We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Deerfield
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Nice hotel - good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

Nice staff and great indoor pool. Very close to the Yankee Candle Company headquarters/flagship store. Easy to find from the highway, too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    125
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
177
97
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

Went to a wedding in the area and this was literally the only hotel with rooms under $250 a night (it was parents' weekend at UMass). The people were very nice from the time we made the reservation (they gave it to us at the wedding group rate even thogh it was past the deadline). The room was a clean place to stay -- no luxury touches, a small bar of soap, a packet of shampoo, no conditioner, no hair dryer, no coffee machine (the coffee maker in the lobby was worse than awful). The room was non-smoking, but there were smoking rooms on the same floor, so the smell sort of crept in. The place was in a perfect location for us -- about 5 minutes from the ceremony and the reception and right near the highway. Would I stay there again if there were other options? Probably not (I like a little more pampering when I travel), but for what it was, it was just fine.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudymaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

Terrible. The room was dirty. Dead cockroaches on the stairs. Smelled bad. Hydro
went out at about 930. Telephone also went out. No notice from staff what was happening
so it was frightening. Staff indifferent to what was happening. Location was OK; but hotel was bad.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tibs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Thank you Red Roof for the great stay... Your accommodations were perfect. The hotel was comfortable and clean. And I had a nice large room too! Staff was pleasant and the pool was a lot of fun! The perfect ending to a great day in South Deerfield. We will return next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghChewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

I have stayed here before and was happy to return. The rooms are OK - very spacious but the only hotel on my trip that didn't have hairdryers in the room, or a fridge or microwave, so quite basic. This stay was spoiled a bit by the noisy barking dogs that woke us very early. There must have been some dog show on or something as there were at least a dozen dogs there that night. If you get a good rate then this hotel is good as budget accommodation.

The pool was very busy - seemed to be some sort of party going on so didn't get to use it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzygeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn for only one night, and it was one night too many. The room was fairly clean is about the only good thing that I can say about it. There was no hair dryer, iron, ironing board, or coffee pot in the room. We tried to turn the heater on at night, but it sounded like an airplane taking off so we had to turn it off to sleep. The bedspread had stains on it which looked like blood; I was completely grossed out. The screws on the locks in the windows were so loose, someone could have easily broken in. The bathroom had one small packet of shampoo and one bar of soap for 2 people. There is a coffee/hot chocolate machine in the lobby, but there were dead bugs in the cabinet underneath where the supplies were kept so we chose not to use it. The pool area did look nice, but we did not use it. I would never stay here again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judee512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

This Red Roof is a solid no-frills hotel. Staff are friendly and it's convenient to the EXIT off I-91, though if you're headed northbound you have to schlep up to the next interchange. The hotel is clean and very quiet, though there are no hair dryers in the room so beware.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelivingjuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Deerfield
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
5.2 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
7.2 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
11.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
Address: 9 Greenfield Rd, South Deerfield, MA 01373-9618
Location: United States > Massachusetts > South Deerfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+... Adding more WOW to your stay! The rooms at this newly renovated property are 100% Smoke-Free! This Red Roof PLUS+ is located 1.5 miles north of downtown South Deerfield. Close to the Yankee Candle Flagship Store, Bradley Intl Airport (BDL) and the University of Massachusetts, the hotel offers an indoor pool, a coin laundry facility and large flat screen TVs in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn South Deerfield Hotel South Deerfield
South Deerfield Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing