We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value no where else can you get home cooked meal under 8 bucks!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Vernon Restaurant

Mount Vernon Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 304 Restaurants in Somerville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
BOSTON
1 review
“Great Value no where else can you get home cooked meal under 8 bucks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

While visiting the Boston area a couple months ago we dined here with a recommendation. We found te wait staff to be very friendly, well-mannered, well dressed. We were surprised at the great value and prices on the menu and the food was great. Absolutely loved to puff-overs.
#1-Friendly Server
#2-Awesome Price
#3-Great Servings
#4-Great Food.
Thank you.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FREDDY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    35
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

great food, lots of local history, everything we ate was made from scratch, loved the warm popovers, easy to get to, with the hotel schuttle

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank hekchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST SEAFOOD CASSEROLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The restaurant feels rather old fashioned and dated. Large place with a busy bar in an industrial part of Boston near the water, rough neighborhood, not typical picturesque -- but like going back in time to the 1950's. Real people Boston. Much more interesting experience than many of the limp over prettified fancy places in downtown and Cambridge, and the food is one he** of a bit better than most restaurants I've been to in this part of the world. Especially the seafood casserole -- wonderful! This was truly one of the finest dishes I have ever had ( still, I would like to tell the owner to remove the imitation crab from this dish -- put in some lobster in its place and raise the price from $9.99 to 12.99)-- then it would be spectacular. The scallops, shrimp, ? haddock, ect. , -- this is beyond amazing.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lonelyplanettype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It has been better before...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Used to go there for lobster, however last time we went, lobster was small and much more expensive than before...

Not sure we will come back though! Hope after all the renovations on that area, they get their act together.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank fzanetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable - in a BAD way”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

In short:

My girlfriend ordered Filet Mignon. First it came out raw, then it came back microwaved grey. But the real kicker. They decided, without telling us, to substitute Hollandaise sauce for Béarnaise Sauce beacuse they ran out of Bearnaise. Then the manager tried to blame our waitress for not noticing.

So when I complained about the bill - including a $40 charge for a mediocre lobster dinner, the manager cops an attitude "Well, we didn't charge you for the meal". Yes, but you charged us for mine and all our drinks. How nice of you not to charge us for something that we did not order and did not eat. What if someone was allergic to an ingredient in Hollandaise sauce? So, after a bit more complaining on my end they took her two wines off the bill.

If I was manager, I would have apologized and said everything was on us. Really bad way to conduct a business.

Helpful?
1 Thank alparkranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Vernon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mount Vernon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing