We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High expectations shattered” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eleven Forty Nine East Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Eleven Forty Nine East Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High expectations shattered”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have been to the one in East Greenwich many times and it seems the service is much better in EG. I went with reservation for 7pm and wasnt seated until 7:15 because they wernt prepared, when opening my menu there was stains and large food particles stuck in it, When my filet was delivered to the table I was given no steak knife(had to ask for it), the place was busy and could barly hear the person I was dining with. For the price of the bill (right around $80) I was not impressed by any means.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneTraveler401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food needs better waitstaff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

I went to the 1149 for lunch with a colleague of mine and for the most part everything was great. The cranberry chicken salad was plentiful and fresh and the food came out fairly quickly.
Our waiter was a very "young" man who prefixed his sentences with "awesome" and was not what I would call professional in the sense you would expect from a higher end restaurant like the 1149E. The highlight of the meal was when he reached across me to refill my water glass and knock over the glass of ice water smack into my lap! I had to ask for another cloth napkin to soak up all the water in my pants and ended up sitting on another napkin to help absorb the excess water. While he did apologize there was no offer to give any reduction in the bill or even a free cup of coffee for this mishap. I ended up not finishing my meal nor the dessert as I was just too uncomfortable sitting in wet pants. My colleague paid for the meal or I would have complained to management as she is far kinder than I .

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MILLANDRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

I've gone to the Eleven Forty Nine in Seekonk, MA from everything to a night out with my spouse, to a casual girls night, to brunch on a Sunday morning to a baby shower. No matter what the occasion, the staff have always been extremely professional, the atmosphere is great. There is an outdoor patio on those warm nice summer nights and a really nice bar while you wait for your table. The food has ALWAYS been excellent!!! I've tried many plates there. The brunch has pretty much everything you can think of. The dinner has everything from a delicious steak n cheese to a special occasion beautifully presented seafood or steak dinner. I've NEVER been disappointed. You can always depend on them for a great meal at an affordable price!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank spaiva81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Special Occassion Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We went here for brunch with my parents for my birthday. The cost was $24.95 per person so it is a bit pricey but perfect for the special occasion. The brunch included everything you would imagine would be available at that price point (carving station with Prime Rib, waffle station, egg station, various breakfast meats ham, bacon, sausage, freshly baked breads, muffins, pastries, other hot items such as fish, chicken, potatoes and cold station with salmon, cheeses, veggies, etc. etc. etc.). The service was excellent, we did not feel rushed and with so many food options it’s easy to go up several times :)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GinaDMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
446 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We went for lunch and had a nice meal. We started with the little necks. They were freshly shucked and served with nice sauces. I had a cranberry spinach salad while my husband had an English burger for lunch. Both were prepared nicely. The Axis zinfandel was delicious and inexpensive. Great espresso, too. Give it a try.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven Forty Nine East Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing