We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was terrible but accomodations rocked!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Food was terrible but accomodations rocked!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The room was really clean and modern, the coolest part was the pool and rec area, they had an indoor heated pool, with basketball court and ping pong area on the weekends they put on at 8:00 a kids movie till the pool closed at 10:00 the only negative I have for the hotel was the food was terrible, and restaurant service really slow.

Room Tip: get a room up higher so you have some kind of view, we were on 2nd floor and we saw a wall outside w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Joann C, it is great to see that you enjoyed our sports deck. It is a very unique amenity that we offer and it caters to children and adults alike. I will share your review with our restaurant team as we strive to consistently improve food quality and service. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    202
    86
    27
    12
See reviews for
155
102
23
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed here on 8-1-2014 in rooms 422 and 424 with my family and relatives. This is a great hotel, easy access to the Orange Line MBTA and a great shuttle service to downtown and surrounding areas. The pool area is often mentioned in reviews here and it is wonderful for traveling with children, thank you to the staff for maintaining such a great area for the kids. The rooms are great, we had adjoining rooms so that everyone could spread out a bit and enjoy family company at the end of the day and the next morning. My one complaint is the air conditioner / heater in room 422, when it comes on in A/C mode it makes a loud bang, when it is running it sounds like you are sleeping next to delivery truck motor with rattles, creeks and vibrations. When it completes its cycle it produces a loud crack and then a long flush of water / coolant. I turned off the unit and tried to go back to sleep, but it got a little warm in the room, so I turned it back on to auto fan mode, this produced a facia rattle coming from the cover panels on the unit. Tough to deal with in a room with small children sleeping on the pull out. I see that the GM usually replies to the reviews, I hope they can get someone up to the room and fix the unit, it really was a great stay in the Hotel except for this one thing. Kudos to the shuttle staff who dropped us right at the Science center and The Aquarium, made the trip much easier with three little ones and elders in tow. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, the proximity to the T and free parking on site make this a very convenient place to stay so you can make your way in and out of Boston hassle free and leave your car right there at the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher Floors seem to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Scott R, thank you for the 5-Star review. I am glad to see that our team was able to meet all of your expectations during your visit. I can assure you that the air conditioning issue that you experienced has been repaired based on your feedback. Thank you for assisting us in this matter and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nice Holiday Inn in a northern "suburb" of Boston across the Charles, close to Cambridge. The area surrounding the hotel is a bit seedy. We felt relatively safe walking during the day but definitely did not at night. Not a hotel to stay in if you like to walk to local restaurants or sites...Dunkin Donut and an Asian restaurant across the street. Fortunately there is a restaurant in the hotel. We ate only breakfast which was ok but service was horribly slow and disjointed.
Restaurant also serves as a sports bar with 3 large TV's - looked nice.
Located about 1/4 mile from an orange line T station .... and there are cabs available at the station (which we used at night). The fact it is relatively close to the T makes it a nice choice if you don't want to spend a fortune on a hotel in Boston proper. They advertise a shuttle service to the local area but you have to schedule and they were all booked up while we were there on a weekend. Shuttle is small. WIFI is available but spotty and you have to connect in the lobby. Personnel are nice. Room service was prompt (better than the restaurant). Service excellent - hair dryer not working one morning and repairman was there in less than 5 minutes to fix it.
Rooms are excellent - newly renovated. large, airy, clean, great bathroom and shower - as nice as some of the more high end hotels. Housekeeping very good.
Would recommend if you don't mind using T or taking cabs and are not interested in a hotel with surrounding sites and restaurants. Cabs to Cambridge area or North End run around $10+. Best option from the airport is the Blue T line to the Orange Line.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Indygogo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Indygogo11, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us last month. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our proximity to key area destinations. Also thank you for your feedback about your dining experience in our restaurant. This review will be shared with our team as a service learning opportunity. We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I had a business meeting in Boston a couple of weeks ago, and had a hotel all set up downtown. When I arrived I realized that I had made a mistake on the dates, and the entire city was sold out. The manager at the hotel spent 20 minutes calling around, and he landed on this Holiday Inn. I'm here to tell you, I could not have been happier that they had a room available, and best of all, they weren't inflating the rate 1000% like all the other hotels. The young lady on the phone was amazing and told me to come on in. I ended up staying for two nights, and found the hotel to be surprisingly nice, with a great staff. I'm in hotel sales and am very objective about what a hotel delivers on, and what they say they are. The room was well done and looked fairly new. I had dinner in the lounge after my arrival and the bartender was wonderful, although clearly he had too much going on and had to run to/from the kitchen often. I would say the hotel is a bit remote, but it's only about 10 minutes to downtown. The only thing I was very concerned about was the internet. As a business person it's so important to have good Wi-Fi and this was not the case. If you need a hotel in this area, you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David52555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are always so pleased to hear when our guests enjoy our hotel, and reading from someone who is in hotel sales, makes it even more special. It is so nice to see you stayed with us two nights. Thank you for staying with us we hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Hotel is satisfactory in all categories, no complains. Room was large and convenient - good quality TV and furniture was very functional. Small refrigerator helps as well. Bathroom OK too. I found it to be a good value as other hotels in Boston are way more expensive. Sure there are better hotels, but comparing to price this is the good bet. I did not use a shuttle to Boston, but is a popular addition to their service. Breakfast was good enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecexo_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear IgorOku,
Thank you for your review. We are a great value when staying in the Boston area, and have some great amenities, like our shuttle and free parking.
Thank you for staying with us, it is greatly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel met but didn't exceed my expectations. Everything you would expect from the hotel of this kind was there but nothing extra. Reasonably close to the T/Subway, some decent dining options nearby. Would recommend if you need a good and comfortable place for a reasonable price to stay but if you're looking for memorable experience I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello Denis L,
Thank you for your review. Although we are pleased you enjoyed your stay over all, we would like to always exceed our guests expectations. If you wouldn't mind contacting me directly at 617 628 1000 whenever you have a minute I would love to hear more about what we could have done to exceed the expectations for your stay. Thank you again for sharing this with us, and thank you for staying with us, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were looking for a hotel within walking distance of the subway, and found this hotel that was 3 blocks away, and we got a discount as well. The hotel was nice and modern, but wifi was a bit spotty, and the area around the hotel was a little run-down. Once you entered the hotel premises, it was fine. Since we got the room for a much lower price than all other hotels we looked at in the Boston area, plus the room was very nice and clean, and the hotel is very conveniently located for people who don't have a car, I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poorni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are a great location, and very convenient to downtown Boston. We really appreciate you sharing this feedback with us, and for choosing us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Address: 30 Washington St, Somerville, MA 02143-4446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Boston-Bunker Hill is located just 2 miles from downtown Boston and 4 miles from Logan International Airport. Our complimentary parking and scheduled shuttle service to area mass transit sites Sullivan Sq. & Museum of Science as well as Harvard and Kendall Squares in Cambridge, make us an outstanding choice for our guests. We offer complimentary wireless high-speed internet access in all guest rooms to help keep you connected and informed. Our location is central to: The TD Banknorth Garden, home to the Boston Bruins & Boston Celtics, Boston s historic Freedom Trail, Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox and our many museums makes our location Boston s best choice for value. Easily accessible to all of the area universities & colleges including Harvard, MIT and Tufts. Our hotels central location serves the adjacent communities of Arlington, Charlestown, Chelsea, Everett and Medford. Whether you are traveling on business our leisure, our 184 spacious guest rooms offer the services and amenities to make your stay comfortable. All our well appointed guest rooms feature complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. The associates of the Holiday Inn Boston Somerville look forward to providing our award winning service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Somerville Hotel Somerville
Holiday Inn Somerville
Somerville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing