We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hospitable B&B in a beautiful area”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berkshire 1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Sheffield B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hospitable B&B in a beautiful area”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed for one night at the 1802 House on a mini road trip through New England. Ron met us when we arrived and was a kind and hospitable host, with loads of information to help us pick a place to eat dinner. I was worried the bed felt slightly rickety but it was absolutely fine! The room was cutely furnished, and we loved the wooden floor and ceiling beams. Breakfast was very tasty and set us up well, as well as causing no problems for my nut allergy, and the tea was very good - being British, that was a massive plus! Thank you Ron and Danny for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serenaeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Centrally located for our trip, we had a very comfortable weekend thanks to our hosts. It was just what we needed to get out of NYC.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is a lovely bed and breakfast in a sprawling, authentically historic (1802) house. It is furnished with lovely antiques. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. There are lots of charming common guest areas - a living room (with loads of books), an enclosed porch, an open covered porch with rocking chairs, and my favorite, a beautiful garden with antique French cafe chairs and tables. Ron and Danny are the perfect hosts -- incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast is exceptional -- fresh fruit, a hot dish, cereal, and delicious home-baked goodies. To top it off, their rates are lower than for most accommodations in the area and much lower than for comparable B and Bs.
Finally, Sheffield is a quaint town, more antiques stores than any other area in the Berkshires, and the closest Mass. Berkshires town (the shortest drive) for those coming from the metro-NYC area (maybe tied with West Stockbridge). Overall, this is by far the best place I've stayed in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maric5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My family and I went to the Berkshires to get away from the city and enjoy the tranquility of the Berkshires..and we found it at the !802 Berkshire House!! What a wonderful find! Our experience here was nothing short of wonderful and the hosts, Ron and Danny were absolutely fabulous. From the moment I contacted them, they were kind, professional and helpful.My daughter has a food allergy and Ron assured me that he would attend to it the entire weekend. Not an easy task for a Bed and Breakfast, but their attention to this with such accomodating concern made it possible for my daughter to enjoy the full Bed and Breakfast experience. She couldn't wait to get downstairs in the morning for Ron's Mom's home made mufffins. That is something she rarely gets to enjoy and it made her whole weekend. To show how on top of things they are ate the 1802 House, Ron heard my daughter loved dogs an dnot only allowed my daughter to lay with their dogs, but brought out a book about dogs she could look at all weekend. She was in heaven!

Our rooms were charming and warm and had our own private bathrooms and the breakfasts out in the sunroom were bountiful, tasty and started off the day so beautifully. It's a great destination to explore the Berkshires from because it's not in the hustle and bustle but close enough to everything you may need.

Ron and Danny are running a class operation! Do yourself a favor and enjoy a relaxing weekend with great hosts!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Risk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

This immaculate and friendly bed and breakfast has been consistently superior during my repeated stays. Ron and Danny are gracious and knowledgeable hosts. Whether it's drawing a map to help find an out of the way attraction to recommending an engaging book, their intelligent suggestions are always welcome. They provide a sustaining and delicious cooked breakfast complete with homemade muffins. The inn attracts a considerate and interesting group of guests but is also conducive to peace and quiet. Thank you, Ron and Danny.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank classicalmusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAMoon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Not sure where to start!

Breakfast was simply awesome... continental options, home-cooked breakfast muffins, fresh fruit bowl followed by a delicious cooked option.

Room was beautiful, loaded with lovely antiques but still had AC for the hot nights!

There is also a beautiful, comfortable guest lounge with TV and tea/coffee facilities.

The icing on the cake were Ron and Dan who run the place. So hospitable and friendly. Ron very kindly lent us towels to take to the local lake, provided us with maps and generally couldn't have been more helpful.

A gold standard for B&B's!! And good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I wanted to take a few days to go hiking up at the MA/CT/NY border. I had been on day hikes in the area, but this was my first time staying over in the area. We picked the perfect place. I now am a huge Berkshire 1802 fan. The hosts are great, as is the house. The rooms are beautiful and the beds comfortable. The furniture throughout the house is comfortable and interesting, and they have fun artwork up. There wasn't a TV in the room we stayed in (which we liked), but there was a TV/DVD player in the common area, as well as a really nice sound system with music to choose from. They have a great book collection, including several books of the area's attractions and hikes. The grounds are lovely, too, and there is a sun room, a front porch, and a screened gazebo from which to enjoy it all. The whole place has a low-key, comfortable, relaxed vibe. Breakfast is delicious-- homemade muffins and fresh fruit on top of the main course, plus coffee and tea and orange juice. They have tea, bottled water, and wine available 24/7, too. Ron and Danny, the owners, are great hosts-- super friendly, and really knowledgeable about the area. Also, the location is wonderful-- we were a five minutes drive from several trail heads, and there are a bunch more within a shore drive. I definitely recommend the Berkshire 1802.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hstcou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
650 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
276 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
6.6 mi away
The Old Inn on the Green
The Old Inn on the Green
#1 of 2 in New Marlborough
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshire 1802 House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshire 1802 House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Berkshire 1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 48 S Main St, P.O. Box 395, Sheffield, MA 01257-9696
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Sheffield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing