We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rewarding view”

Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rewarding view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hiked to the summit of Spruce Hill via the trails of Savoy Mountain State Forest. My big regret was not wearing a more waterproof hiking boot as the trails frequently get muddy with occasional stretches of full-on standing water. The hike up took this rookie about two hours on the North Pond Trail, part of the Blackburnian Loop and then up the Lost Pond trail by a really cool little beaver pond. The hike is mostly thick woods, but you do traverse a couple of clearings for power lines. Beware as halfway up the Lost Pond Trail, you can easily veer off to what seems to be a continuation of the trail (poor trail markings here). The view from the top is gorgeous, looking out at the Hoosac Valley below, with Greylock right across the valley. Took the Busby trail for the return hike, much shorter, wider and clearly marked, took maybe 40 minutes. This trail takes you past a cellar hole of a former farmhouse.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank AnyMajorDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilman, Vermont
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place to camp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were there for 4 day loved it. Big sites and great trails for walking. I only have one complaint they need to clean the bathrooms. I will be going back again. Don't miss Tannery falls

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

There is very pretty North pond with the public beach and a clean lake's water. We love this small park and we spend a few summer's days there. Also there is allowed the kayaking, canoeing and fishing. If you can't swim, close to the beach is a natural trail. The picnicking with the great lake's view is amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
163 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great off-the-beaten path campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Small - just 45 sites. Note that the ones in the middle of the campground tend to be really 'out in the open', although there are a few trees, and the ones along the outside perimeter road: some are quite small, most have a sharp slope down to them from the road. Some are more secluded and spacey than others. We were at #28, which had a long open area beside it, with the row of old apple trees separating it from the road (campsite #29 was at the far end).
Not crabapples, but actual apples that will be ripe in September (this once was an apple orchard), as well as wild raspberries and blackberries that will be ripening now..
@ smal bathrooms, each with M & F sides, each side having 2 toilets, but one is in the very large shower area. Lots of hot water for showering. The ponds are not meant for swimming (didn't check out the North Pond). Lots of hiking trails. A gravel road runs alongside the campground 2 miles to a parking area, where it is a 2-mile hike (lots of uphills in both directions) to Tannery Falls. Only a 4WD vehicle with big strong tires should try that access road - otherwise hike it or use a mountain bike. Easy to miss as the sign up on a tree is only visible from the opposite direction of the campground. Trails are not very well marked.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank fflbrgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely campground and park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Camped with friends for a weekend getaway. The campground is well-maintained; the staff is friendly and helpful. The tent sites we were at were secluded enough, even though the camp loop road ran just alongside them. Our sites were home to dozens of crabapple trees, which were dropping their fruit, so the very sweet deer who showed up to munch on apples during our Saturday morning breakfast was quite happy, though appropriately wary of humans. We swam and kayaked in North Pond, hiked around Bog Pond, and just relaxed at our campsites. Great family atmosphere, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lhdtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savoy Mountain State Forest also viewed

 

Been to Savoy Mountain State Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing