We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“college visit to Boston” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
A TripAdvisor Member
“college visit to Boston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

La Quinta Inn & Suites in Boston Sommerville was a perfectly acceptable hotel. The sheets were clean and the bed was very comfortable. I stayed only 1 night so I can't rate the houskeeping service. The bathroom was dated but relatively clean. I'm very picky about hotel bathrooms and this was clean enough for one shower. Neighborhood is a bit sketchy and not beautiful by any means but very convenient to Boston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    297
    164
    73
    20
See reviews for
312
144
51
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was in Boston for 3 nights and had a dream that rather than staying at the Westin Waterfront (where my conference was based), I'd go a little bit further out and have a room with free Wi-Fi where I could smoke and drink gallons of coffee.
The hotel was fine -- strong Internet connection, good water pressure, clean room but here, let me be really petty. I have a dog so I stay at La Quintas all the time. This is the only one I've seen that has zero coffee available after breakfast ends at 9:00. See? I told you it was petty. Oh, and while I'm being so petty, let me say that I don't understand a hotel cable system that carries Fox News but not its counterpart, MSNBC. Hellloooo -- it's BOSTON!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank erowe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for a quick trip to Boston to see Fenway Park. Very friendly front desk let us check in a couple of hours early. Room was clean, comfortable beds and a quick drive from the city. For a nights stay this place is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmitch525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stay here every year for Boston Marathon weekend. The location is perfect, 2 miles from Boston and best of all accessible by subway so you can park your car all weekend. The rooms are clean and the staff if friendly and helpful. The manager at this La Quinta is professional and personable. She cares about the guests that stay here and remembers us each year. Breakfast is just what we are looking for and the waffles are the best, fresh and made to order.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank CoachKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Overall, this place was relatively easy to get to. A restaurant was almost in the parking lot. (99s and it was good for a chain). The hotel definitely left things to be desired but if you need a place to sleep and don't care that it might be right at the highway...this is truly good for your money. Hotel staff are adequate, the gym is never in use, and the ice cream vending machines are always open. For a nights stay this place is great. If you want something more than basic....pay more for something closer. But you don't need to. Also, bring your own toiletries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the La Quinta for one night to visit a college in Boston. After reading the reviews, I decided to stay there even though they only have 2.5 stars. Like others have said the front desk is the friendliest and nicest I have experienced in a very long time. The GM actually checked us in and she couldn't have been nicer.
The room was a regular hotel room, nothing fancy, but it was clean and that's what matters most.
I do have to say lighting was an issue for me, especially when putting on my make up and the rubber seal on the refrigerator was hanging off, the room needed a new refrigerator. It did keep our bottle of soda cold but I wouldn't have put any food in it.
There is a large shopping center across the street and a 99 restaurant (kind of like a Friday's or Applebee's restaurant) across the parking lot, which had good food at good prices.
Not a bad place to stay for a night or even two.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, it is larger than the normal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was a great place for the couple of nights we had in Boston. The room was clean and comfy, the breakfast fine (though I'd recommend going a little early - we went down around 9:00 a.m. and it was so packed we were lucky to get a table to sit at), and the free shuttles to the train and airport were really a plus. We even called from the train when we arrived at the stop near the hotel and they sent the shuttle to pick us up.

In fact, the staff, to a person, were as friendly and helpful as anyone could want. All this, and we saved $195 over the two nights from the "reduced" conference rate we'd have paid at the Copley Place Marriott where we'd stayed for a convention the previous three nights on my company's nickel. Stay here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 722SteveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tria
Hotel Tria
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
Address: 23 Cummings Street, Somerville, MA 02145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Boston Somerville
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville Hotel Somerville
La Quinta Somerville
Somerville La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing