We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Chatham
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

First - we stayed in a ocean front room and had the smallest shower ever seen - my friends camper has a bigger shower! Sink was 4" deep, frig was dorm size and no microwave!
Second - police were called when friends were sitting outside talking in front of their room after midnight. The group I was with were the majority of those staying at the hotel and the owners called the police. Just to preface this, the majority of the group are over 60 years old. When the conversation did not move inside , the police were called back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gailrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    21
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

After reading the reviews on TA we weren't sure what to expect. What we did not find was a large 5* Hyatt or Marriott resort. What we found was a clean, charming motel on a lovely beach in Chatham. The rooms put us into a time warp, but they were spotlessly clean and both the TV and AC worked well. We were happy to have a refrigerator and the free WiFi. The bed was comfortable and when we asked for more towels they arrived promptly. Every room has a view of the ocean. The motel has Adironack chairs on the beach, but we had brought our own lounge chairs.
The location is in a quiet residential area and it was a welcome respite away from the bumper-to-bumper traffic on Route 28. The town of Chatham with its fabulous shops and restaurants is no more than 10 minutes away. Right on the corner of Pleasant Street (the turn off of 28) is a great restaurant called Pisces.
If you are looking for a quiet beachfront resort near Chatham to relax, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larainerenee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
267 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

This hotel was wonderful. We stayed in an oceanfront efficiency. The bathroom was small..but, we had read reviews and knew that ahead of time. It was immaculate and seemed to be newly renovated. Very, very clean. Probably the cleanest bathroom in any hotel that we've seen.

The staff were very helpful. Our bed was a bit hard and they provided extra blankets to put under our sheet as a cushion...that did the trick!

This is a romantic and unique location for the Cape. Very much "not" your typical chain...hotel.

The view was spectacular with crashing surf and there was an amazing view. There was a high powered ceiling fan in our unit which my husband loved. We had our choice of fully functioning a/c or heat.

There were people (rooms) to the left and right of us...but, everyone was quiet and respectful. I would much rather have people on each side than above and below! This was a one story unit....it was wonderful. (No clomping footsteps from above.)

Someone in another review said that it was too pricey...well..."hello"...it is oceanfront and about 20 yards from the water. My guess is that those people have not stayed at many other locations. A bit pricey...yes...but, also fantastic. How often to you have an opportunity to go away and have such a secluded, private, lovely location like this?

I would definately recommend and we will definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eulalia_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We recently stayed at the Chatham Tides. The single positive feature of the property is its location directly on Nantucket Sound, but the room and its amenities made our stay regrettable. The location provides beautiful ocean views. The beach in front is a narrow strip of sand with natural dunes and vegetation bordering it. However the water’s edge contains a multitude of shells that make walking in the water painful. The beach is walkable in either direction if you ignore the signs warning you that are entering a private beach area. The real disappointment was the room. It was very small and the furnishings looked and felt cheap. The bathroom was the smallest hotel bathroom I have ever experienced. The shower was smaller than a phone booth. I can’t imagine spending a rainy day or two inside a hotel room that small. The wooden oceanfront deck was constructed of wood that has dried and splintered. The deck is about 30 yards from the water. It is pleasant to sit and look at the water from the deck. However there is little or no privacy from the other guests with deck units. The room contained a refrigerator, a coffee maker and cook top which were all well cleaned. The annoyance was that coffee was not provided by the hotel. For the price of this room, not providing coffee is an insult. We bought coffee at a nearby store as instructed by the front desk only to find that the filters in the room did not match the coffee machine. The in-room toiletries seemed to be the bare minimum. The one night rate we paid for this room was $300. There is no pool, hot tub or any other recreational facilities on the property. The hotel did not provide the small details that make a guest feel welcome and relaxed. It seemed everything was done on the cheap. Even considering its location, the hotel was not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lewist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, CT
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Although the price for one night was much more expensive than we'd planned, it was wonderful to room right next to the beach! The room was cozy and extra fluffy his and hers blankets were a nice touch! Bathroom is tight, with shower and smallish sink, although the amenities are new. Coffee-maker present, but no coffee! Could have used a microwave, too! Chatham is a beautiful area on Cape Cod, and the motel is at the bottom of Pleasant Street off of the main road, Route 28. We'll save up our pennies to get back there! Recommended to those who value quiet, privacy and direct oceanfront accomadations!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

My husband, myself and two teenage children recently spent 4 days at Chatam tides. I was VERY disappointed. The rooms were dated and tiny. The bathroom even smaller. You could not turn around in the bathroom. No amenities at all. Not even a hair dryer. The air conditioner did not work. WAY WAY over priced for what you get. It was essentailly like camping with a roof over your head. Then when we decided after one night it probably wasn't a great fit for us as a family, we were told we could not get any of our money back to go to a different place as they would not be able to rebook the room. Instead we spent $260/night for a cramped space. The beach was nice but we never stayed there as there was no space to do anything.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank justvisiting27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

I've been staying at the Chatham Tides for more than 10 years now. The location is perfect--very quiet, right on the beach. I love sitting out on the deck in the morning and watching the waves--ditto at night. Falling to sleep to the sound of the gentle surf is pure pleasure. The beachfront studios are small but adequate--tiny bathrooms. The rooms around the parking lot are more spacious with full kitchens and bathrooms. All have cable TV, free wireless internet acces, (free parking, too). Much prefer this setup to a hotel--like being able to have my morning coffee according to MY timetable. Decor/furnishings are simple, but attractive. Close to Chatham stores and restaurants--one of the best is just at the other end of the street.(long walk, though)
The owners are lovely people--this property has been in the family for 2 generations

  • Liked — the deck and the viiew from it
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bc60611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Chatham
3.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
635 reviews
9.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
226 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.2 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
4.3 mi away
Hawthorne Motel
Hawthorne Motel
#5 of 9 in Chatham
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging

Property: Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging
Address: 394 Pleasant St, South Chatham, Chatham, MA 02659
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham > South Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private beach on warm Nantucket Sound in South Chatham, Cape Cod.Enjoy Chatham's best value in beach front accommodations. Twenty-four oceanfront and ocean view units with private sundecks all with ocean views. Efficiency rooms,townhouses and suites. Lovely, tranquil setting on the water, just ten minutes drive to downtown Chatham activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Tides Waterfront Hotel South Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing