We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of The Red Cottage

The Red Cottage
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in South Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
cape cod ma
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Food is consistently great! Can get crowded but worth the wait! Cash only is the only downside I can think of. Keep up the great work!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathywhite68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    72
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We frequently come here for breakfast and always love the food. There are some unique items on the menu and all the good breakfast staples. I have had the eggs benedict (regular) and the Irish benedict. Both are excellent. The cinnamon french toast is also very good. Really, everything we have had was great. We love the owner run atmosphere and the wait staff as well.

Helpful?
Thank nascms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Large Selection, Good Prices, OK Fare But Doesn't Rank #1”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a nice old fashioned breakfast and lunch spot complete with a counter-based diner-like grill and food prep area. The decor is great -vintage pieces and family pictures of Old Cape Cod. There are many tables in a large room that reminds me of a living room in an old farmhouse - only bigger!
The waitresses are interesting, friendly and helpful. The menu is huge and it almost takes too long to read it (perhaps it sacrifices taste for volume). I got an omelette. It was nothing special, rather tasteless and seriously forgettable (the toast was the best part!). My companion got the special "Wild Maine" blueberry french toast with blueberry and vanilla cream dressing. It was FAR too sweet for a breakfast item and the "Wild Maine" blueberries, which should have been tiny and tart were the size of grapes and sweet.
It was worth checking out, but there are better breakfast places in Dennis (Grumpy's for one). I think this is one of those places that has been popular with the locals since the beginning of time and out of habit these folks vote this place the best spot in town.
Of note - the parking lot is small, a little tight when backing out, and some spaces are almost on the street.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spindrift2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast joint”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Eat at this neat little breakfast spot, tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood, and you won't be hungry for the rest of the day. The range of breakfast choices is kind of ridiculous; my suggestion is that you not bother with the menu, but rather tell the server what you want, at which point he or she will say, "Ok, you want the Chatham" or something like that. The food is very good, very well prepared, and delivered fast from grill to table. Two minor knocks: the coffee was a tad weak, and the prices are indeed a little high. But an enormous, delicious breakfast at $9-12 beats the pants off an ordinary, blah breakfast at $7, so I would say Red Cottage still offers great value. They also serve lunch, which I'll try at some point. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank BrewstaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very expensive for average food”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This restaurant is one of the most popular in the area. I'm not totally sure why it was just ok. Nothing special. We ate breakfast and rang up a $30 bill for two people to eat a basic breakfast. The country cafe atmosphere was nice and it was entertaining to watch the cooks.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tloco1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Cottage also viewed

 

Been to The Red Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing