We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of 2ovens

2ovens
Ranked #11 of 85 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We decided to try this place and will definitely be back. The apps are $4 and under, and the pizza is phenomenal. Also the drink selection really impressed me - they have a selection of both standard and unique beers, tap wine, and pitchers of margarita or sangria. The only disappointment was the dessert. As others have already said, they only offer one dessert, a chocolate chip cookie. When we opted not to order it, they actually gave us each a sample anyway, and it wasn't that good. I think they would be better off removing it from the menu all together so people don't end their dining experience on a bad note, especially when everything else is so outstanding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stefinicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    40
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service, Price & Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Decided to try this new restaurant. Italian eatery we went to most recently before tonight was Osteria Mozza (Mario Batali's place) in LA, so our expectations for Two Ovens were cautious. However, from the moment we were seated at Two Ovens, we sensed the place had the right formula. Waitress & supporting staff were friendly, knowledgable, helpful & we could tell they enjoyed being there. We were offered wine or beer samples, which we accepted & enjoyed. Then the food...the menu is small, but that's OK...We ordered baked broccoli, which was absolutely great, expecially with the spicey sauce that comes on the side. We split a sausage pizza, which was baked perfectly in the brick oven and had excellent sauce & seasoning. We also had the combo dish that included meatball, sausage & chicken. Again, perfectly cooked, seasoned & presented. Finally, waitress brought complimentary cookies after dinner. In summary, we hit the jackpot here. Food is far better and prices far lower than Osteria Mozza (LA) and many places in Boston's North End, which are supposed to be so great. Atmosphere is upbeat & friendly but not too loud. Two Ovens definitely works, whether you're a couple, family with kids, group of friends or other. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bqworc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“try the flat bread pizza”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

we had the caramelized butternut squash pizza....i loved the flat bread and tasty pizza. we had potato wedges on the side....huge serving. it was a great quick lunch, and came to $15.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sauanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Meh. Nothing special.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

When you enter the restaurant, there is a small waiting area, that can get very crowded on a busy night, forcing some to wait outside. The two ovens are like giant igloos covered in tile, which are very interesting. The decor is like steam punk/industrial, with exposed ventilation and concrete floors. Large bar area, and sever narrow counters where patrons can sit across from each other to share food. Several small bar height tables very close to one another. Due to the concrete floor, and the crowd, it is very loud inside and feels somewhat like a subway station. The place is designed to appeal to a 20 or 30s crowd so I am not exactly the target market, but judging from the other patrons there, there was quite a variety, ranging from families with small children, older couples, and singles. Great place for families with kids since you won't need to keep them quiet given the noise level. Now for the food. Disappointing. Shared a pizza that had pineapple and prosciutto. The pineapple tasted straight from a can, but not even fresh out of the can...it was somewhat sour. Pizza has nice thin crust, but not an especially great flavor. Would maybe try this place one more time and try a different pizza. Also had salmon. Poor choice here. It was a uniform square of salmon steak that both looked and tasted previously frozen...like from a box at BJs. Served with a maple mustard that did not complement it well. Also ordered sweet potato wedges...served with the same maple mustard. Again, not a great pair. The wedges were basically mushy quarters of a baked sweet potato. I realize the potato is cut into wedges to make it easier to share, but it would have been better as fried sweet potato wedges. Finally the dessert...one choice...chocolate chip cookie. I figured this would be amazing since it is their only dessert offering. It was more like a cookie bar and we ended up taking just a few bites since it really wasn't great. So, bottom line is, it might be worth trying again for the pizza, and maybe in time they will fine tune this place, but overall not impressed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shamlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Tap Wine and Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I went to 2ovens about a week after they opened with two girlfriends. We arrived at 5:15, and there was a 10 minute wait. We opted to sit at the bar instead. The bar tenders were very friendly, and helpful. They introduced themselves and explained the concept of the restaurant (shared food, only food cooked in two ovens). We settled in tap wine, which has the added benefit of decided how many ounces you want. I don't know why I haven't seen this at a resaurant before, since beer drinkers often get to pick which size beer they want. We split two small pizzas (pineapple and proscuitto & butternut squash) and a large salad. The salad dressing was really good, and the pizza was excellent! I wish I had room for more. The crust was crispy, but not super crunchy. The cheese:crust ratio was perfect. The red sauce was really nice. I wish I had gotten a pizza to take home for the next day. By the time we finished, we had about 1/4 of the salad and one piece of pizza left. Our bill was $42 (including 3 small glasses of wine). By the time we left, the place was packed!

This restaurant would be great for friends going out, or on a date. There is a large bar area and some good beers on tap as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2ovens also viewed

 

Been to 2ovens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing