doorstep or to see by just sitting on the porch. Thanks to Sarah, Tom, Gigi, Darden and all staff for their gracious hospitality. Dan & Suzie (plus on on the way!), UK

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Disregard anything you had read about the Weathervane Inn. That name and the people who formerly ran the place are history! With new owners and management, The Egremont Village Inn is a gem! Beautifully decorated and comfortably furnished, the sizable rooms in the Inn have comfortable beds, with just the right size and number of pillows, floral wall paper and antique pictures. Internet is available and the sunny breakfast room is very pleasant. There is a grand piano in the music room and frequent musical evenings are being planned. The location is perfect for those attending events at Tanglewood, and ski resorts and parks are also close by. Catamount is only a couple of miles away.
Gigi Teeley and her husband Tom were warm and welcoming hosts. After a relaxing night's sleep and a delicious breakfast, I departed. I will be sure to return to the Egremont Village Inn the next time I am in that part of Massachusetts!

Room Tip: Consult with the staff if you have any special needs or requirements, and they will do their utmost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrvoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had unfortunate timing of our 4 night stay as the Inn was sold during that period. Despite booking 2 months in advance, we were not told about the sale and and we rattled about in the empty rambling inn without other guests. The owners were clearly not engaged and we barely saw them. Came back from a day of skiing to find that the old owners had removed the couches and other furniture, cut off the tv and wifi. It was depressing.

When we returned after the following day of skiing, the new owners were there and the place was warm and alive again. They are lovely people who did their best to make it up to us. The coffee was great and the breakfast was healthy with fresh berries and delicious omelets. . Nick has lovely plans for the Inn, and we wish him luck with his new endeavors. His mother Sarah is bringing her grand piano and made plans for my 12 year old niece to bring her flute and play with her at their next visit. We would return happily if the prices remain reasonable. Wonderful that the Inn is vibrant again. My 'very good' rating reflects the potential of the Inn under the new owners, not our actual experience. The historic Inn is quaint and in a pretty town.

It is close to Catamount for skiing which was the reason we chose it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LittleLaurie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked a mini ski vacation December 27th through December 29th. Little did I know that the Inn
changed owners. Nick and Sarah (the new owners) did the best job letting us feel so comfortable. Nick makes the best omelets for breakfast. The inn is so charming as it has large country rooms. It old and warm as well for a large place. The decoration is Laura Ashley at best. Nick has renovation plans that the Inn will be ready in April or May of 2013. People don't miss this place. It is a gem and will only get better! There are nine beautiful acres. Children are so welcome too! We will be back when all its done. Really give this in a try, you won't be disapointed but pleasanty surprised. Barbara, Ray & Amanda Dagnelli

Room Tip: All rooms are good!!! The bathroom could use updating but it really fine with plenty of hot water. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Egremont
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#6 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.7 mi away
Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Egremont Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Egremont Village Inn

Property: The Egremont Village Inn
Address: 17 Main St, South Egremont, MA 01258-9717 (Formerly The Weathervane Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > South Egremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Egremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Egremont Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as “The Weathervane Inn”, The Egremont Village Inn, a 12 room bed & breakfast, was purchased in 2012 by its current owners, and has been undergoing extensive renovations to restore the property. Currently, a 45-seat restaurant/tavern has been re-opened as part of the Main Inn and the Robbie Burns Pub, last operational in the 1980′s, and with the help of the community, is set to open in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Egremont Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing