We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to comute to Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at La Quinta Somerville last September with my wife and 2 daughters. We definitely made a good choice, considering the overpriced hotel options in Boston itself. The hotel is very clean, staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was ok, continental style. We had no trouble using the complimentary hotel van back and forth, to the airport and Sullivan T Station. Just remember to schedule with the front desk and the van will be ready for you. Ninety Nine Restaurant is just across the parking area, with a large menu variety. If you like jogging, the hotel is surrounded by several pathways suitable for beginners and professional runners.

Room Tip: Higher floors with front view to Boston skyline.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose_Roberto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 826 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank larryo10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The La Quinta is fairly standard, hotel is well kept and the staff is very helpful. The hotel does a lot of business with people and families of patients at Mass General Hospital - generally cancer patients and others with serious illness - shuttle provided to and from the hospital and more. Well done. The area is a little sketchy, but you can get in to an area in Somerville with s a few decent restaurants (walkable) and some shopping. It is near a TJ Max as well.

Overall a decent place to stay if you are looking for value in the Cambridge area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter8061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights last week. My dad was going to Mass. Gen. Hosp. for surgery and La Quinta was the ONLY affordable place to stay for his himself and family.

Not only that, but they provide a free shuttle back and forth to the hospital which saved us approx. $20. on taxi rides one way.

The breakfast is adequate, though the breakfast room was super crowded every day.

There is a swim spa that no one but us ever used! The staff was helpful and nice.

The rooms were clean and the beds very comfy. Location is easy to reach.

I don't know what we would have done without this place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 967Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel prior to a cruise. The complimentary shuttle from the airport was very convenient and timely. Front desk staff was friendly and willing to answer questions. The room was clean, but quite small compared to other chains that have two queen beds, but since the price was "reasonable" compared to those in the Boston area proper, we managed for the one night. Extra towels and pillows were needed and were delivered promptly. Although we did not use it, the indoor "pool" is the size of a large hot tub. They did not offer the "Bright Side" breakfast as other La Quinta Hotels I have stayed. Only hard boiled eggs - no omelets, no bacon or sausage, biscuits or gravy, but adequate with cereals and bread items being offered. The 99 Restaurant across the streeet was a bonus!

This stay proved to be very satisfactory.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysugarpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

So, I've stayed here several times. I travel up here on business and there are "short notice" trips when I cannot find a place to stay in Cambridge...which is where I carry on my business. This place is close enough that it suffices. This hotel was re-done just about 2 years ago...that was my first stay and I was encouraged by what I saw. However, it appears the ownership doesn't believe too much in maintenance....especially in a hotel which sees as much traffic as this one does. I have been in rooms on more than one occaision where the sink drained extremely slow, the hair dryer did not work, the air conditioning units did not control the temps uniformly (though colder in the dead of summer is always better than being too warm), and most recently, the hot water was "warm" at best. By in large, the rooms are clean...a good thing. But again, for a place that had a complete makeover less than 2 years ago it is glowingly apparent that it needs more help in its upkeep. And mind you...I book my rooms direct so I have paid premium prices...my most recent stay here was at $170/night....certainly not a cheap stay. As I stated, given this place is pretty well booked every week day (at least it has been the 3-4 times I have stayed here since its makeover) I have to believe the management is making money...lets face it...it's located in Somerville near an light industrial park, so I suspect property taxes are not the same as they would be if this place was located in Cambridge, Boston or one of the other more upscale surrounding communities.

I have found the staff to be reasonable...young...yes...rude...no...and willing to try and resolve any issues. It would be nice if they offered scrambled eggs as opposed to only having hard boiled ones...but otherwise, pretty much standard fare that one finds at other hotels where breakfast is included in the cost of the stay.

One added note...the 99 Restaurant located across the parking lot offers good food, ample portions, and very fair pricing....a good thing for those who might be trying to minimize there dining expenses.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbenson441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The La Quinta offers everything you need for a sightseeing tour. Very comfortable rooms, free car parking and even a complimentary breakfast. Furthermore they offer a free shuttle service to the subway station.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
3.2 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#6 of 20 in Cambridge
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Address: 23 Cummings Street, Somerville, MA 02145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range: $116 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Boston Somerville
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville Hotel Somerville
La Quinta Somerville
Somerville La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing