We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed April 12, 2008

We stayed here for one night at the end of a stay in Cape Cod in order to attend a game at Fenway Park. The La Quinta is right off the highway and in close proximity to downtown Boston. It's also about a 30 minute drive to Salem for a nice day trip. The hotel was clean and quiet, but was very warm. We had turned off the air before going to bed & woke up to a very warm room. The hallways and breakfast room were also very warm. Breakfast was included in the room rate and consisted of hard boiled eggs, cereal, pastries, toast & a self-serve waffle bar. Front desk staff were helpful & efficient.

  • Liked — good value for the Boston Area
  • Disliked — too warm within the facility
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMM2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    309
    172
    76
    25
See reviews for
336
149
53
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

The facility itself is clean, rooms are spacious and well-kept; the small fridge is a nice touch. Plenty of free parking, a decent restaurant/bar across from the parking lot, and close to pizza/chinese /donut- type places a few short blocks away.
I have stayed here numerous times and will stay here again, because I've got 3 kids going to college in Boston, and so I find myself up here in Beantown several times a year. It's also a reasonable choice if you have a family member in a Boston hospital- they run a complimentary shuttle to Mass General Hospital and other places in town.
However, if you're planning a vacation, visiting and touring Boston to see the many sites (Boston is a wonderful city to visit for many reasons), especially if you're coming from far away and you want to make this a really nice vacation experience, than this hotel is NOT for you. It's too far away from the heart of the city. You just don't feel like you're a part of Boston. Sure, you will save money staying here, and the hotel itself is ok, but you want to stay in the heart of the city to experience it. This isn't the place for a tourist; you will be disappointed.

  • Liked — Room is very spacious, clean and well-furnished
  • Disliked — A bit too far away from the city for tourism purposes
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

I stayed at the La Quinta Inn for one night on a business trip. The hotel was clean and the staff was helpful. My room had a small refrigerator in it and the breakfast area had a small microwave that you could access at any time. The room also had wired internet access. The hotel was actually very well maintained. I had stayed at another La Quinta Inn in Virginia Beach and this hotel was much nicer. They have a very small fitness room with an exercise bike, eliptical machine, and a treadmill. The continental breakfast is fairly good. They had Belgian waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, several types of cereal, bread for toast, oatmeal, and muffins the morning I was there. It was very reasonably priced compared to the other hotels in the area ($100 a night versus $150 and up at other hotels). I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The small refridgerator in my room.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vidst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, WA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

The first room we were told to go to was a non-smoking room...we didn't even get through the door, we were hit with the stench of smoke before we even entered the room. They did put us in another room and it was better....average, so-so, but better.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Whooptink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I stayed at the LaQuinta for 2 nights - Sept 28 & 29th - it was good. It was fairly easy to find if you are going north. It is right off the ramp, but the hotel was quiet.

The front desk people were nice and check-in and check-out was completed efficiently. Housekeeping delivered towels when asked for. The room was nice and large.

We did not use the transportation since we had a car, so I don't have any views on the subway.

The shower is probably the worst part - and that is just that it does not have alot of pressure. No big deal.

We did have one weird experience with a front desk person when we asked help about directions - though she was perfectly nice to us, she treated her fellow co-worker a little harshly right in front of us and then snapped right back into personality mode with us. Very odd.

All in all, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — nice room, efficient staff
  • Disliked — low shower pressure, no business center!!!!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We decided to stay in Boston for our flight the next morning. We were visiting Boston and were very frustrated by the traffic and road conditions. We booked at La Quinta at the last minute and were basically looking for a hotel relatively close to where we were. After a frustrating day I was a little wary of checking in having not confirmed our stay after making the reservations online. We walked in very tired and cranky and were amazed that we were checked in, had the keys in our hands and were entering our room in less then 5 minutes.

The room was not large but it was well laid out. There was a work desk at the end of the room that was quite useful. The king bed was amazingly comfortable. One of the best beds I have ever slept on. Room was very clean and we were at the end of the hall and it was very quiet on the floor. They even offer a complimentary washer and dryer with a coin operated vending machine for laundry soap. The breakfast was very large offering cereal, bagels, fruit and even a belgian waffle maker. Checkout was quick and we were out of the door in less than 2 minutes again.

We accidentally left a cell phone in the room, and discovered it when we were at the airport at 10. Our flight was leaving at 11, so we were afraid we were going to have to have it shipped home. We reached the hotel by phone and the manager told us she was bringing it to us via the hotel shuttle. It was incredible that she dropped everything and brought the phone to us. We left on time with the phone and she refused any tip. Just when I thought customer service was dead.

  • Liked — Best Bed Ever! Space, Customer Service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bohn002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

If you are looking for a hotel in Somerville, this is a good choice. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the location is convenient to restaurants and shopping. The front desk staff is not very friendly (But I am from the Southeast and maybe I am just not used to this) The only thing that I didn't like is the pool which is the size of a hot tub.

  • Liked — The Beds were very comfortable
  • Disliked — The A/C unit is very loud
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elkmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
3.0 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
10 reviews
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
Address: 23 Cummings Street, Somerville, MA 02145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Boston Somerville
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville Hotel Somerville
La Quinta Somerville
Somerville La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing