We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go with it”
Review of Race Brook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Race Brook Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This inn was fantastic! The buildings are old and full of history, so anyone expecting a four-star experience with fluffy pool towels and a staff eager to fetch them a drink should probably stay elsewhere. Race Brook Lodge is an old farmhouse with outbuildings and sheds that have been creatively converted to snug little domiciles with super-comfy beds with clean white linens and bathrooms with pokey plumbing, but I suggest a guest consider this part of its charm and just go with it. Breakfast is an delicious, varied spread that will fuel you for your trail hike or antiquing in town (we went into Great Barrington - nice little burg). Furniture and floors in rooms are not white-glove clean, but having grown up on a farm, I sort of forgave it that detail and just enjoyed it. My room was spartan but warm and snug - it felt like a little treehouse. RBL is funky and fun and feels totally authentic. If you're prepared to get some mud on your boots, relax and enjoy yourself in a true country setting because for the money and the setting, it doesn't get any better.

As an aside, I noted with disgust this comment from "Terrible" rating reviewer t_world of Boston: "They have several foreign housekeepers and cooks to do the work around. However, we were still surprised to see a gratuity envelop on the night stand in our room."
...Because "foreign" housekeeping workers don't deserve to be tipped?

Room Tip: Room 32 is an upstairs room with its own stairway that felt like a snug little treehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10052010e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 107 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

Used the main lodge to prepare and start section hike Appalachian Trail MA through CT.
Sunday evening we got the whole lodge for ourselves. Greg welcomed us heartily. We were warned there would be no food serving because of end of season and we brought our own super (no car, we were trekking). The kitchen was useful to cook our meal. Beverages, sodas and beer were stocked in the bar refrigerator; pay by honor system.
Owner Dave arrived that night and introduced us to the healthy choices breakfast for the next morning: fresh fruit, cereal, bread, yoghurt and even poached eggs. Coffee was ready and more coffee in the machine ready to go. The room upstairs was rather dark with limited space to store all clothes for an extended stay, yet with our small backpacks that was not an issue. The full bathroom was functional. Obviously we had a quiet evening downstairs and night upstairs. We imagined our extended family for a retreat to this location.
An access to the Appalachian Trail via the Race Brook trail starts right on the property, or walk the trail up to the lower falls.
Good price quality value
Rating compares to other lodging places in same cost category

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GoeieWitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We blocked all rooms at the Race Brook Lodge for my recent wedding in the Berkshires and my husband's family hosted a party there that Friday night. All in all it was a fabulous experience. All of our guests were happy with their rooms, Eve was more than helpful in organizing and pulling together the Friday night event (which was a huge success), and was also extremely helpful in answering questions and making recommendations for the actual wedding, which was held elsewhere. She has an awesome knowledge of the area, a calm, easy way of working with us, and just a fabulous way of making everything perfect. The lodge itself is really charming - delicious breakfasts, cool grounds, whimsical decor, comfortable rooms. Would recommend to anyone, but particularly to groups - it's a fabulous time. We'll be vacationing here in the future for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katie_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My mother is handicapped so we needed a ground floor room. We stayed in half of a little cottage behind the main inn, and it was fine. Nothing fancy, but clean, comfortable bed, decent bathroom. The grounds are kind of dumpy, dug up earth and a lot of cars just sitting there, but it's by a beautiful brook with lots of hammocks, and a great walking trail up a small mountain to a gorgeous waterfall. The inn itself is interesting, very old, odd nooks and corners. Breakfast was fine the first morning (good fruit, yoghurt, muffins) but the second morning, because so few guests, we got leftover and no muffins. The proprietor was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corgipup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Very friendly people, a nice location away from the Berkshire villages but right in the middle of nature. There breakfast is ample. The rooms were ok, if a bit outdated.

As Americans tend to be a bit more vocal than Europeans, we found the breakfast conversations of other guests at the big breakfast table a little bit overwhelming, but it could also be considered as one of the quirks that come with B&B lodging and not specifically a downside for Race Brook Lodge.

The suggestions for hikes were excellent and dinner at the Tavern was one of the best we had on our two week New England trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaartenKlaassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We've been staying at the Race Brook Lodge since before we had kids, now we come back each summer with our two. The first few years, it was a romantic get away for my husband and I. We enjoy hiking and there is plenty in the immediate vicinity. There's a trail you can follow right from your room that leads to the Appalachian Trail. And Bish Bash Falls and Mt. Washington State Park are nearby. The Stagecoach Inn, on site, has excellent food. And it is a short drive to Great Barrington. A longer drive to Tanglewood, but we always take in a few concerts.

Now we have kids we enjoy it just as much. There are plenty of hammocks, a pool (yes, unheated, but the kids don't mind), and it's just very casual and relaxing. Breakfast is plentiful and delicious. I really enjoy the laid back atmosphere. I've stayed at B&Bs where I felt I was in the innkeepers way. Here you're welcome to hang around all day, inside or out. It's like a campsite only more comfortable. I've enjoyed watching the progress on the boat over the years. We will continue to come back for another ten years at least!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qestia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This place is exactly what I need for my ideal New York City getaway! Great hiking, biking and places to run close by and a dip in the pool afterwards--so relaxing!! The staff are friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere is relaxed and charming. Head over to the Stagecoach (which is attached to Racebrook) for the best local organic food you've ever had!! I've been to all the spots in New York City and Brooklyn that are trying to replicate exactly what the Stagecoach had been doing the whole time! It's very old timey/ speakeasy-ish. This place is kid friendly, pet friendly and we stayed in room number 7 which was quiet and beautiful and had the most comfortable king sized bed with fresh linens. I love it so much at Racebrook I almost want to keep it as a secret to myself!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrswiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
9.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
388 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
315 reviews
3.4 mi away
Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
176 reviews
7.2 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
7.9 mi away
Inn at Iron Masters
Inn at Iron Masters
#2 of 4 in Lakeville
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Race Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Race Brook Lodge

Address: 864 S Undermountain Rd, Sheffield, MA 01257-9641
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range: $78 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Mount Race in Sheffield MA, Race Brook Lodge welcomes you to a place of peaceful respite and outstanding hospitality in alignment with local sustainability and inner harmony right here in the Berkshires. When you step outside your room, you’ll be greeted with breathtaking hiking trails that will lead you to the must-see views from the top of Race Brook Falls. From there, you have direct access to The Appalachian Trail and just across the brook, you’ll find our farm garden, which grows much of the produce for our restaurant. Our family-run space is founded on a deep commitment to serving the unique needs of each of our guests. We host couples seeking a tranquil, romantic Berkshires getaway for anniversaries weddings, or just because. We also host wellness and yoga retreats, corporate events and family gatherings. Regardless of your needs, we are here to provide you with an unforgettable, easeful experience that will leave you feeling rejuvenated, refreshed, and more connected to yourself, nature and any new friends you made along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Race Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Race Brook Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing