We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

The Shady Hollow Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Dennis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shady Hollow Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 South Dennis B&B and Inns
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2008

This is a very nice B&B - very clean, well furnished, and cozy. We enjoyed the serene surroundings- complete with bunnies that came up to the outside patio as we were eating breakfast. Great vegetarian breakfast. The couple who owns the B&B are very friendly. They let us borrow their bikes for the day so that we could explore the town and beach by bike. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALI31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crescentnyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We fell in love with the Shady Hollow Inn and the innkeepers, Ann and David, during our first stay in 2002, and we've been back there every year since then. The B&B is beautifully furnished, comfortable, and the cleanest place you'll ever stay in. Ann's beautiful artwork and photographs are displayed throughout the house. Both Ann and David are funny, warm, caring and simply the perfect hosts. Each morning they give us great tips on where to hike and what to visit, and then Ann maps out our route on a map (that we get to keep in our car!) so that we won't get lost. And the food! Breakfast each morning starts with perfectly cut fresh fruit salad (David's specialty) and warm homemade muffins. Following that, you get one of Ann's delicious vegeterian/vegan masterpieces, such as quiche, scrambled tofu, or blueberry pancakes. They always have plenty of food and they anticipate your every need. We could go on and on and on about the Shady Hollow Inn. Suffice it to say, you'll never want to leave; you'll have found paradise.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Crescentnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

How Special can a veggie B and B~ B?
REALLY Special!

We visited Ann and David for our annual Christmas romp to the Cape and found the food, company and artwork to be perfecto! The house is roomy and charming and it was just a great place to be for the holidays.

We have stayed at many New England and European B and B's and can say that Ann and David are some of the best that we have come across. They are both super engaged, friendly and worked hard to take care of us! A very sweet stay.....

Hope to be back soon!

Kathy and Roger/Max and Zack

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katedevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

Be aware that they have a two-night minimum stay, even in the off-season. That's not terribly uncommon for a B&B, but they do neglect to mention it on their website--- in fact, their Terms & Conditions page even states that "full pre-payment is required for a one- or two-night stay," creating a false impression.

My biggest complaint is that the owners didn't act very friendly or hospitable, but rather as though customers are a tremendous inconvenience that they just barely deign to accept, for which we should all be grateful. If people don't enjoy having houseguests, that's fine--- I certainly don't--- but I do advise them to find another line of work. I suppose it might just be part of the somewhat cool New England personality, but it wasn't very pleasant and spoiled our weekend.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Medereiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veg-AnnCapeCod, owner at The Shady Hollow Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2007
We have corrected the oversight on our website and there should no longer be any misunderstanding about our 2 night stay policy. There was never any intent to mislead anyone - we apologize for the distress caused this reviewer. As to being unfriendly or not interested in having guests, we have to say that if that impression was given we apologize again. We are sensitive to guests needs and quite honestly, thought that we had fun and friendly experiences with everyone who was here in October. But obviously we failed with this guest and feel very badly about it. We have emailed through TripAdvisor to not only apologize but have offered a full refund. We have had no response to that offer which still stands. Many thanks, Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2007

Although our stay there was a while ago, The Shady Hollow Inn really deserves 2 thumbs up for their friendliness, the quality of the food that was served. The house is spotless, impeccably maintained by Ann and David. The home baked orange muffins were delicious! Ann cooked a special vegan dish for us, which was delicious.
The room was very comfortable, excellent mattress, and the decoration was very tasteful.
Definitely a must-stay B&B on Cape Cod!

  • Liked — Feeling welcome and the friendlness of the hosts, the food, the cleanliness of the rooms
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2006

This review is long overdue, but needs to be written. My boyfriend and I are vegetarians and to find an inn that caters to that was wonderful. We stayed there in Feb. of this year for Valentine's day and had an exceptional time.

The Rooms:
The room and bathroom were large, comfortable, and exceptionally clean. We went during the low seaon and were upgraded to the largest room for free!

The Sitting Room:
The B&B's sitting area is a small, cozy room w/a working fireplace and a wonderful selection of books. As it was snowing when we went down, my b/f and I stayed in this room the whole time and were completely comfortable. There is also a large selection of relatively recent movies.

The Food:
The food was excellent! Breakfast was included, and we opted to pay more for a 4 course dinner the night before. Both meals were fantastic, completely vegetarian (with the option of vegan items if we wanted) and mostly organic. During the day, while we were sitting in the room, the hosts brought us snacks throughout the day.

Overall, we had fantastic time. The hosts were very kind and informative about the area. The rooms and food were superb. For vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike, we highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soundgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2005

So comfortable, such wonderful and nice hosts. Made us feel at home in their home. The best muffins ever! Breakfast was amazing and we felt so pampered. A perfect ending to our honeymoon vacation. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Dennis
3.6 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
384 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sesuit Harbor House
Sesuit Harbor House
#1 of 1 in East Dennis
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mulberry Tree Inn
Mulberry Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in South Dennis
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Rock Resort
Blue Rock Resort
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
160 reviews
2.0 mi away
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
The Escape Inn
The Escape Inn
#1 of 21 in South Yarmouth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shady Hollow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shady Hollow Inn

Property: The Shady Hollow Inn
Address: 370 Main St, South Dennis, MA 02660-3646
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Dennis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in South Dennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Shady Hollow Inn South Dennis, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing