We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great south facing beach on the Nantucket Sound”
Review of Chatham Tides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chatham Tides
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great south facing beach on the Nantucket Sound”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The town houses number 19-21 are fantastic with large kitchens, two floors of living space, wonderful terraces with 180 degree views of the Nantucket Sound and Monomoy Island. A great place to stay to explore Cape Cod life with a private beach, outdoor shower and genuine Cape Cod lifestyle. 5th year and returning.

Room Tip: Rooms 19-21 are two story town houses with fanstaic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canvazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    22
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have finally found the perfect spot on the Cape at the Chatham Tides and can't imagine ever staying anywhere else. We had a room in the dunes with a deck; you can lie in bed and hear the waves and see the water. It was clean, comfortable with a mini kitchen and a cathederal ceiling.The private beach had a constant breeze. It is a low key, quite restful place not to be missed.

Room Tip: No pool or food available so book a room down on the dunes and bring snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cutlermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I'm glad that I consulted with Tripadvisor before booking a place to stay in Chatham, MA; otherwise I would never have come upon a wonderful, restful motel as Chatham Tides.
High points are that it is on the ocean, with a beautiful un-crowded beach that you can walk on for quite a distance. The rooms are absolutely spotless with wonderful thick towels.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in advising places to see and dining facilities. Although there is no restaurant at the motel, it is very easy to drive to many places without much hassle. The downtown is fun and has plenty of shopping and free parking. Each unit has a small kitchen for those who like to prepare their own meals. We will definitely go back there again!

Room Tip: Some rooms have views directly on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foot_loose5122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivoryton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We chose this hotel because we were going to Chatham for a wedding that was at the Chatham Bars Inn(CBI).We stayed here four nights for less than three nights in the cheapest room at the CBI. The room was as expected, clean, with an ocean view from the deck. As for complaints about the size of the kitchenette, really, how much room do you need? My only complaint is that the wifi was only accessible at the front office. Come on, this is 2012. Sure, I probably should relax and unplug while at the Cape, but we do have our addictions. Chatham is an easy drive to Eastham where we kayaked, Olreans where we rode our bikes on the Cape Cod Rail Trail, and Provincetown where we got great lobster. While I am not a 'Cape' person I would certainly go back and stay at the Chatham Tides.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamTidesWaterf, Front Office Manager at Chatham Tides, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our property. To better serve our guests, we have completely replaced and upgraded the WIFI in the Spring of 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We have been going to the Chatham Tides every year for the last 5 years. The location is wonderful - you cannot beat it. It is right on the ocean front. The accommodation is clean,well equipped and there is no better way to wake up and have breakfast on the deck in the morning with a wonderul view of the sea. The rooms are not that large - as a family of 3 we stayed in one of the ocean view efficiencies with 2 Queen Beds and it was adequate for us; however having the deck outside was like having an extra room and we spent most of the time outside. The cooking facilities are fine and we have cooked meals for ourselves. The location is totally safe and our teenager would often walk along the beach by herself. It is also a very quiet and peaceful location and there is a lot to do locally.

The beach is clean and swept each morning. There are wooden loungers. You can swim in the sea. The owners are very friendly and are very helpful and even sorted out a dentist for me when i had toothache. There is a personal touch about the place that you do not get in other resorts.
We love the place are looking forward to going this year. The Chatham tides is near a lot of excellent restaurants and lovely towns on the cape. People think we are mad going to the same place year after year but we love it. We have stayed on the Cape before but you cannot beat the Chatham Tides and we quite often see the same people year after year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I'm not one to write reviews however we were compelled to do so on this trip. We had no idea what to expect upon arriving to Cape Cod. When we pulled up to the Chatham Tides hotel we were very pleased with the setting. The rooms were VERY CLEAN and well kept. The Bathrooms are small, but we expected that from what we read.

When we come back to the Cape, we WILL stay here again. It was very quite, cozy, yet lots to do around it. LOVED IT.

R. Burgi

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rburgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Rooms are on the small side and somewhat dated but everything was spotless. King bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have the mini-kitchen. Sundeck with ocean view was relaxing and it was a stroll down to the private beach. Short bike ride to the bike trail.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Chatham
3.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
642 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
9.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,066 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
4.2 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatham Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Tides

Property: Chatham Tides
Address: 394 Pleasant St, South Chatham, Chatham, MA 02659
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham > South Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chatham Tides 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private beach on warm Nantucket Sound in South Chatham, Cape Cod.Enjoy Chatham's best value in beach front accommodations. Twenty-four oceanfront and ocean view units with private sundecks all with ocean views. Efficiency rooms,townhouses and suites. Lovely, tranquil setting on the water, just ten minutes drive to downtown Chatham activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chatham Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatham Tides Waterfront Hotel South Chatham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing