We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal, super busy Sat. night - make reservations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Not Your Average Joe's

Not Your Average Joe's
Ranked #2 of 79 Restaurants in Seekonk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great meal, super busy Sat. night - make reservations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went Sat. evening with 7:45 pm reservation. Upon arrival, we were quite stunned to see diners waiting in foyer & around reservation counter (30+). Checked in & asked how long the wait would be-10-15 mins. As we waited, manager came around with complimentary pizza strips for all-appreciated this little treat. As promised, we were actually seated by 7:50 pm, great in light of the crowd. Waitress couldn't have been nicer, food came quickly. I ordered the jambalaya-excellent. My husband ordered beef tips which he enjoyed. Key Lime pie for dessert was one of the best I've had outside of Florida. Overall a great meal & dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sea4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    80
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Eat in or take out... everything is amazing and so worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is one of our favorite places to eat out. And if sitting down is not on your agenda, the take out is just as good. The menu is always fresh with lots of great seasonal specials. The staple items are excellent every time we go... the raspberry goat cheese salad should not be missed. The spring rolls are fantastic. The clam chowder is delicious. Desserts should not be missed. This is just a small list, everything is excellent! The servers are always helpful and happy. Even with my take-out order, the staff was friendly and very helpful. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very enjoyable. The lighting is perfect and even it its busiest times, never noisy. We will keep coming back again and again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlHSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“this not so average Joe is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nothing was great, just average food. I seemed to like it better than my family. Can't get them to go back to try it again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We've eaten here 2 or 3 times and loved it! Delicious food, good variety, nice portion sizes, good service. What more could you ask for! Just right for a special occasion or anytime.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank justducky1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angier, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Okay food, Great Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Sunday night family dinner - place was packed, which usually indicates a good place, but for some reason I just felt the food was bland. The bread and oil mix was spectacular, but unfortunately the best part of the meal as our meals were just okay-at-best. The prices were decent, but if I am just not completely sold on the place. Service was great - waitress went out of her way to be helpful to my family. Just to many commercialized places like this for me to trek back up to Seekonk just to go here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing