We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Udupi - A rare Mysorean Vegetarian find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Udupi

Udupi
Ranked #13 of 84 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Udupi - A rare Mysorean Vegetarian find”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Though not the best, it is fair to declare Udupi as a pure vegetarian kitchen. You will be satisfied with the authentic dishes that are moderately spiced and at request would turn up a notch or two. The friendly staff, the cleanliness and the variety is enough to tickle your palate. My favorites are the Rava Dosa, Chana Batura, or even the south Indian thali - a best sampler. Do not hesitate to ask for uppinkai (pickle) and chutneys or the happlas (papad). Come here to experience the original Udupi (Karnataka) dishes and not the look alike madrasi feeling. Udupi, is truly synonymous with the familiar south Indian variety while rest of the south is localised. My relatives who rarely eat out felt at home. Ask for Patrick or Rufus who will help you to familiarise with selecting the right eats.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharadaprasad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“A Decent Restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the few Indian Restaurants that is "STILL STANDING" in the Shrewsbury Area. (Needless to say, due to good food). We go there occasionally for a late dinner. Everything is as you can expect in a typical Indian restaurant. There is nothing I can say will stand up than the others, but I was never disappointed with any item I have ordered so far. The prices are also modest and the service is also good.

Can go once in a while...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
218 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“excellent and consistently delicious south indian meals”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have been to Udupi several times over the last 13 yrs, probably averaging once in 2 weeks. They were initially located at the train station in Framingham and have a presence in MA for the last 15-20 years. They presently have only a la carte but the portions are huge and meals are sumptous. Another unique aspect of this restaurant is consistency in their meal preparation. I dont think I have tasted such excellent idlis, sambhar, vadas, masala dosas even in Mumbai. The North Indian entrees are passable except for their Bhindi (Okhra) masala and chick peas with bhatura. Our 13 yr old always orders the dhahi vadas which are excellent and always fresh. Try their south indian thalis and you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sangoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you like Indian food you will love Udupi. The restaurant was recommended to us and it did not disappoint - in fact, whenever we are in Worcester/Shrewsbury area we eat there repeatedly.

Echoing Jane S's comments, on the outside and in its atmosphere this place is unimpressive, but from the perspective of the dining experience it is truly a 'little gem'.

Every dish we had was sumptuous and well prepared. And the fact that the selection was vegetarian-only didn't detract at all from the variety and flavorfulness. Food was delicately spiced - not overly hot (although there are hot dishes available). I prefer the Thali initially for it's variety of tastes, but we also have had several of the curry dishes and each is first-rate - among the best we've ever had.

Tip: the Mango juice is a must-order - it is wonderful and makes the meal very special.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ComfortSeeker595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not for Vegetarians only”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This place is a little gem tucked into a little strip mall that is nearly deserted since the grocery store next door moved down the road.
The atmosphere inside isn't much to speak about, but oh, the food will not disappoint.
The customers are usually mostly Indian so that is always a good sign that the food is authentic.
The lentil pancakes are huge and so tasty; the fresh baked naan breads smell divine. There is a small selection of Indian beer that is fun to try. You will not be disappointed this this place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udupi also viewed

 

Been to Udupi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing