We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the Sea meets the Shore.”
Review of Chatham Tides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chatham Tides
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

There is a place where the sky meets the sea, and the sea meets the shore. This location is on Cape Cod, MA in the beautiful town of South Chatham.
When you drive down Pleasant street heading for the Chatham Tides property, you are immediately taken by the quiet surroundings of the area. The end of the street is your destination, The Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging.
We were lucky to go before the main season (i.e.-early June), which allowed us un-crowded access to the beach fronting the facility. Our room(s) was Oceanfront Studio, with a full kitchen, eating area, sitting area, king size bed, veranda overlooking Pleasant Bay, and, of course, a fully functional bathroom. We immediately fell in love with the room(s), facility, as well as the surroundings.
A short walk (i.e.-a few hundred feet) over the dunes gave you full access to the beach. We found the grounds to be peaceful and extremely photogenic. The staff must have been "HOUSE ELVES", since the facility was clean and the staff invisible. The shoreline is ideal for sunbathing, shell collecting, and swimming (Note: No lifeguards were present during our visit). It appears to be kid friendly.
For those of us who like to eat on a regular basis, the is the delightful town of Chatham, MA. You can get everything from a multi-course dinner to a slice of pizza. There is also LOBSTER, which can be obtained in all of its incarnations.
There is also Chatham Lighthouse and Chatham beach, both located within ten minutes from the Chatham Tides Waterfront facility.
Therefore, if this facility fits your criteria of a true Cape Cod vacation, contact Ellen Handel at (508)-432-0379, or on line at www.chathamtides.com.

Room Tip: Book early and try to book a room overlooking the bay.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alaskaseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Chatham Tides
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 133 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

When you go to smaller hotels, you usually run into a very interested proprietor who wants to tell you everything about the area, point you to good restaurants, etc. However, everyone keeps to themselves here, although they will point to a stack of advertisements when you check in. So, make sure you bring your guidebook and do some research before hand.

The rooms have everything you need, although they could use new comforters, and if you are a bigger person, you probably couldn't use the showers.The shower is very small, but I admire how much they fit in a small space! I actually thought it would be perfect in my basement back home.

Someone wrote previously that you should BYO coffee, which was a great suggestion. We picked up groceries for breakfasts and to pack snacks for days on the beach and ferry, but the room had a wine opener, coffee filters, and dining sets.

The wifi works great, which helped because there was no cell reception in our room.

Overall, I agree that it was a charming location, and you cant beat the ocean front rooms, falling asleep listening to the waves, and taking early morning walks on the beach.

Room Tip: In waterfront room #6, you can walk right out to the beach (versus going back out through your front...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vacationaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamTidesWaterf, Front Office Manager at Chatham Tides, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

So glad you enjoyed the 'sounds of the sea' and our unique location! Sorry we were not as helpful as we should have been. We care that our guests have a great Cape Cod experience - whether relaxing at the shore or travelling around seeing the sites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been to the Chatham Tides on a number of occasions. In my opinion it is pure heaven The property is right on the beach. It is peaceful and very relaxing. We always stay in the ocean view rooms which are set back off the water. One needs to remember that this is not a big chain hotel or large resort property. The rooms aren't the most spacious, and the bathrooms are small, but they are very clean, have a nice efficiency kitchen and a great deck for sitting and enjoying morning coffee and an evening cocktail. The owners are wonderful and always welcoming. While the inn is not near town, the location on the ocean by far makes up for it! I look forward to returning each year. If you are looking for a peaceful setting right on the ocean I highly recommend it. Oh, and right up the street is one of the Cape's finest restaurants - Pisces. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sweetvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I visited the Cape for the first time in early June and could not have been happier with the Chatham Tides. We only stayed for 2 nights, but could have stayed there for the entire week and been content. We had an oceanfront room. Nothing could compare with waking up each morning and enjoying our coffee on the desk while watching the ocean waves. It was also a wonderful way to end each day. Our room had been recently redone and it was very clean and efficient. We have already told our friends and family about it and cannot wait to come back. The location is not walking distance into the town of Chatham, but it was much more important to us to be able to enjoy walking on the quiet beach and truly relaxing.

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and upgrade to Oceanfront, it will be worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Psukarate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for 4 relaxing nights right after the Labor Day craziness. The staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations at check in. The views are beautiful and we loved the efficiency set up. Quiet moments on the deck watching the water and having coffee or drinks. Such a great location to take the ferry to Nantucket, drive into town and play golf or tennis. Longs walks on the beach were great with kite boarders providing great entertainment!
We will return it was a great vacation....

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mhdNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 3 days at the cape. The Chatham Tides was very relaxing and quiet. We had a room right on the sand. You can't beat that. Very clean and recently updated. Very comfortable bedding. Little 2 burner stove top and small fridge if needed. Also a coffee pot but no coffee so remember to bring your own. It would have been nice to have at least coffee in the room for the first morning. Very clean updated bathroom but a really small corner shower. Don't drop the soap!! We would go back there again in the off season. We would recommend the Chatham Tides for a really nice stay

Room Tip: Rooms 1-6 are right on the beach.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobinRaecop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you are looking for some where to go for peace and quiet, Chatham Tides is the place for you. My husband and I just spent our 40th anniversary there and it was absolutely perfect! We stayed in the oceanfront efficiency. Never have we been able to stay this close to the ocean. The only sound at night was the ocean waves. It was amazing. It was wonderful to cook our breakfast and eat out on the private deck over looking the Atlantic. Yet all kinds of restaurants are available moments away in town when desired. We already are planning a return trip and are giving up on the crowded , congested tourist traps. Every thing was neat and clean. Cookware and dishes were provided, everything you could need, right down to wine glasses. The single negative was a small sized shower that some people might have an issue with. Absolutely love this place!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cat53052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Chatham
3.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
717 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
4.0 mi away
The Chatham Wayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
9.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
266 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Tides

Address: 394 Pleasant St, South Chatham, Chatham, MA 02659
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham > South Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Chatham
Price Range: $245 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chatham Tides 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private beach on warm Nantucket Sound in South Chatham, Cape Cod.Enjoy Chatham's best value in beach front accommodations. Twenty-four oceanfront and ocean view units with private sundecks all with ocean views. Efficiency rooms,townhouses and suites. Lovely, tranquil setting on the water, just ten minutes drive to downtown Chatham activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chatham Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Tides Waterfront Hotel South Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing