We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scituate Massachusetts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riva Restaurant

Riva Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Scituate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Riva Restaurant is Italian/New American restaurant located in downtown scenic Scituate Harbor. Our dining is romantic & charming while our separate bar area is like a rustic beach bar. Enjoy our outdoor patio with live music all summer long!! Riva uses only fresh ingredients and offers excellent dinner specials 7 nights a week.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scituate Massachusetts”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We visited the Riva restaurant in Scituate. The food was excellent and in large quantities. The drinks were very good too. Service was very good too. The only fault I find with the visit were the table arrangements. The restaurant is very small and the owners seemed to jam as many tables in as possible. In fact, when one of the person's in my party tried to sit down, we had to move the table and a person at another table had to move her chair. The seating in the place obviously didnt bother anyone because every table was full and as soon as one became empty, more customers were seated. I do, however, strongly suggest that the owners (to make the dining experience more pleasurable) rearrange and/or remove at least one table. I do recommend visiting the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    48
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best small restaurant on Massachusett South Shore”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

For those who have not had the pleasure of dining at Riva you are missing a small, intimate setting where the food is incredible. Four of us met for dinner and started with calamari that practically melted in your mouth. I ordered the swordfish special, a herb encrusted grilled swordfish steak on a bed of broccoli rabe over roasted finger potatoes. The swordfish was the best I have had in years! One of our party had the Long Island Duck with coriander and a cherry gastric was also amazing. Our friends each had a chicken pasta dish (I don't remember exactly what) and were raving about them. For dessert we split a limoncello cheesecake and a chocolate raspberry fallen cake. I will not do that again...I want own, especially the limoncello Cheesecake! We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjdoliber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Riva's is a small place with a long wait for dinner, but its always worth it. Its casual enough to go on a whim in jeans but nice enough to celebrate a special occasion. The food is creative Italian and high quality. The wine list is solid. Brunch is also good. The atmosphere is more fit for dinner (it does look better in the dark!) In the summer they have a nice patio.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good...”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Although a bit "tight" for seating inside, the outside seating is not appealing (like a noisy alley). You can really hear most conversations around you very clearly even though it was pretty noisy. The service was great though. The waitress was polite and attentive and knew the wine list well. Cod stuffed with crabmeat was fresh and delicious. Portions were appropriate. Could improve on the bread served with olive oil though. Will go again....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa22Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is my husbands favorite spot. We went again over the Labor Day weekend with a couple who had never been to Riva in Scituate Harbor, MA before. They also loved it. The service was good, the food outstanding. We usually get the grilled chicken with broccoli and penne dish it's as good as the North End but this time we tried some different dishes. At the table we had the Suppli, rice ball appertizer - Wonderful a favorite of my daughters after visting Rome, for entrees the crabmeat stuffed Cod, the Pork Osso Bucco, chicken milanese and short ribs over fettuccine - and for dessert the bread pudding with chocolate and raspberries was to die for and the creme brulee outstanding. The food here is wonderful and worth the drive. It is small so make a reservation, you can wait in the small but energetic bar behind the restaurant, they have terrific specialty drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riva Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Riva Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing