We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pembrokeshire, Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hospitality”
Reviewed December 31, 2008

For two brits who've travelled the world we found this place quite by chance (that is, my iPhone chose to work for a moment) and thought it was great.

We were not that familiar with New England hospitality at that stage of our journey but would discover that even set against the high standards found in the area, our hostess was superb. We wanted for nothing, and the breakfasts were sublime. And if we didn't have what we needed Ali was never far away and would readily provide.

The house is beautifully done. It is, we understand, 190 years old but for such a new house it is full of character. The room we had was warm, comfortable and bright. The location is the ideal lauchpad for the restaurants of Great Barrington and the delights of the Berkshires.

I would not hesitate to recommend this to other travellers.

  • Liked — Total charm of house and owner
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adrianlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
73
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlingtin
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We just returned from our second stay at the Staveleigh House B&B in the Berkshires (MA.) Ali and Harry are gracious and kind hosts. The house is a warm and welcoming. The rooms are well decorated with all the comforts of home. On this trip we brought our grand daughters (age 6 and 8). Ali went out of her way to welcome them and treat them like little princesses!

The best part of the experience is how Ali is so willing to accomodate your needs, all you need to do is ask!

We strongly recommend the Staveleigh House to anyone who is looking for a quiet and restful get away.

Jim and Kim B. Vermont

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank jayhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2008

Nestled in the Berkshires Stavleigh House is a True Find!

The owner Ali is truly gracious and cooks a fantastic breakfast consisting of the BEST Belgium Waffles I have had in years. The room was large and well decorated and the bathroom was new and spacious.

Truly a wonderful B&B!

  • Liked — Everything was above board.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MTNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2008

This is the best B&B I've ever experienced. I've been most fortunate to stay in the large downstairs room more than once and it is a dream; beautifully decorated, separate entrance, and bigger than my bedroom at home. Ali, the innkeeper, is a doll who is attentive and charming. As I am a diabetic, she always customizes breakfasts for me to my request. Delicious omelets!

Staveleigh House itself is beautiful. There are pretty flowers around the property and a barn way out in the back with horses, goats, and other wonderful animals. The dining room is awash with light in the mornings and is nicely appointed. Great living room with a piano too. Incredibly, the prices at the inn are more than competitive.

I am going to Sheffield again soon and will be heading straight to Staveleigh and Ali. The holidays in the Berkshires are dreamy and I can't think of a better place to stay.

  • Liked — Huge, beautifully furnished room.
  • Disliked — No internet access.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahnycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer Valley
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2008

Since 2005, my wife and I have loved our annual October weekend at The Staveleigh House. Ali and her family have created an authentic and thoroughly inviting place where we can decompress and just be ourselves. We knew from the moment we first walked in that this B&B was "our place." We've stayed in several different rooms over the years and they've all have been very clean, quiet, and the beds supportive and comfortable (and I'm picky about beds).

Fall is my favorite season for running, and if you're a runner, you'll have access to an array of the most beautiful back roads and gorgeous single-track trails right from the front door. Some of my most memorable runs have been logged here, in part because I come back to Ali's incredible breakfasts, which are always sumptuous and fresh, and Ali's homemade bread is to die for!

The Staveleigh House is the best!

  • Liked — The rooms, food, and especially the service!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drumrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2008

A lovely B&B in the Berkshires. Attractively decorated guest rooms and public areas. The owners are warm and welcoming, and the full breakfasts are delicious. Very convenient to area attractions. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The hosts.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debo56
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

My husband and I have been staying at Staveleigh House for a weekend in July for the last four years and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The house and grounds are absolutely lovely, artfully decorated, warm, comfortable and totally inviting. Proprieter,Ali Winston, is the most gracious of hostesses as well as an interesting, intelligent, charming and funny woman (not to mention a fantastic cook). The menagerie in the barn outback is like a little Noah's Ark of animal delight, there to be enjoyed or not, as you see fit. Sheffield is a quintessential New England village and accessible out the front door. I have come to think of Staveleigh House as my western Massachusetts 'home away from home' and wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Liked — the ambiance
  • Disliked — there is really nothing I don
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank debo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
677 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
295 reviews
9.2 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
374 reviews
4.8 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
153 reviews
9.2 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 10 in Great Barrington
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 59 Main St, Sheffield, MA 01257-9555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, gracious hospitality in circa 1821 home in Historic Sheffield. 7 Comfortable AC guestrooms w/private baths. Splendid breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Staveleigh House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staveleigh House Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing