We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B close to Davis Square”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morrison House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Somerville B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed 6 nights at this B&B while visiting our daughter at Tufts. Location is perfect as it is a short walk to lively Davis Square and the T-station but also walking distance to the University. There are many different restaurants in the area and a cinema on the square.
Breakfast was delicious with different fresh fruit and home baked cakes every morning. We stayed in Davis room and our daughter in the Little Room next to it. Bathroom was down the hall and is only used by these two rooms. Three parking places are behind the house.
It was a great home-away from home for us and hope to be back sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colemink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 87 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Absolutely great place to stay. Everything you want in a bed and breakfast . Quiet street right near Davis Square. Friendly people. Clean. Great breakfast. My son and I stayed in the room above the front door. The street noise was next to nothing after ten o'clock. Great value

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spectrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Everything was so thoughtfully and carefully done, down to the smallest details. I felt cared for but in a very laid-back, friendly way. The location is incredible too - especially for being 2 seconds from the T, and it's easy to pop out for ice cream in Davis square.

I wish I lived at this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0binMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Although the web site says "free parking", be aware that this is not necessarily off street parking. You may be given a parking permit to put in your window for on street parking and then have to take pot luck for what's available on the street, often 1 1/2 to 2 blocks away. This is somewhat misleading, especially when you "reserve" a spot with your reservation.

We are now "black balled" from this B&B, because we questioned this practice. Hardly what you would learn in hospitality school.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cgrabens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelGeekBoston, Owner at Morrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We have three off-street parking, spaces, which is adequate 90% of the time, since many of our guests use public transportation. When we do have more than three guest cars we provide a permit to park on the street. We park our own car on the street before we ask a guest to do so. Somerville is a wonderful, though extremely densely populated city, and to have even three off-street parking spaces is a rarity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Morrison House Bed & Breakfast for four days last week – we were visiting our son, who lives in the neighborhood, and we wanted a place that would be convenient for both of us. Morrison House was the perfect fit.

The Inn itself is beautifully appointed, with a comfortable and cozy living room (with a plush couch and chairs, and plenty of Boston-area guidebooks to browse – the hosts have even provided CDs and records for those who would like some music with their relaxation!). The dining room is large and welcoming, with seating for ten. There are two outside areas for guests to enjoy – a flagstone patio surrounded by trees and gardens and a raised deck with umbrella tables.

Our room was the Warren Sparrow Room on the first floor (the only one available with a king sized bed). We found it to be comfortable and charming, with a very nice private bathroom (tub and shower). There’s a 40-inch HDTV (with DVD), which was a nice surprise (most B&Bs we’ve stayed in don’t have in-room TV). There are DVDs to borrow, many of which take place in Boston. The hosts provide plenty of fluffy towels, two plush robes, and toiletries are available, both in the room and in a closet off the dining room. The bed was comfortable, and there are plenty of windows to provide lovely breezes (we didn’t need to use the air conditioning at all, but it was available). The room also has two twin-sized murphy beds, which can be pulled down at night to accommodate two additional guests – while we had no need for the murphy beds, we did pull one down to check it out. They would be perfect for children, although the room is a bit on the narrow side, and with the murphy beds down it’s fairly cramped. But it is an option worth considering.

Coffee, tea, and bottled water are available 24/7 at no charge – the French press coffee pots make delicious coffee (both regular and decaf are available). Breakfast is served between 8:00 and 9:00 daily, and consists of orange juice, coffee/tea, fresh breads for toasting, home-made muffins, scones, or pastries, hard-boiled eggs, yogurts, and fresh fruit. The blueberry scones were especially fabulous! While this isn’t a full breakfast (no bacon and eggs!), it was exactly what we were looking for.

The Inn is located just two blocks from Davis Square, with its bevy of restaurants, bars, cafes, and shops. There are also lovely walking and bike paths, which we took advantage of each morning. In the evening, after dinner, there’s always something going on in the square – we especially enjoyed the different musicians who set up shop to entertain us.

Three off-street parking spaces are available, but be sure to let Ron and Linde know you’ll need one. We had no problem at all during our stay, and Ron said that if more than three guests need parking they can provide guest passes which allow on-street parking. Our son came over many times during the four days we were there and he was always able to find parking close to the Inn.

Overall, this is an excellent choice for a visit to the Boston area. We toured Cambridge, the Boston harbor, and the fine arts museum (among other sights), and everything was easy to get to from our Somerville location. We will definitely be back the next time we visit our son.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cunning12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Morrison House Bed & Breakfast, located in the Boston area, is the ideal place to stay when traveling solo. Check out the "Little Room" for an affordable room just off the Red Line (plus breakfast is included!). I like staying in B&Bs when traveling solo, to them you are more than just a room number which will give you peace of mind in a new city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrivenMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We go to Somerville about once a year to visit our son, and will definitely stay here from now on! The house is immaculately clean and the room was stocked with both necessities and niceties. Coffee was available any time, since there were numerous French Press coffee pots along with instructions on how to operate them. The house was built in 1870, and has been well maintained and renovated, so it has every convenience, even an A/C unit operated by remote control in our room. We stayed in the Morrison Room, but I peeked in a few ohers and they all loked good. The breakfast did not include hot food, but it was elegantly prepared and delicious. Wonderful fresh berries, home made banana or carrot bread, hard boiled eggs,etc. Definitely a cultured clientele who appreciate the finer things in life. Ron and Linde were very hospitable, but non-obtrusive at the same time. And Seastian the cat is a dear and a treat for animal lovers.

Room Tip: The mattress in the Morrison Room was extremely firm. If you want something softer you might ask if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judymoore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerville hotels
0.2 mi away
Bowers House Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Boston Bunker Hill Area
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 221 Morrison Ave, Somerville, MA 02144-2017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Somerville
Price Range: $75 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey, quiet B&B in hip Davis Square, only two minutes walk to the subway. Convenient to Tufts, Harvard, MIT, and the entire metro-Boston area. Big-screen TVs, high-speed computer access, and free parking included. Continental-plus breakfast with fresh fruit and gourmet coffee/tea. Comfortable accommodations in a variety of room configurations. We have everything you need. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing