We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Saloon

Saloon
Reserve with OpenTable
Saloon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 306 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Red Line Davis stop
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I just discovered this bar last week and it is really fun to hangout here. The cocktails are all prohibition inspired and the bartenders really know what they are talking about. The best part for me is that there are no tvs, so you can avoid all the crazy sports fans! Definitely coming back soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Drinks and Sliders!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Headed to Saloon and their inconspicuous entrance this past weekend with a few other couples. Cool ambiance and very impressive whiskey selection. Drinks and apps were great, and while I enjoyed my pork shoulder entree, next time I'll focus more on the drinks and get the sliders. "Hipster" beers were a nice way to finish off the night. We sat at a table, but it looked like a good bar scene too. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philryan835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Like visiting a speakeasy.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Once you find the entrance, you'll be so glad you did. Saloon has a great underground, uber-masculine vibe-- it's all dark woods and leather inside. The cocktails are incredible, and the food is nothing to sneeze at either. I usually just go for a drink and snack on some of the small bites, like a charcuterie plate or the excellent sliders. Everything tastes fantastic!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fenchurch128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“really cool”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

great little bar with i think the nicest ambiance i have seen in a bar in a long time. solid dark wood walls everywhere and big leather booths. staff is dressed in prohibition era clothing which is cool. huge cocktail selection and vast whiskey selection too. a tad pricey but not a big deal. service was good, it was sunday afternoon so it wasn't too busy but i really liked it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachbum393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Solid Bar, Can Get Loud”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

It is a nice atmosphere and the bartenders tend to seem like they know what they are doing. Prices may be a bit steep and occasionally the service can be difficult on the weekends. Very nice Whiskey selection.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing