We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Food With Flair/Bistro Dining Without the Attitude”
Review of Foundry On Elm

Foundry On Elm
Reserve with OpenTable
Foundry On Elm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 306 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Redline Davis Square T-stop
Acton, MA
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfort Food With Flair/Bistro Dining Without the Attitude”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's been over a year since we've been here and the food, much to our delight, was as good as ever. Favorites such as Bolognese and Beef Bourguignon were well executed and their Gnocchi wowed the table (no really, get the gnocchi). Appetizers were varied, delicious and fun. Poutine (YAY!) is on the starters menu and we were so relieved it was still there. The Foundry also does an amazing charcuterie plate.

The service was a bit spotty but I put that down more to the fact this place was packed than any deficiency on the part of our wait staff. We did have to wait about 5-10 minutes for two entrees to arrive but that was the only glitch in an otherwise excellent meal.

The atmosphere here is what you'd expect from Davis Square, relaxed and fun with an eclectic mix of patrons. It's a bit noisy which usually irritates me but here it works and keeps the vibe electric without drowning out the voices of your dinner companions. Prices with a couple of rounds of drinks, starters and mains came to about $60 per person (with tip). DO make a reservation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reservationfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    76
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hearty meal in Davis Square”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

First of all we went to How the Irish got that way at The Davis Theater. We were told that we could get a discount at the Foundry and that the food was good. The place ha a jaunty bar in front and seating for dinner is really in the back and along the side of the place. Our waiter was good and attentive and always brought the food and drinks in a timely manner. My g/f ordered Pan-Roasted Mussels . . . 13 garlic, leeks, mustard cream- quite a large portion- we shared them and they were tasty, but they were small in size. I ordered a few Oysters and am always judicious since they too can be small and i was right-tasty but very small. They have a nice drink menu- selective, and esoteric but nice if you like to try new things. My g/f had the Dee Flowered which was unusual, but she enjoyed it. I settled on a Cider since they were out of the Rums I wanted. It was tart and not sweet and cloudy like a good Cider should be. My girlfriend ordered the Pork chop and LOVED it-further it was so large she took some of it home. I wanted a burger in the worst way and ordered the burger from the menu-well done,but not dried out!!! No fried but had a salad with just the right amount of dressing. We settled on after dinner drinks Pear Cognac and a nice Port( both of which were free with our discount from the theater). The only downside to our excursion---THE PARKING SUCKS IN SOMERVILLE. Otherwise-Enjoy- the ambiance was electric and the food is good

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Locationscout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
640 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Flatbreads, burgers, great bourbon cocktails. Favorite restaurant in Davis Square.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Its a cocktail lounge with New American cuisine. The drink menu has a great bourbon selection. The dinner menu is diverse and every dish has a simple twist. We really like the atmosphere, its dark, classy low lighting. They make a great flatbread.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kipp7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Delicous but messy”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went here for dinner on Saturday night. It was pretty packed. We just snuck in and got a table for 2, but reservations probably would have been a good idea.

The opening of bread and butter looked amazing, but was a bit bland. The drink selection was pretty good, but better for beer than other things. We both got sandwiches. The flavors were fantastic, but did not come on brioche as it said. It was a toasted hamburger bun, which wasn't up to the sandwich. Everything fell apart, and I had to eat with a fork and knife. But it was delish! Service was good. And several vegetarian choices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waterangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, excellent service!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Sunday brunch with a group of four at the Foundry was a comfortable pleasant dining experience. We were lucky to get seating immediately and were attended to promptly even though there wasn't an empty table in the restaurant. We all ordered the buffet which was limited but tasty - Eggs Benedict, scrambled eggs, hash browns, cheese blintzes, sausage and bacon and various pastries. The choices were well prepared with a hint of French flair.
I would love to try this 'right in the heart' of Davis Square restaurant for dinner one night!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethklen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundry On Elm also viewed

 

Been to Foundry On Elm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing