We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Phenomenal....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenburn Orchards B&B
Atlanta, GA
1 review
“Absolutely Phenomenal....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

Absolutely the best! This B&B is nestled in the mountains on a beautiful hillside where Larry & Susan have built a nice getaway location!

After being on the road for the day, my wife and I were welcomed "home" into this B&B and slept the night away and awoke to the most beautiful display at the dining table. Anything from fresh granola, rhubarb casserole (not the true name, but it was delicious!), strawberries with fresh whipped creme, to a raspberry Clafouti for breakfast! This is definitely a place to remember, and one to get back to!

I highly recommend this as a stop to anyone travelling through the northeast. If you let this one pass by, you just don't know what you're missing!

  • Liked — the great company, and the breakfast!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btucke32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
43
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

My wife and I are eating our way from Tennessee to Maine. The folks here kindly made reservations for us at the Gypsy Apple (very pleasant dinner - thanks Michaelangelo). Breakfast was amazing! Fresh baked bread, homemade apple butter, eggs to die for, fresh juice, and on and on and on. The table was a feast for eyes and palate. The B&B is not layed out as nicely as others we have stayed in. The common room is just outside a guest room, so low voices were necessary . The bathroom was very nice, and well equipped. The "suite" is actually a separate room with a surprisingly uncomfortable couch/bed, that is also separate from the bathroom, so I cannot recommend it. Go for the breakfast, in any event, and you will not be dissapointed. Call ahead for directions, as there is NO SIGN.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — the hide a bed at the top of the stairs
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sosousme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

This was our first experience in a bed and breakfast and we were very satisfied. We really did not know what to expect. We feel that with this experience we will never want to stay in a hotel again. the hosts were very gracious, the food was outstanding and we would definitely go back. A very relaxing place to unwind from a stressful life!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garystc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2008

We booked a several days at Kenburn Orchards, recently, on short notice, because of a family emergency. Susan and Larry took incredibly good care of us, from our large and comfortable rooms and finding and making reservations for us at local restaurants, to amazing flexibility about the length of our stay. They even found space for a couple of friends of ours, who, otherwise, would have had a very long, dark drive.
Breakfast is sumptuous, the baths immaculate (most, I think, with separate tub and shower), beds comfy, grounds and views stunning, and the conversation a treat.

  • Liked — Smart, helpful, personable landlord and lady
  • Disliked — not one single complaint
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank callmeike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

This b&b is wonderful! The surroundings are lovely, serene, and not to be missed. Susan and Larry are wonderful people, and the food is delicious! We can't say enough about how much we enjoy our visits, we've been there 4 times and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Larry's crepes rival the street vendors in Paris.

  • Liked — The decor and the food
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sarah_the_surly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

We stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast for just one night in late October.

Susan and Larry were most welcoming hosts and a pleasure to talk to over a scrumptious 4-course candle-lit breakfast. Our room and in fact
the whole house was very tastefully furnished and decorated (very comfortable double bed, too), the bathroom was enormous, spotlessly clean and had everything in it to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

There was an assortment of teas and coffees plus a kettle in the room,
cold milk provided and a delicious piece of walnut cake offered on arrival.

The house is out of town and could be a bit tricky to find, but the directions provided were excellent. Susan and Larry advised us on where to go for dinner and very good advice it was (best burger and chips I ever had anywhere - the West End Pub on the other side of the Bridge of Flowers).

The house is set in an extensive orchard, with a gazebo on top of a hill, which made for a relaxing short walk before dinner (eating huge raspberries and blackberries off the bushes on the way) and a lovely setting for the sunset over the woods (colour of foliage was breathtaking). Would love to come back

  • Liked — comfortable room, delicious breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank paulinemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cshipley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

Larry and Susan are lovely and accommodating hosts at this family farm-turned-B&B. Our room was quiet, spacious, private, and well maintained. We awoke each morning to the smells of the gourmet breakfasts which were simply sumptuous.

The inn is a bit off the beaten path of the Pioneer Valley, but the foliage, hospitality, and comfort make this a place we'll be glad to return to again.

  • Liked — Larry's Breakfasts!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cshipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne Falls
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
5.1 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brandt House
Brandt House
#2 of 4 in Greenfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
#1 of 1 in Bernardston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenburn Orchards B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenburn Orchards B&B

Property: Kenburn Orchards B&B
Address: 1394 Mohawk Trl, Shelburne Falls, MA 01370-9314
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Shelburne Falls
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic New England Bed & Breakfast in a gracious 1877 restored home on working farm growing Christmas trees, blueberries and raspberries. Near Shelburne Falls, Deerfield, Northampton, Brattleboro and close to schools, museums, year-round recreation. Ideal romantic get-a-way on 165 peaceful acres with splendid views. 3 antique-filled guest rooms, Queen/king beds, a/c, private baths with soaking tubs. Relaxing guest parlor with fireplace. Full home-made breakfast, fresh baking. Comfortable sitting porch. Abundant birds and wildlife. MC/VISA ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing