We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shower is TERRIBLE, dated room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Scituate Harbor
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scituate
boston, ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shower is TERRIBLE, dated room.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My now-husband and I stayed here the night before our wedding and on our wedding night. We were told we had the "best room in the hotel" but it was very dated and the bathroom was tiny. We didn't really mind this until the morning of our wedding when we both had to take COLD showers with incredibly weak water pressure. I called the front desk and they offered to take a look at the water. A guy came up and did something to it but by that time it was way too late--we had already showered and had to get going. We didn't bother with the shower and left early the morning after the wedding. I am not one to complain about hotels, but this was overall a very disappointing experience. They didn't offer us any recourse or compensation. It didn't ruin our wedding day, but you can bet we won't be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katerpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndaf1, General Manager at The Inn at Scituate Harbor, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I am glad our maintenance technician, who was sent to your room immediately, was able to fix the situation. When your mother booked your room it was because it had a beautiful view, two windows and was a corner room, although a bit smaller, it offered more privacy for your wedding night. We have many repeat guests who specifically request this room over and over again. The Inn was reopened in 2009 and since then has had many updates throughout, including 40 inch flat screens, IPod docking stations, new bathrooms, carpeting windows, window treatments, refrigerators and bedding in all rooms. The furniture, currently hand painted Hitchcock furniture made in New England, is being replaced in June of this year, completing the update process. We are very excited about this and hope that you will give our The Inn at Scituate Harbor another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    51
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
51
55
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a great stay here with two kids, two and under. The suite was nice and big we even brought the baby walker and a tricycle. the kids loved it! There's a fridge and microwave in the room too. The linens were super soft and the pillows were great, they give you varying densities to choose what you like. The toiletries were crabtree and Evelyn. We had the pool to ourselves which was nice, the water was comfortable temperature. Yessss I agree with other reviewers, the walls are super duper duper THIN!! But all we did was put some white noise on the radio and barely heard a thing. We ordered some pub food from the bar which was decent, coffee and free continental breakfast in the morning was decent too (fruit, yogurt and pastry). Its all so close, a walk down a flight of stairs, no further than in your own house. I would recommend the suite for a family, its comfortable and big. There's also a curtain to separate the seating area from the beds, which is nice when the kids go to sleep. We only paid about $200 off season, great value for the room and location.

Room Tip: Bring a white noise machine, the walls are very very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Friendly staff, great location, dated yet clean room with thin walls, pretty good continental breakfast. But otherwise a thumbs down...

The big issue is that we were told when we reserved a room that there would be entertainment and a NYE party in the hotel bar. Upon check in we were told, only after mentioning the bar, that it was closed. Strike 1. Then we were told about about construction in the pool area - new flooring was getting installed - we could still use the pool but be careful. Strike 2. And due to the construction the ice maker was shut down. Strike 3.

Hello, it's New Years Eve - not really a good time to close your bar or perform construction.


Scituate harbor mostly has restaurants and closes early on NYE - that's why we booked at a hotel with a bar and entertainment. We had to notify friends who were to join us at the bar that we had to cancel.

There was no offer of a discount or anything aside from an offer to get ice if we really needed it. They should have at least had the courtesy to notify customers about the bar being closed ahead of time so that we could have made alternate plans.

We made the best of it but doubt we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jms02050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndaf1, General Manager at The Inn at Scituate Harbor, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I apologize for any misunderstanding, however our bar was never scheduled to be open on Monday, New Year's Eve. Our winter bar hours are Thursday-Saturday. Our pool was always open and the desk clerk was simply saying that we are installing new tile in the vending machine area and she wanted you to be aware of that but it did not have any bearing on your enjoyment of the pool. The ice machine was located in that area and had to be moved but we do have another ice machine and as you stated the desk clerk was accomodating and was able to fulfill your needs. Hotels are a 24/7 operation and we do the best we can to work around the business of the hotel and the comfort and service of our guests. I believe we did an excellent job of that.

I also am not sure if you recognized this but when you made your reservation your rate was $219 and when we lowered our rates (because New Year's Eve was on a Monday) we refunded you $50, not because you asked but becuase we thought it was the right thing to do. So I do hope you will consider staying again. Our staff and location are the best and we have ordered all new furnishings for the guest rooms to update them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at the Inn on December 15, 2012 as part of a large group. We were there for my sister's wedding and the inn was very accommodating to us. We had to change a few rooms due to the number of beds and the fact that I had booked the only suite and they took care of everything quickly and were very friendly. I didn't know there was only one suite and decided to give that to my sister and her soon-to-be new husband. I did see the suite and it was extremely large. There were two queen size beds, a small dining area and a livingroom as well. It would be perfect for a group of 3 or 4 people to share that room. I'm planning on going back in the spring with 2 friends and we'll take that room.
The inn has a swimming pool and a pub on the lower level plus an outdoor sitting area. The pub was very nice and has a gas fireplace although I don't think they serve food there. I may be mistaken but I got the sense it was drinks only.
The location of the inn was right at the end of a small downtown area that had restaurants and shops, perfect for a nice stroll or to have a bite to eat. The inn faces the harbor and the room offer nice views.
I would definitely recommend this inn for a get-away weekend in a quaint town. It's also less than an hour from Boston so you don't have to fight the Cape Cod traffic.

Room Tip: There is only one suite so book early if you want that. There are king rooms and rooms with 2 beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We've stayed at the Inn a few times, and probably will again. This is a decent inn with a focus on simple, but good–this is not the place to go if you're looking for over the top luxury. The rooms are fairly basic (with good bedding), and the breakfast, while simple, has a good variety of nice teas, fruit, yogurt, and pastries. The staff is really wonderful–very friendly, attentive, and accommodating (when they can be; see below).

Our one issue was with the fact that we were directly over the bar in Room 11. One of the benefits of coming here is that you can bring your pet, but your room choice is limited to the pet-friendly rooms. We were told that it was "quiet time" from 10pm on. The band stopped playing around 10pm, but then there was other music playing and the usual drunk laughing, talking, etc. that didn't stop until 11:30pm. To be fair, it was Saturday night, and while we did make 10:10pm "what's with the noise??" call to the front desk, we didn't ask to be moved to another room. It's possible they would have moved us, but we were tired and looking at an early morning departure, so we just suffered through it.

SO, if you're cool with bar noise–or you ARE the bar noise–then Room 11 should be fine for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandGirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matsuyama, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Considering the hundreds of dollars per night we were charged to stay at this place, we we're astounded at how shabbily it was built. Although the Inn looks OK from the outside, once in our room we got the feeling it was built on-the-cheap with mostly plywood. The most annoying problem is that the walls are so thin that we could hear any and all conversations going on in the room next to ours - as if they were sitting besides us at the pool. As the Inn seems to cater mostly to the high-rolling, late-night, weekend party crowd, it made for a miserable night's "sleep" for us. Or should I say a "no nights" sleep for us. And please! Give the carpets in the halls and stairways a thorough cleaning! It looks as though once they were a nice ocean blue color, but have over time become grimy grayish. So grimy, in fact, that they emite a disagreeable odor. Unfortunately, this was the last place we staying during our ten-day holiday in New England. The hotels in Boston (Fairmont Battery Wharf and Buckminster) were excellent, and the Moseley Inn in Bar Harbor, Maine, a wonderful experience. Only The Inn at Scituate Harbor left us with regret.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndaf1, General Manager at The Inn at Scituate Harbor, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
It makes me sad to get a review like this when we could have addressed the issue during your stay, had we been made aware of it. Our beautiful Inn, due to its location in Scituate Harbor lends itself to weddings, reunions, and family parties and we understand there is excitement around these events so we maintain quiet hours after 10pm and have staff on round the clock to address any issues a guest may have so that ALL guests can enjoy their stay. Unfortunately we did not have any complaints about noise, nor did our staff log any issues, noise or otherwise during your stay. Our carpets, which are 1 year old and cleaned and maintained regularly, in my opinion look as beautiful as they did when they were installed, though they may not be your taste, the sea glass blue and chocolate brown colors were designed to create a neutral and serene like feeling. My staff will tell you that I have the most sensitive nose and have not noticed our carpets to have any odor other than the "new carpet" smell when they were first installed.

I am glad we were able to accommodate (by waiving our minimum stay policy and not charging any fees) your last minute cancellation of half your reservation and hope that based on our excellent customer service and willingness to do whatever it takes to make our guests happy you will give us another try next time you are in town to visit your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I just needed a bed for three nights. The charm was an unexpected bonus, as were the many amenities! I enjoyed the quiet bar on Thursday evening, and I'm glad I did because it was standing-room-only and raucous on Fri & Sat. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was a sugar-lover's dream.

Room Tip: Away from the bar if you're there on a weekend.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank amyptucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scituate
8.8 mi away
Nantasket Beach Resort
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rockland
BEST WESTERN Rockland
#1 of 3 in Rockland
429 reviews
9.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Rockland
120 reviews
14.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingston Plymouth Bay
18.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Scituate Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Scituate Harbor

Property: The Inn at Scituate Harbor
Address: 7 Beaver Dam Road, Scituate, MA 02066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Scituate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scituate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Scituate Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fresh sea air, a magnificent sunrise, and an amazing view of the ocean harbor and its famous lighthouse; all visible from your window in any one of the spacious guest rooms at The Inn at Scituate Harbor. Located just 25 miles south of Boston, Mass, in the historic town of Scituate, The Inn’s plush and comfortable guest rooms are decorated in a charming Cape Cod seaside style. Traditional New England hospitality is evident in our exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, always eager to welcome you to The Inn at Scituate Harbor and all of its amenities. Enjoy swimming in our indoor heated pool, or you take advantage of one of the five ocean beaches located in Scituate, MA. for sunbathing, swimming or just a seaside stroll. Satisfy the shopper in you by visiting the unique shops in the harbor; savoring a typical New England meal at one of the many restaurants, or pubs, golfing at an award winning golf course or enjoying numerous other local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Scituate Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Scituate Harbor Hotel Scituate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing