We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have just had dessert!”
Review of Redbones Barbecue

Redbones Barbecue
Reserve with OpenTable
Redbones Barbecue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 304 Restaurants in Somerville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic Home - Style Southern Food
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should have just had dessert!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went to Cambridge last week to help my daughter pack up her dorm room for the summer and were both in a BBQ kind of mood. I did some research and found Redbones just the next town over in Somerville. People were 4 and 5 "starring" the Memphis ribs so of course we ordered those. My daughters friend ordered the pulled pork sandwich. Let's start out with the cornbread which they give to the table. Very dry, I couldn't take a bite without taking a drink of water afterwards! The Memphis dry rub ribs were also very dry. They come with 4 different sauces that you can try but all except the sweet sauce had way too much vinegar in it. The cole slaw also had way too much vinegar! The pulled pork sandwich was much better, very moist and the portion was big enough to take home half for lunch the next day. I do want to add that my daughter and I shared 1 order of the ribs. Well when we were ready for dessert they had just run out of Key Lime Pie which the table next to us was enjoying. We settled on the pecan pie which had the most amazing flavor and the whipped cream which they make in house was as thick as ice cream and delicious. Don't know if I will return to Redbones, but if I do I will probably order some side dishes like Collard Greens and Mac and Cheese and dessert of course!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taminflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    171
    66
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always yummy.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I'm a sucker for a nice smoke on my BBQ, and Redbones does it right. The mason jars of lemonade, friend okra, and pecan pie are always excellent. And a spin of the wheel at the bar can end up giving you a nice surprise in tasting a new beer. There are many good reasons that Redbones has been a Davis Square institution for a long, long time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JaceyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
183 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“BBQ + beer!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Redbones does great barbecue, and better yet, they do great sides. I love the collard greens and the cornbread here more than is rational. I also love the flexibility of the menu-- for instance, I like to fill up on sides and then get a small side of actual meat, and at Redbones I know I can always order One Perfect Rib with my main course. Best of all, it's one of the best craft beer selections in town. One of my Davis Square go-tos for sure!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fenchurch128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ...will have you going back for more”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After the events of the past week in Boston, it was great to be able to celebrate a "Bro" day with my brother and two step-brothers yesterday. Couldn't ask for anything better than brews and awesome "man" food like BBQ meats. Plus it was coupled with the Bruins, Sox, and Celtics games.
I enjoyed the Meat and Three dish which came with a heaping portion of pulled pork which was well seasoned and cooked. Moist And not dry which is key for pulled pork and I paired it with the hot sauce. My sides where their delicious Mac & cheese, corn succotash, and collard greens. We also enjoyed buffalo wings, corn fritters and fried pickles for apps (split among 4 people). Great selection of craft beers as well.

Best part is the value as everything is well-priced athey aren't shy with the portions.

If you want great BBQ, great brews, and a great place to watch the game in a relaxed atmosphere, Redbones is a great choice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
154 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“bbq and brews”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

combo plate with ribs, sausage, brisket, slaw, rice and beans was a huge portion shareable by 4 people! super casual local spot with the red sox on TV and 25 to 30 beers on tap which can become a tough decision...therefore, they have a "dial a draft" wheel where the bartender spins it and you get a class of whatever it lands on! pretty cool and takes all the guesswork out of ordering a beer!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbum393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redbones Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Redbones Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing