We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too sugary!”
Review of Lyndell's Bakery

Lyndell's Bakery
Ranked #2 of 16 Bakeries in Somerville
Price range: $1 - $20
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“too sugary!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This review is based solely on the numerous cakes and cupcakes I have had from here... I know they sell a variety of cookies but I haven't tried them. The frosting on the cake is SO sugary. I like sweet stuff but this is overwhelmingly so. The cake itself could be a little moister, and the frosting is just overpowering. That being said, they make really good brioche dinner rolls!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The best mocha cakes ever!!! My husband drives 6 hours round trip every year to get me Lyndell's mocha cakes for my birthday!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adnil1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Latte”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My latte is my morning ritual and it has to be done right. I was driving by and saw Lyndells so I thought I can give it a shot. I have ordered a latte. It was very heavy and tasted like there was no milk in it. Their pastry section was very large, I might give another try to the bakery section but not the coffee for sure!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogursoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mocha cakes + Half-and-half cakes = Heaven”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

When I was a girl growing up on Willow Ave. (many years ago), this was a great treat for us. And though the sizes are smaller (as with everything else), the quality is still second-to-none. BTW, we used to call them half-and-half cakes; they are now called half moon pies. Also love the Boston creme pies (pictured). Still delicious!

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Half-Moons (Black and Whites) and Custard Pie”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a great place to get those puffy cakey cookies with chocolate and vanilla frosting, either called "Black and Whites" or "Half-Moons." Also, I am a custard pie lover - and theirs is really good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyndell's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lyndell's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing