We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden jem for late night drinks/food!”
Review of Backbar

Backbar
Ranked #43 of 307 Restaurants in Somerville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hidden jem for late night drinks/food!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Have been coming to backbar ever since I found out about it after a meal at Journeyman (yes same owners)...

backbar is the spot you don't expect to find, hidden within Somerville's Union Square! They have late night food, they are famous for their ramen as well as pork and eggplant buns... They have a boutique ice cream maker that makes delicious ice cream cookie sandwiches and well the "hot" item on the menu is definitely their cocktails...

These change quite often and they are all delicious and based on your mood the bartenders will fix something very special! A must try for all of those who like speakeasy style joints!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greg_bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome cocktail place, not to be missed!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Fellow cocktail-geek friends had been here before and insisted we had to try it. They were right; the place is excellent. Great staff, great atmosphere, and amazing drinks. Our friend brought a recipe he got from an out-of-town bar and asked if they would be willing to replicate it; they were, and talked with him at length about the ingredients, the bar he got the recipe from, what he liked in a cocktail, etc. "Bartender's choice" drinks were universally enjoyed; not a bad one in the bunch. Obscure cocktail requests were easily accommodated; bartenders always knew exactly what we were talking about.

The cocktails are outstanding, and the bartenders are extremely knowledgable and go out of their way for the customers; they even called us two cabs so we could get back to our hotel while our friends headed home. Definitely a highlight of our Boston trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite in Cambridge/Somerville”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The drinks are not as great as some of the ones they have at Drink, but definitely surpass the other bars on town by far. Plus, the atmosphere is way better than Drink. Some of the specials can revolutionize how you'll want to mix your usual cocktail, while others are terrifying even for the adventurous drinker. The bartenders are your servers so you can have an informed conversation about what you want to try that evening. Worth visiting and re-visiting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozimuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is a hidden gem!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Remember the Speak Easy type of bar? Well here it is in all it's glory!
Find the red door. Walk down the hall. Find the small sign that says BackBar and enter.
You will be greet with "seat wherever you feel most comfortable" and it just gets better from there.

Nick was our bartender and luck us, it was Star Wars week. All you need to do is tell them what you like (I like something fruity. I like tequila...........) and they will whip you up the best damn cocktail you have ever had.

I had the Lando Calfizzian (ha!) and LOVED it! My wife and I had six cocktails between the two of us and their fabulous popcorn and the bill was only $74!That's a bargain!
Everything about this place is catered to the customer. They want you to be happy and they make it so!

Go here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freckledsmile99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Always crowded, but pretty special.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Backbar is one of the new speakeasy-style places that have sprung up in town. It's unmarked and not the easiest place to find, but once you're in you're rewarded with some of the most special, creative cocktails in town. These are drinks worth coming out to Somerville for! Definitely a fantastic experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank fenchurch128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backbar also viewed

 
Somerville, MA
 

Been to Backbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing