We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Top of my list!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2009

My girlfriend and I have been frequenting New England B&Bs for years, and this is a new favorite! Our second floor room was well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom was large and also comfortable–perfect for a longer stay with trips to the beach. The whirlpool tub large and worked well–not always the case in my experience, and worth pointing out.

The food was excellent and very well presented both on the plate and in the descriptions from the innkeepers–they seem to take great care in the ingredient selection, and it pays off. Even something simple like blueberry pancakes were elevated to something special in the hands of Katherine Sanderson.The dining room was bright and sunny

The innkeepers (Don and Katherine) were great–down to earth, funny and friendly. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajmassouh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 338 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2009

I have stayed in many B&B's all over the world, but none better than this. The location was fantastic, the rooms were beautiful with stylish decor and they were spotless. The two other things that make a B&B shine are the quality of the cooking and the congeniality of the innkeepers. Don and Katherine couldn't have been nicer. It seemed that we had known them for years and not days.I had to leave early in the morning two out of the four days we were there and they got up early to fix breakfast, even though I was the only guest awake at that hour. And the breakfasts were to die for! Katherine picked up a lot of her cooking from travels around Europe, and she and Don came to Sandwich from Hawaii so the recipes were varied and absolutely wonderful. I would go back to Sandwich and stay at this B&B any time and will strongly recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveMNewHamphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

My fiance and I spent a recent weekend at the Isaiah Jones Homestead and had a wonderful time. Although we spent our time at the B & B in early Spring, it is safe to assume that the grounds (which are teaming with rhododendrons and include a fishpond and gardens) are beautiful in the warmer months. From the moment we arrived, it was clear that Donnie is a delightful, witty and gracious host. We frequent B & B's and prefer ones that are a little more on the quaint, cozy, Victorian side and this one fit the bill perfectly. The living room is quiet and inviting and I read while lazed on the couch for several hours each night of our stay. The rooms and furnishings of the homestead are charming and elegant (see pictures). We stayed in the Deming Jarvis room on the second floor complete with a lovely, fragrant flower bouquet (part of our Spring Fling package), small flat-screen tv, dresser, couch, full length mirror, lovely 4 poster queen sized bed (partly canopied with a soft, inviting, bedspread and throw), rocking chair, wardrobe, fireplace (electric, but still provided plenty of heat and ambiance) stand-up shower and two-person whirlpool bath. The toiletries, linens and bathrobes provided definitely imbued a first class atmosphere.

Donnie's wife Katherine made us a delectable 3 course breakfast on each morning of our stay in the refurbished, beautifully appointed dining room (Day 1: muffins with apple butter, fruit plate, sausage and blueberry pancakes. Day 2: cranberry scones, fruit, yogurt and granola cup, bacon and feta/rosemary omelettes). Donnie and Katherine were at all times attentive and at no point intrusive. We fully recommend this B & B and look forward to returning later in the summer!

A few points of interest:

- There is a small parlor room just past the front entrance complete with complimentary sherry and port, and a DVD library with approximately 50 videos.
- We had dinner at Bobby Byrne's restaurant and pub (large menu, food was fair) and the Belfry Bistro (part of our Spring Fling package and one of the best meals I have ever had the pleasure of consuming!!)
- We had only R & R in mind and therefore spent the large majority of our time at the homestead, but it was clear that Sandwich is a friendly, quaint town.
- We went to a tasting at the Brown Jug Wine Shop and were impressed with the selection.
- We spent the last several hours of our stay having a delightful chat with Donnie and Katherine (who seemed like old friends).
- When our planned ferry trip to Nantucket (also part of the Spring Fling package) was canceled by the ferry service, Donnie immediately phoned to inform us and promptly refunded us the cost of the ferry tickets.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuilfordWFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

This was our second visit to the Isaiah Jones Homestead, and we were just as delighted during our three night stay as we'd been the first time. Once again we enjoyed a lovely room with a comfortable bed, unique Victorian furniture, and modern amenities. Each morning we were greeted enthusiastically by our host, Donnie, as he served the wonderful breakfasts perpared and presented beautifully by our hostess, Katherine. The variety of the dishes was amazing. Donnie and Katherine are great people - so helpful and accommodating. We really like the relaxed atmosphere of this inn, the quiet neighborhood (despite its being on "Main Street"), and its proximatey to the beach, shops and restaurants for evening meals. It was too cold to walk on the beach in early April, but we had a good time walking through the town on the sunny days and relaxing, visiting or reading, on other days.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

My husband and I had the pleasure of celebrating our 20th anniversary at the Isaiah Jones from 4/13-4/15 2009. The town of Sandwich is the perfect place for long strolls, with many shops, historical buildings, and eating establishments so it was the perfect place for us to relax and enjoy our anniversary. We stayed in a charming and very clean room with reading alcove and working fireplace and had a lovely suprise waiting for us in our room when we arrived-a bottle of champagne on ice with strawberries and chocolates. It was completely unexpected and a great way to begin our stay. Breakfasts were three course, homemade, and delicious-my husband is still talking about the homemade apricot/almond scones. We had the added advantage of being the only couple at the B&B for both nights and so we had the innkeepers, Don and Katherine, to ourselves and were able to have leisurely chats with them in the morning-something that we enjoy doing. They were very gracious hosts, arranging dinner reservations for us and helping us with suggestions for places to visit during our stay. We so enjoyed meeting them and had such a lovely stay that we have decided to return in December to see the inn decorated for the holidays. I honestly have nothing negative to say about this B&B and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cayConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for our 1-year anniversary, and we couldn't have been happier. The pictures on their website are exactly representative. The caretakers are the nicest people you'll ever meet. They even offered to prepare a special vegetarian b'fast for my gf, but the bed ended up being so comfortable we slept in past check-out (they didn't charge us). I give this place my unqualified recommendation.
SM

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ChinoXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We were the only guests for our one-night stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely and the sherry/port and cold drinks readily available were all very nice touches. Breakfast was delicious and our hosts were friendly and helpful with dinner suggestions. Would certainly recommend this B&B to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cheesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
14.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Sandwich
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Sandwich
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Belfry Inn and Bistro
#4 of 7 in Sandwich
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#3 of 6 in Sandwich
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast

Address: 165 Main St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range: $216 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Victorian house and Carriage House located in the charming village of Sandwich, Cape Cod, Massachusetts, with private bathrooms, king and queen beds and lovely appointments and amenities. Walk to nearby shops, restaurants and such attractions as the Sandwich Glass Museum and the Heritage Museums and Gardens. Just .75 mile to beautiful Town Neck Beach and a short drive to the walking/bicycle paths along the scenic Cape Cod Canal. A great location for exploring all of Cape Cod (Hyannisport, Chatham, Provincetown, etc.,) Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket, Newport, and Boston. Less than 90 minutes from the airports in Boston or Providence, Rhode Island and about 4.5 hours drive from New York City. Full breakfast provided each day and plenty of complimentary off-street parking and Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing