We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local and good”
Review of Ski Ward

Ski Ward
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ski Ward is a year-round recreational facility offering skiing, snowboarding, and snowtubing with a terrain park, lessons and rentals in the winter, summer tubing, a summer ski and snowboard park and beach volleyball in the summer and the Slopeside Bar & Grill offering lunch, dinner, outdoor dining, birthday parties, group/corporate outings, and rental facilities year-round.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Local and good”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the local mountain-a great place for kids to learn to ski. They also have a tubing park and work with groups for discounts. The staff is very nice and friendly. They have started 'slowing down' the tubing park by the snow conditions-likely for safety but you can't get up the speed you use to-that is a bummer but overall-a great experience with great staff!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Youth ski lessons”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Awful experience with youth ski lessons! Do not waste your money! Over the course of five sessions my child did not learn a thing about skiing, the first two sessions they literally stood on the hill and did nothing! After several complaints to the ski school director they had more instructors out to teach but honestly did not do much. The instructors are young, and in my opinion do not have the experience to be teaching such young children to ski. You are better off taking your child out yourself and teaching them to ski!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jnb29523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Area for Younger Kids and for Learning”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I learned how to ski here in the 70's, and my kids have now learned here as well. It's very small - so don't expect anything more than a large hill.
When snow permits they have a terrain park that is pretty good for boarders as well as a tuba-slide.
It's very close to me so we go every weekend for a few hours and the kids love it.
Food in the lodge is insanely expensive and what you would expect. Bar opened last year and overlooks the hills.
Thursday nights and Sunday AM's are race days and should be avoided.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ansancle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
335 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Very convenient, but pricey”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Tough to be too critical of a place that offers some skiing and tubing in a very convenient location. But I think they should/could get much more creative with their pricing packages to make it more reasonable. I know skiing overall has become a way too expensive sport to enjoy, so maybe that's just the way it is. But given the very small size of this spot I think it's very pricey.

If price isn't a concern, go have some fun! The runs are very, very short but it's a great spot for people to learn to ski, and get some exercise outdoors! The tubing is average but again very convenient.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Opinionsareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Convenient and simple. It's a very small ski area so there's not much to it but it's nice for a day (or night) of casual skiing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RimRock8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ski Ward also viewed

 

Been to Ski Ward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing