We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and innovative” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarma Restaurant

Sarma Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sarma Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 304 Restaurants in Somerville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh and innovative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Two of us dined well on five small plates here. Sarma's take on meze is charming and interesting. The fattoush with strawberries and basil was particularly well executed. However, the other four dishes, which included an asparagus with poached egg and black truffle, were less exciting on the plate. For example, this dish should have been redolent of truffle scent and flavor, but we barely detected it. We've had slightly better experiences at Sarma's sister restaurant, Oleana, which we would rate 5 stars. Sarma has promise, not to mention a lot more space, but it hasn't yet reached its zenith.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank small_monkey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    53
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, different flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went with 3 friends & we sat at the bar. Everything we had was very good, with unusual and surprising flavors. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RRA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fab.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a meal! It's small plates, so the four of us shared 12 dishes, each outstanding. It has to be a special occasion, or you have to be rich, because it's quite expensive, but worth it. The flavors were unusual and wonderful and most of us would never make any of this at home, so go. It's really hard to get a reservation, so plan ahead. Better yet, don't go at all so I will have a better chance of getting a reservation when I want to go next.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 343434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty plates.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We tried about 8-10 dishes with another couple on a Wednesday night. The bar was very busy but received our cocktails rather quickly as we waited for our reservation. The cocktails are fantastic, well balanced flavors and slightly potent. :) The whole restaurant was very packed for a Wednesday. We were sat a little over a half an hour past our reservation, the staff did apologize and thank us for our patience.

The stand out dishes that night were:
Haloumi fries with white fig ketchup- you really can not go wrong with fried cheese.

Steak tartare (which did not come with its listed soft cooked egg)- pearls smooth beef and perfected salted and spiced.

Squid saganaki- This dish was a warm, dish, with perfectly tender squid sitting in a tomato sauced orzo bed.

The sauces on every dish we had were so very, very good, and at times wished we just had sides of the sauces to dip everything in, each sauce was as good or better than the next! Kudos to the chef who makes the sauces!

Our waiter was very attentive and the other wait staff were very quick about clearing plates and refreshing water glasses.
We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcess7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Every dish we had was delectable: the pork belly sliders, duck, Moroccan friend shrimp-lettuce wraps, grilled octopus with avocado, stuffed figs wrapped with 'lardo', Turkish kale with tomato and feta, baby artichokes, asparagus with ketaifi-covered eggs. Delicious dessert, too: frozen yogurt and ricotta doughnuts with the toppings: halwa caramel and strawberry-sumac cake (which was really like little cubes of pound cake with a strawberry-sumac sauce). Be sure not to over-order because the waiters bring around specials that are not announced or on the menu.

The restaurant is loud but vibrant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fxbpmtct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarma Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sarma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing