We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deli Sandwiches”

Mike's Food & Spirits
Ranked #78 of 304 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Deli Sandwiches”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Because this is a college town Mikes is open late, (I think till midnite) which makes it very nice if your schedule gets a little crazy.They have sidewalk dining also and the deli sandwiches we had were awesome. They also give large portions for your money. Definately worth it !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    30
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beer in a bucket and pasta galore”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Yes you can get beer in a bucket and any type of pasta you want, pizza too. Met up a bunch of times there with my running group the night before a race, seating can be tight. Also keep in mind it's usually cold, wrap around windows don't insulate very well. Not a show stopper in Davis Square, but if you want quick and easy go here.

Tried ordering take out twice, didn't have great success on delivery both times. Driver was late because he couldn't find my address, kept going to High Street in Medford (I lived in Somerville).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
129 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hungry? Go here.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

One of the most extensive menus I have ever seen. They have it all. I have only ordered take-out here and my food is ready so quickly. Everything I have ordered has been so yummy - meatballs, ziti, cheesy garlic bread... awesome place for comfort food. The bar menu looked pretty long too. I wouldn't go here on a first date but if you need some comfort food for the game, studying or a snowy night... this is the place to go!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bostonkse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Food is Good. Location is Classic”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a good place for basic Italian food. It's frequented by both regulars and a lot of Tuft's students. There is often a crowd on the weekends and it is a good spot for a quick meal or late night food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank junebug40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
427 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Chicken Soup That Actually Has Chicken”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

When you arrive you should go direct to counter because there is no table service and you must place your order there then find a seat. The restaurant is well lit with a good size L-shaped bar and ample TV screens. Their menu is listed behind the main counter on the wall so if you are not a regular you’ll need to take a pause and take it all in before ordering.

I went with chicken soup ($5), a house salad, two meatballs ($3) and veal parm ($14) (suggested by Mike) which came with a side salad.

The chicken soup came in a large bowl and looked very fresh and appetizing. The ingredients included carrots, celery, plenty of pulled boneless chicken with rice in a not too salty broth. It was one of the best chicken soups I have eaten out. Most place you go to you wonder how many times they dunked a chicken in to give it flavor since there was no evidence of it in the soup. The amount of tender boneless chicken in the dish was unbelievable. Pasta is an option instead of rice.

The side salad was iceberg, cucumber slices, tomato, red onion, black olives with Italian dressing on the side. It was OK but that was good enough. The meatballs were of good size, very tender and in an equally very tasty sauce. I spoke to Mike about the meatball preparation. They are baked not fried then put in sauce. They are made with 100% chuck (80/20), Romano cheese, bread crumbs, salt and pepper. I would have expected maybe some garlic or basil but maybe he keeps some of the ingredients a secret. The house Chianti is Bolla ($6) which works well with this menu.

The veal parm is listed as homemade veal cutlet breaded and layered with marinara sauce and mozzarella cheese then baked to perfection with al dente angel hair. I found the veal to be firm but tender, lightly fried with Mozzarella on top. It had a good flavor that was not overbearing, with a sauce that was thick but not too thick. The sauce stuck to the pasta better than average but was just a bit tart.

If you are in the area make sure you stop in. It is a casual, very friendly place with decent food. Ratings in order of preference … chicken soup (excellent), meatballs (very good), veal parm (very good), pasta/sauce (average) and salad (average).

Total tab with two Chianti’s, tax and a 20% tip was $45.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrOcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Food & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Food & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing