We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY NICE, COMFORTABLE HOTEL”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Seekonk
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A VERY NICE, COMFORTABLE HOTEL”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This is a lovely Ramada Inn. The staff is very friendly. They are knowledgable about the area The hotel is near all major big box stores.. They check you in and out quickly, always wilth a smile. The room is clean and neat, the towels are fluffy and the bed is comfortable. There is a restrurant connected to the hotel which sefrved me a lovely meal at a reasonable price. There is no room service. There is a large in door pool that is kept very clean There is a breakfast buffet in a very quiet room off of the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suecoppola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silbizier, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
We thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. It is a busy world we live in and we truly appreciate the time taken to leave these nice comments. We do appreciate your business and look forward to a long and pleasant relationship with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    51
    29
    13
    15
See reviews for
81
27
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Some rooms have been redone. Bold colors...removed carpet off floors which is healthier. greeted by helpful and friendly staff. Tony and the female that was also on duty those days are great employees to have working for the Ramada. We've stayed there before and will stay again when were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfish1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbizier, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments on our new rooms and are always happy to hear that the staff is working hard to make our guests happy. We do hope that we continue to host you and look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Although this is a little older hotel, the quality is first class and they are doing some nice renovations. We were there for Memorial Day Weekend 2010 and had a block of 20 rooms for our son's wedding. This is perhaps the busiest weekend of the summer as it was also Brown University's graduation. We blocked the rooms almost one year in advance to get a little better rate. The staff didn't give us any less quality rooms because of this. Sylvia, the manager, and Joy couldn't do enough for us to make us comfortable. The rooms were extremely comfortable and clean. The breakfast was a wonderful gathering place the two mornings we were there to be with family and friends and it was a lovely breakfast. The location was so handy for everything in and around Providence, RI. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyncny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbizier, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
We appreciate so much your wonderful review and wish to thank you for taking the time to submit it. We are so pleased to hear that your experince with us was a positive one. We also appreciate your understanding about the ongoing renovations. We have been working hard to make sure that this does not interfere with the service we provide to our guests. Our hope that once completed it will provide an even a more pleasuable experience for future stays with us. Thank you again for your kind words and it was just as much of a pleasure to have you and your group with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I stayed in the area for a church conference. The location was wonderful..plenty of resturants and shopping in the area. Easy on and off the interstate. I will say that the hotel is a blast back into the 70's. The sauna doesn't work and we had plenty of insects..especially bees swimming along side of us. Overall, I felt unsafe and It reminded me of a hotel/motel where truckers stay for the night. We could smell the overwhelming odor of smoke. Most hotels are smoke free...so you will recognize the stench of second hand smoke. The staff was friendly...and willing to assist. The hotel has potential ..someone just needs to invest.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mymonree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbizier, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
Thank you for your review of our property. As you can see we are doing just what you have suggested by begining major renovations to our hotel and restaurant/lounge area. We have recently completed the first pahase of constuction which has included newly decorated and updated rooms and some common areas, a new restaurant and extensive landscaping as well and have gotten nothing but positive feedback thus far. We do hope that if in the area again that you will consider staying with us again and viewing our progess first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2010

This hotel needs a complete face lift. Not only is the lounge AND restaurant under construction at the same time, the rooms are so old and falling apart. The windows in both the bedrooms and the pool area have a film/residue on them from age, items on the ceiling in our room were falling off but the worst part was when our toilet clogged and overflowed and we called the service desk to help. The attendant brought up a plundger, had NO IDEA how to use it, and I was left to unclog my toilet and had her leave the plundger in case it happened at night. Another room was offered, but as we were traveling with other people for a dance competition, we had already heard from them that they were having problems with their TV not working, the hairdryer not working. When we took a shower, a pool of water formed in front of the tub....just a terrible experience for the money and they had the nerve to ask how everything was upon check out!...not worth the $99 they are charging AT ALL!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

It would have been professional and courteous had the Ramada Inn in Seekonk, MA posted the information on line that the motel restaurant is CLOSED and under renovation. This information would have been helpful PRIOR to booking rooms and paying in advance and agreeing to a non-refundable clause. We discovered this little tid bit upon arrival.

The lock to the first room we were assigned was broken and we had to be moved to another room. Not even the manager's key worked. The room we ended up in also had key and lock problems: We had to have the room card keys re-keyed almost every day of our stay and we could not properly secure the room from the inside and had to keep the chain fastened in order to keep the door locked at night. The outside side entrance door was broken and could not be secured. Anybody could walk in and out 24/7. So much for the card reader.... which didn't work.

The thermostat was broken. We couldn't get heat, air conditioning or air movement.

The mattress on the bed was hard as a rock and very uncomfortable to sleep on. The carpet was stained and not all that clean. The curtains were missing the pull rods to open and close them.

The "free" breakfast was nothing to write home about. We tried it once and chose to eat elsewhere other days. The coffee in the lobby was adequate some mornings and undrinkable other mornings.

The pool space was very nice, but the pool itself needed cleaning. The water was not the cleanest.

The staff was pleasant.

So why did we stay for 4 nights in THAT room?????
1) We had paid in advance for a "better" rate and agreed to a non-refundable clause so we knew we wouldn't get our money back

2) our kids and grandkids were across the hall. The only other available room near them was the one we were originally assigned which no one could get into because of the broken lock.

We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mladye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbizier, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
I am very sorry to read about how unhappy you were with your stay with us.
It has certainly been a dissapointment to some guests that our restaurant is currently closed due to renovations and we have attempted to inform our guests by posting that information on our website where your reservation was initially made.
The key cards are extremely sensitive and are very finicky at times. We are sorry you encountered this but it is unfortunately unavoidable.
We do have two entrances at the front of the building which are locked from the inside and can be used to exit but can not be accessed with a key card for entry.
The latch on the door and the thermostat in the room that you stayed in has been checked by maintenence and were found to be in working order. If we had been made aware of these and the other issues that are mentioned, we would have done our best to correct them or given instruction on how to operate them correctly.
Our pool is cleaned each morning and filtered and clorinated according the to standards set for us by the state and tested 4 times daily.
We do try our best to make our guest's happy and are dissapointed that this was not the case with your stay. If given another opportunity to accomadate you, I will be happy to personally assist you with any issues or concerns that are brought to my attention and we would work very hard to make your experience a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Upon arriving for a death in the family, thinks were ok in our room. The first morning, we made coffee and took showers. Came back later that night and saw that no supplies were replenished (no towels, no coffee); basically, the bed was made, nothing else. My husband saw that the wallpaper near the window was peeling and revealed MOLD!! We asked the front desk to move us. Upon returning to the hotel, we tried, endlessly, to use our card keys to enter the door. They didn't work. My husband walked around the entire building, at night, in the cold, leaving myself and my sister in law outside. The front desk stated they "thought" we checked out, so they changed the key cards!!! We told them we were staying the week, which still entitles us to 4 more days The 2nd night there, there were several nosy people in the hallways, running and talking loud. Considering they were adults, they had no respect.. We moved to the room next door because of the mold problems. Left the following morning and returned that night to realize that the door did not latch/lock!! We had left laptops and valuable camera equipment in the room. After addressing the issue with the front desk, they had begged us not to put a review on here and gave us 20% back on 2 days stay--$40 after being exposed to mold and no supplies and doors not latching/locking!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrollkOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbizier, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
I am so very sorry you were unhappy with your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the unfortunate events that took place during your stay.
We do instruct our front desk personel to make sure they inform the guests upon check in to please report to us any problems or concerns they have in order to give us the oportunity to correct them. When you reported your concern regarding the window and wallpaper I acted on it imediately . To my knowledge no one in your party reported noisy people in the halls or locks that were not working properly or we would have attempted to correct those issues as well.
I have spoken with my guest service agents and none of them has any recolection of having any discussion with you regarding Tripadvisor. I did try to make amends with you by giving you a reduced rate for your inconvienience and I was given the impression that that was satisfactory to you. If I was mistaken, again I do apologize.
If you care to give us another opportunity to serve you, we would be more than happy to work very hard to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seekonk
Hampton Inn Seekonk
#1 of 8 in Seekonk
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fox Point
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
#9 of 12 in Providence
199 reviews
Knights Inn Seekonk MA
#6 of 8 in Seekonk
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 940 Fall River Ave, Seekonk, MA 02771-5821 (Formerly Ramada Inn Seekonk)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Seekonk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Seekonk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redesigned with a contemporary new look, the Clarion Providence/Seekonk is a deluxe-service hotel located in Seekonk, MA. Just beyond the glow of downtown Providence, RI, this welcoming hotel is a relaxing and productive place for business travelers, family vacationers, and romantic weekend getaways. Whether you are hosting a business meeting or heading to the beach, you'll enjoy a unique hotel experience in the beautiful Seekonk/Providence area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Seekonk Hotel Seekonk
Ramada Seekonk
Seekonk Ramada Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing