We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for quiet couples.”
Review of Chatham Tides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chatham Tides
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place for quiet couples.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location off the beaten path with a nice quiet beach. Room was very clean. We rented an ocean front unit and the sound of the surf was awesome. We spent a weekend there much longer might be tough due to the size of the room. In regards to the bathroom if you need space to glam up or are a large person you are not going to like the bathrooms. They like their rules here don't think about checking in a minute early. The room had little signs with rules everywhere under threat of fines. Did not like there was not a second lock on the door so anyone could come in on you at any time. Also the towels felt like sandpaper. However if your a couple looking for a romantic weekend the beach front unit is a good choice even with the negatives I pointed out. All about the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tellithowitis06111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    22
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night there after having canceled our original plan to stay in South Yarmouth (avoid this place by any mean!), and we were delighted, the Chatham Tides Waterfront is a very quiet place (this is at the end of a cul de sac) overlooking the ocean, rooms are very clean and our bathroom had just been renovated. Very good place to relax and an ideal position to go and explore the beautiful town of Chatham.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you want crowds and the buzz of Chatham town, don't stay here. If you want seclusion, ocean views and the sound of the waves lulling you to sleep, this place is for you. Rooms are basic, but extremely clean, and who cares if you are reading a book on the private beach, or asleep on a deck chair? The only thing that could have made our stay more perfect, would be the addition of some basics in the efficiency kitchen, such as salt, pepper and cooking oil, for anyone wanting to make eggs and bacon for breakfast. We loved having the efficiency for breakfast, then popping into town for a bang up lunch and glass of wine at the Chatham Bars Inn overlooking stunning ocean views, then coming 'home' to the peace and quiet at Chatham Tides.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

i took my daughter to the cape for her 18th Birthday, we stayed just yards from the water.I was lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. This was the best nights sleep I have had in months.
I could have sat on the private balcony all day . This gets 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnintegrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our one bedroom townhouse overlook the Nantucket Sound. The first level was the bedroom with a king bed and a full bathroom. The upper level was a full kitchen (complete with stove, full size frig, dining table, dishes, utensils, dish soap, paper towels, kitchen towels), half bath and full sized living room with sliding doors opening up to a furnished balcony. Wifi in the rooms was an extra added touch for last minute checks on weather prior to driving to different parts of the Cape.

For bringing our suitcase into house we were able to use a lower door right off the bedroom and for kitchen supplies we were able to go bring it in through a upper door behind the house which made it very convenient not to have to go up/down stairs with heavy loads.

The staff was very friendly. Bedrooms, bathrooms were kept very clean daily by the housekeeper. A nice location to be able to explore all the Cape has to offer. Also a short drive to Boston to take in the sites for a day.

The view will enchant ocean lovers. Nothing can be more relaxing and refreshing than being able to gaze out over the water to your heart’s content. Relax to the sound of the surf crashing on the sand in this beautiful house that sits a small way back from the beach.

I will definitely recommend this place to family and friends.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamTidesWaterf, Front Office Manager at Chatham Tides, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and thank you for the photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was very pleased during my stay here. Its perfect for a first time to the cape or even better for those who have done alot of the usual attarctions. If you are looking for a peaceful location with clean room rooms, very quiet, and the property is right on the beach. This is your place. The staff was very knowledgable of the area and locations to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamTidesWaterf, Front Office Manager at Chatham Tides, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you! We're happy you enjoyed our location. We appreciate you taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

you certainly cannot beat the location and the private beach area...incredibly small rooms, bathroom is the size of a porta-pot..compounded by the fact we had ask for a roll-away when we made the reservation...they said yes...the roll away made it impossible to move in the room...at that point there was nothing we could do, even though we tried to upgrade to one of the town houses. Rooms might work for a family of 4 with 2 very young children...but not with 2 teenagers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Chatham
3.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
642 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
9.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,066 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.2 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Tides

Property: Chatham Tides
Address: 394 Pleasant St, South Chatham, Chatham, MA 02659
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham > South Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chatham Tides 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private beach on warm Nantucket Sound in South Chatham, Cape Cod.Enjoy Chatham's best value in beach front accommodations. Twenty-four oceanfront and ocean view units with private sundecks all with ocean views. Efficiency rooms,townhouses and suites. Lovely, tranquil setting on the water, just ten minutes drive to downtown Chatham activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chatham Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Tides Waterfront Hotel South Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing