We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having a great stay lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
usersav
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Having a great stay lovely staff”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We are here now and love the staff the rooms are clean and comfortable. The shuttle a bonus .we would recommend we are in room 811 for a week well done everyone glad we chose you
.
The reception is spacious nd the free coffee a nice .
The winter is pretty cold but we are making the most of our stay. The cleaner did a fab job on our room
The drivers of the shuttles are both friendly and informative fun too which is always a great quality

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank usersav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hello,
We are so happy to hear you are enjoying your stay with us! It really has been a cold one, but this weekend spring seems to be coming around. Thank you for staying with us, and if you need anything while here do not hesitate to reach out to any member of our team!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    200
    83
    27
    11
See reviews for
148
101
22
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

One of my main asks in a hotel - especially in winter - is a good work out room. This property does not disappoint. Even though breakfast is not included, they did have coffee available which was a nice touch. Also liked having a restaurant in the hotel when we did not feel like going searching for food in the cold. Rooms are adequate - our corner room was a little drafty in the below 20 weather but I guess that is Boston in February.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and made use of our fitness center and restaurant. We never get tired of hearing when our guests have a good stay. I will pass along to our chief engineer that your room was drafty, I apologize for this and thank you for letting us know. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again. Stay warm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The staff was extremely friendly upon check in. The rooms were very well decorated and clean. Large tv, refrigerator and free wi-fi.

The pool area was great with several large wicker couches with padded cushions. The large pool was very warm. The basketball hoop was a neat thing and it also had a pool table, small climbing wall, ping-pong table and a few other games. Life guard was on duty at the pool...even at 6 am!

We paid the extra $1 when booking the rooms to get the free breakfast buffet for at least two of our crew. The breakfast buffet was excellent with tasty bacon & sausage, french toast, eggs and a pretty cool pancake maker. Plus cold & hot cereals, fresh fruit, toast, muffins, pastry, yogurt and more!

Fresh coffee in the lobby a little after 6 am. Lobby was a little chilly in the morning to sit and work on my computer while the family was sleeping...so I went to the pool area and it was quiet and warm!

We paid about $175 with all the taxes for one night. Location was pretty decent and was easy to find. We would go back if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WilsonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for giving us such great feedback on our hotel. I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed our great pool area and breakfast buffet. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed due to a snowstorm so I could make it back to work the next morning in early Jan 2014. Friendly staff, nice clean King room, decent reasonably priced restaurant. Just wish the pool was open between 10a and 4p. For some reason they close it every day at that time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Greetings,
Thank you for sharing feedback with us on your recent stay. We will look at our pool hours and review extending them. Our Sports Deck is such a unique hotel pool area, we certainly want all of our guests to enjoy it as much as possible. Thank you for staying with us, and letting us be your home away from home during one of our many snow storms this year. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Holiday Inn Boston 
Bunker Hill
We arrived and were greeted by Celia, very friendly. She was also very knowledgeable. She informed us of their shuttle, pool hours, rest hours, etc. we decided to book another room, adjoining to ours for our 2 teenagers which she and manager, Nathan made a very smooth and easy transaction. 
Upon entering our rooms, 518 & 520, we found the. To be very clean and accommodating for our stay.
We took the hotel shuttle to Quincy Market and Fenuil Hall.
We had a great time ther!
When we arrived back at the hotel, we visited Draft. My husband and I had a few beers and the kids had Shirley Temples. We then had some apps and dinner. All were very tasty! No complaints. We hung out watching the Olympics and sports on the tv and we're never bugged to pay and leave but checked in on ... It was an enjoyable experience. 
The next day we ate breakfast at draft (again, no complaints, everything was very good!) then hopped on the shuttle which we reserved for 830 am to take us to the boston aquarium. 
We had a very good time there. Then we hopped the old towne trolley and had a nice time on the narrated tour. Just prior to arriving back at the beginning of the trolley tour, we called the hotel to ask they pick us up. 
Jerry arrived shortly after. He was Great! we needed to make a stop at Target and he was very accommodating! Kudos to Jerry!
When we arrived back at the hotel, Nathan greeted us ....asked if everything is ok and if there is anything he can do for us!!!!
We went to dinner at legal seafood in Kendall Sq. Again, shuttled back and forth by Jerry! 
Our third and final day we started with breakfast at Draft. Again, No complaints! Everything was excellent! 
We then checked out with Celia at the front desk which took all but 5 minutes and we were on our way to the Museum of Science. 
Jean in Draft deserves a shout out too! A very good waiter!
The only complaint is the windows... They are NOT good!!!!.... VRY thin windows...hearing all road noise! 
I'm not sure wht the deal is with the windows... If it is an issue in other areas of the hotel or not. 
I will definitely be staying here again and highly recommend this hotel!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hello,
And thank you for such great feedback! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed yourself at our hotel. Celia, Nathan, Jerry, and Jean are some great members of our team and are happy to make all of your stays nothing short of fantastic. We are so pleased you saw the town and had a comfortable place to come back to and relax and enjoy dinner. All of us at the Holiday Inn Boston Bunker Hill thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Don't be a fool and think that their breakfast is complimentary like we did. Having read it somewhere in the information packet on the desk in the room, we went down to the bar area for what we though would be a free breakfast only to be charged over $10 a person for the minimal array of breakfast foods they had available. Other than that, a great recreational area including a rock wall and basketball court, pool, games kept us late 20 something's and early thirty something's occupied and happy during a snow storm. Room and hotel was clean and inviting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandiKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review,
I sincerely apologize for the miscommunication on breakfast being included. Our breakfast buffet is not included in the room rate, and is a separate charge. Again my apologies for this, I will be sure to review this with the front desk team so they are always well informed for our guests on all levels. Thanks for sharing a shout out for our sports deck, it is a pretty great place to occupy yourself while being snowed in.
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We checked in for an event at TD garden. We noted that the tub faucet was leaking, so much that that the maid could not have missed it during cleaning. When we returned after our event I decided to shower, but only scalding hot water was coming from the faucet, the cold water was broken. We had to call down and ask for another room. It was an inconvenience, we had to go back to the front desk to get the room keys for the new room and swap out our keys. Since the room had been cleaned (the maid had to have known) I was surprised they didn't fix the problem prior to renting out the room. The second room was not as nice, but by then I was in no mood to complain. We just went to bed.

If you decide to stay with them, don't bother eating in the DRAFT restaurant on-site. I ordered steak tips with double veggies and my plate had a coating of oil at the bottom. The vegetables were just drenched in olive oil. My husband had the monte cristo sandwich and said it was flavorless and boring. Boston has a lot of great restaurants, too bad this wasn't one of them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank California-Yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear California-Yankee,
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay. I am very sorry your stay experienced such issues. I have spoken to our Chief Engineer and our Chef about your comments and have reviewed some housekeeping procedures as well as the menu items you mentioned, and will greatly improve on these. Again, I apologize to you for my hotel letting you down. I sincerely hope you give us another try when in the area again, so we are able to win you over.
Thank you for staying with us, it is very appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,938 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Address: 30 Washington St, Somerville, MA 02143-4446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Boston-Bunker Hill is located just 2 miles from downtown Boston and 4 miles from Logan International Airport. Our complimentary parking and scheduled shuttle service to area mass transit sites Sullivan Sq. & Museum of Science as well as Harvard and Kendall Squares in Cambridge, make us an outstanding choice for our guests. We offer complimentary wireless high-speed internet access in all guest rooms to help keep you connected and informed. Our location is central to: The TD Banknorth Garden, home to the Boston Bruins & Boston Celtics, Boston s historic Freedom Trail, Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox and our many museums makes our location Boston s best choice for value. Easily accessible to all of the area universities & colleges including Harvard, MIT and Tufts. Our hotels central location serves the adjacent communities of Arlington, Charlestown, Chelsea, Everett and Medford. Whether you are traveling on business our leisure, our 184 spacious guest rooms offer the services and amenities to make your stay comfortable. All our well appointed guest rooms feature complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. The associates of the Holiday Inn Boston Somerville look forward to providing our award winning service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Somerville Hotel Somerville
Holiday Inn Somerville
Somerville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing