We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Only 2.5 miles from Harvard Square and 3 miles from Boston Downtown and 5 minutes to Bostons Science Museum. Free on site parking (a rarity in Boston). Hotel shuttle wonderful, you can park and not use your car to go around the city. 2 Blocks away is the train station. Lovely hotel, clean rooms. What more can you ask for in a city where hotels are so expensive and parking still more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOUBLEMOON927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Doublemoon927,
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We are a great value to staying downtown and we appreciate you choosing us. We hope to see you again when in the Boston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    198
    79
    26
    9
See reviews for
142
97
21
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is easy to get to from the Logan Airport. Also it is close to everything. The lobby is clean, comfortable and big. Check in was swift which I appreciate after a day of traveling - day of constant delays from the airline. So believe me, I was glad to get to the hotel. I landing and took the 50 mile drive to Fall Hill to visit the Lizzy Borden Bed & Breakfast tour - which was well worth it. My room was large, clean and very nice. TV worked well - I like to click power on and not have to go through all the pay per view etc! On, off. Thank you!! Air worked good, bed was comfortable. Internet worked well and was free. Parking was ample and free as well. They have a restaurant on property and room service. Easy to get to Boston and you can see Boston from the top floor - 9th which is what I was on. I was very happy with my stay! I say the staff is very friendly and helpful. This is because I actually loaded my stuff in the wrong car in the morning. The other guest left their doors open and it was parked in a spot that I parked all week. Both rentals looked the same to me in the early morning without my coffee yet. Anyway, the staff knew the guest who's car I put my stuff in. And yes, I sat in the car in amazement wondering why it didn't look like the one I drove all week - once I got out and shut the door the doors locked. That has been the most stupidest thing I have every done but makes a great story! I found the desk with the staffs help and got my stuff out of his car. A big LOL. So thank you staff for your help, keeping the hotel clean, I had a great stay! Just to note, be prepared for lots of traffic and allow extra time to get back to the airport. Rt 90 & 93 and all the roads are packed with slow moving traffic. Worth the visit! Boston is beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorryFreePhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are a great hotel, and our staff loves your story about the wrong car as well. They were happy they could assist you. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The rooms were recently partially renovated, decor is nice, but the air-conditioning units are the same old ones where they blow directly on you during the night so you wake up with a collapsed lung and pneumonia. Staff is adequate. Location of this hotel is off the beaten path, appears to be in a rather industrial area, lots of truckers going through. The gym consists of 6 cardio/treadmill machines, and a set of free weights. It appears there is a lack of hotel rooms in the city of Boston. The evening of 6/24/13 almost the entire city of Boston was booked due to the Stanley Cup. Therefore, hotel prices were insane. This bare-bones room was $465.00 a night! Rip off!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are addressing our AC units and working on replacing any ones no longer working. We have renovated all of our guest rooms in order to bring you the best Holiday Inn. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Holiday Inn Somerville is a great place to stay when visiting Boston, Cambridge, or Somerville/Medford. The hotel is centrally located close to the highways leading into downtown Boston. It is a block away from the T, Boston's public transportation system and is local to Harvard and Tufts Universities. The hotel has a restaurant which is convenient for Breakfast but i would recommend eating out at any of the many great restaurants for any other meals. The hotel is very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. Price was reasonable for Boston. I would definitely stay again on my next visits to Boston.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank job28123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Greetings!
Thank you for you kind words. We are a great location, and the team here is very friendly and enjoys taking care of our guests. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a last minute opportunity to sneak in a Bruins playoff game on Saturday of Memorial Day weekend. 24 hours prior to the game I went in search of lodging close to the Garden. I was referred to the HI Somerville through the TD Garden website. We found a great "Garden" package for around $200 that included free parking and free shuttle service to the Garden. The savings on parking alone made this an absolute steal!

We had a comfortable king sized bed in our room. It was tastefully decorated and offered everything we needed since we were only here for the night.

The only downside to our experience was the cavernous restaurant. While dinner was okay, breakfast was a little lacking. It was adequate but it sufficed because we were hungry and in the middle of a road trip. We came to Boston to watch the Bruins. We chose the hotel for its location and what the package included. Eating in the restaurant was simply a matter of convenience. Overall we were very pleased.

Room Tip: Upper floors always get you up and away from the noise. Top floors are always the nicest if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverwood521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Greetings! Thank you for your comments--we are a great value! I apologize our restaurant was not up to your expectations. We are currently renovating our restaurant. I hope you will come back to see us soon and experience our new restaurant and menu. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We travel to Boston 3 or 4 times a year so we've stayed in a number of different hotels. This Holiday Inn is newly remodeled and our room was clean and bright. The location isn't pretty, but it is convenient to the orange line. And free parking at a Boston hotel is always a plus! Skip the breakfast buffet - at $12pp, not worth it. Other than that, we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are a great location!! I apologize you felt our breakfast buffet was not worth it. We are currently renovating our restaurant and will be sure to pay attention to our breakfast buffet. I am glad you will be back to see us. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently spend a night in Boston before heading to a conference in NH. Very close to Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall, the hotel provides complementary shuttle services there. After walking around Boston all day, you can take the orange subway line to Sullivan Square and it is a quick walk from there. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the fitness center is small but has enough to offer to get a workout in while traveling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nixe708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you Nixe708! We are so pleased you stayed with us, and let us know what a value, and great hotel we are. We look forward to you visiting with us again in the future. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
1.1 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Address: 30 Washington Street, Somerville, MA 02143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Boston-Bunker Hill is located just 2 miles from downtown Boston and 4 miles from Logan International Airport. Our complimentary parking and scheduled shuttle service to area mass transit sites Sullivan Sq. & Museum of Science as well as Harvard and Kendall Squares in Cambridge, make us an outstanding choice for our guests. We offer complimentary wireless high-speed internet access in all guest rooms to help keep you connected and informed. Our location is central to: The TD Banknorth Garden, home to the Boston Bruins & Boston Celtics, Boston s historic Freedom Trail, Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox and our many museums makes our location Boston s best choice for value. Easily accessible to all of the area universities & colleges including Harvard, MIT and Tufts. Our hotels central location serves the adjacent communities of Arlington, Charlestown, Chelsea, Everett and Medford. Whether you are traveling on business our leisure, our 184 spacious guest rooms offer the services and amenities to make your stay comfortable. All our well appointed guest rooms feature complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. The associates of the Holiday Inn Boston Somerville look forward to providing our award winning service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Somerville Hotel Somerville
Holiday Inn Somerville
Somerville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing