We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one word....disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverview Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerset
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“one word....disgusting”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

this hotel is in major need of renovating. Our room smelled, there were stains on the carpet and bedspread. the sheer curtain to the sliding glass door was ripped. The bathroom, well that is another story.... mold in the shower and around the glass shower doors, wallpaper was peeling, bathroom door was water damaged and cracking, bathroom floor was not clean from the previous occupants. Towels were dingy and poor quality. Do yourself a favor and book a room at the nearby Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christineq q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    25
    20
    29
See reviews for
33
27
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We found this place by chance as we were ready to stop for the night late afternoon. The girl on the desk was very sweet, helpful and friendly, could not do enough for us. She gave us a lovely room with small balcony overlooking the river. Felt the price was a bit high for a Quality Inn but the room was lovely and very clean, there is a superb restaurant/bar, Gillians, across the car park for dinner, and the breakfast was an added bonus, with hot food as well as cold which is quite unusual, very good indeed. Would definitely go back and can recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
271 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The hotel is being renovated. The rooms are a nice size with comfy mattresses and bedding. The drain in our room needed attention, but everything else was nice.
The continental breakfast was adequate.
Reasonable price and location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredandlovingit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We were very happy with the friendliness and helpfulness of the employees, everyone from the desk people to the cleaners. The rooms were old but well kept up. The bed was quite comfortable, and we slept well. We had a first-floor room with a river view, which was very nice indeed. There were no bugs; however, my principal complaint is that the room could have been cleaned more thoroughly, and I don't think we had clean sheets every day. We were there for six nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

There are three great assets to this hotel. One is that it is located very close to I 195 and Fall River,where the action is. (Fall River is seriously lacking in lodging options!) The second asset is the hot breakfast which included sausage, french toast and scrambled eggs. Plus the typical cold items: bagels, cereal, juice etc. The third bonus here is Jillian's Bar and Restaurant, located in the parking lot. Nice atmosphere and good drinks. Other than that the room was average, although we did stay in one with a balcony that looks over the Lee's River. The balocony was small and the 2nd chair was located in the bushes, two stories below. Overall, not a bad place, but not a special event either.

Room Tip: Might as well go for the balocny rooms, it's only $10 more and the view is better than a parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during Labor Day weekend. They could improve on cleanliness overall and the decor is outdated, but considering we got the room for $98.00 bucks a night, it was decent. The room had the basics (desk, nice closet, plenty of dresser drawers) and also a few extras--I appreciated the mini fridge and microwave and also the oversized chair adjacent to the bed. The hotel also has a heated pool, which was a nice surprise and serves a not-too-shabby breakfast. Jillian's Sports Bar is located next the property and I had a great dessert there! (Warm apple crumble) We stayed at this hotel because we were visiting Newport, RI and this was the only hotel with a vacancy that wasn't charging an arm and a leg. The ride to Newport was about 30 minutes and it's even closer to Providence (about 18 minutes) which we enjoyed visiting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twilly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I wasn't expecting much from the photos on the Quality Inn website and where the hotel is located, (not really near anything), but I was pleasantly surprised. Room was clean with fairly new furnishings. Even had a microwave and mini- fridge. Bathroom clean and also fairly new. (80s bathtub but so what.) Building in good shape, well maintained. Desk staff helpful. Stayed on a weekend and quite a few other people were also staying there. Wouldn't have gone to Jillian's Sports Bar across the parking lot except for another review here saying food was good. It was! Not fine dining, but again better than expected and cheap. I'd stay there again no problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goingsolo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Fall River
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fall River/Westport
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bristol Harbor Inn
Bristol Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Bristol
180 reviews
8.5 mi away
Knights Inn Seekonk MA
Knights Inn Seekonk MA
#6 of 8 in Seekonk
114 reviews
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Seekonk - Providence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Inn & Suites

Property: Riverview Inn & Suites
Address: 1878 Wilbur Ave, Somerset, MA 02725-1013 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverview Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free WiFi, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet and on-site restaurant, Riverview Inn & Suites, has 104 guest rooms. Over half of our rooms feature a water view with patio or balcony. All of our rooms have a 32” flat screen TV in addition to a microwave and mini-fridge. Our onsite restaurant, Jillian’s Sports Pub & Grill is open until 1am and delivers to the hotel until 12am daily. Guests can enjoy various activities both on-site and in the surrounding area. Take advantage of our indoor heated pool, fitness room and waterside courtyard complete with basketball court, horseshoes & volleyball or just sit and relax in the sun. Nearby activities include golfing, fishing and go-carting. Conveniently located just 13 miles from downtown Providence, 14 miles from Bristol, 23 miles from Newport and 52 from Boston and 61 miles from Mystic, CT. The closest airport, T.F. Green is located just 22 miles from the hotel. We are centrally located in the middle of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Riverview Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Somerset
Quality Inn Somerset
Somerset Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing