We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovey B&B in Sandwich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoneham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovey B&B in Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend in July during a blistering heat wave. The Dr. Jonathan Leonard Room at the Isaiah Jones Homestead was our cool and quiet respite. Donnie and Katherine are great hosts. The room was elegant and comfortable and the three course breakfast was delicious. We hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: The Dr. Jonathan Leonard room is on the first floor at the front of the house but it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    19
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
248
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have not had this level of pampering in years. Like a previous reviewer, the little details made our stay so very special. Upon arrival, Donnie took us on a quick tour of the common rooms. A beautiful parlor where you can sit and sip some port and sherry after a day out. Shelves of DVDs for your TV/DVD in your room. Main living room had an ample sitting area with a selection of wine glasses that guests could borrow for their use. Off to the dining room where Donnie showed us how to help ourselves to coffee and tea any time of the day. Did I mention there is always a covered glass dish of cookies on the counter for us? There was a bookshelf full of books and several small board games, including a foodie one called "Food Fight". Even in the bathrooms, the face towel included is dark in colour for make up removal. The room we had was absolutely gorgeous. There were chocolates daily from our housekeepers! Oh and outdoors where we park, the Sandersons provide beach chairs and towels for any guests wishing to go to the beach. Seriously, excellence is evident through the details.

The breakfasts were to die for. I would agree with the description "3 course gourmet breakfasts". We were so full there was no need for lunch....and to have breakfast served in candlelight....wow! The table settings were impeccable from china to crystal to silver. You inspired me to do the same at home so that I can extend this same special feeling.

Donnie, we loved your "Donnie's special" in the mornings (cranberry & orange juice) and your sense of humour. Katherine, thank you for your advice on food and cooking. You are an excellent cook! We had a marvelous time at Isaiah Jones and hope very much to return. You made us feel welcomed, like we were family coming home. You totally deserve your Tripadvisor certificates of excellence.

Room Tip: The Jonathan Leonard room is the cheapest and therefore, according to Donnie, has the smallest bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 514Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaiahjones, Owner at Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
It's such a privilege to serve guests who appreciate the details! We are truly blessed to have the opportunity to meet so many wonderful people each year - and when they return for another visit, they're like family (without any "family issues.") In all seriousness, we are grateful, indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our tenth hotel during a 4 week road trip and we were really looking forward to staying in the Inn after seeing all the reviews. Unfortunately we did not get off to a good start as we had travelled 12 hours from Washington arriving at approx. 8.30pm and were extremely tired. All we wanted was to unload the car and unpack but the owner insisted on giving us all the information which we felt could have waited till the next day. When we suggested this he obviously took offence.There was also no offer of help with the luggage and we did have a lot! The room was fine but like a sauna as the windows were shut and neither the AC or ceiling fan on - we had phoned to say when we hoped to arrive. There were only a few guests staying at the time so we wondered if it was cost cutting (we paid approx. $ 270 a night so not really fair if that was the case) but it was then switched on during the day for the remainder of our stay.However the positives are the Inn is lovely with amazing breakfasts cooked by Katherine who was very pleasant and chatty. We were given lots of extras such as cookies (lovely) and sherry and port. This was our first time in Sandwich and like Chatham nearby was a lovely place to stay. We appreciated the advice given on places to visit and having the ferry booked for us when we went to Martha's Vineyard which was certainly worth the trip .We had lovely evening meals at Dan'l Webster Inn and the Belfry Inn and lots of lobster!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaiahjones, Owner at Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Because we've worked in tourism and hospitality for many years, we can appreciate how cranky someone feels after a long day of travel. We do, however, think it's important for any guest who stays with us to know three critical pieces of information immediately: (1) how to get in and out of the inn, (2) where breakfast is served and during what hours, (3) where to get a cup of tea or coffee whenever one would like it. These guests abruptly stated that they just wanted to go to their room before we could offer to help with luggage or anything else. The next day they seemed to be in much better spirits, which is usually the case, as we are well aware.
Regarding the air conditioning, it was cooler than it had been for a while on the evening these guests arrived, so the A/C, which is central, did not kick in as often as it usually does. It is not our policy to deprive guests of A/C in order to save a few pennies, nor to deliberately make them uncomfortable - ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Donnie and Katherine were just fabulous hosts, made excpetional breakfast and shared their hospitality fully. We received excellent advice and knowledge from them and they truly made us feel at home and comfortable. The package deal provided was well worth it. Our room in the main house and daily sensational breakfast included a $50 restaurant gift certificate, a Whale Watching cruise and the ferry ride and parking to Nantucket. The inn located in Sandwich, MA is in a convenient Cape Cod location with easy access to all of Cape Cod and sports a peaceful surrounding with fine restaurants and historic sites. I had requested champagne and strawberries for my wife's birthday and they obliged without a 2nd thought. They also make cookies, pretzels, port and sherry wine and coffee available to their guests at all hours of the day. Classy, clean, comfortable are among the many positive adjectives I could use to describe our time at the Isaiah Jones. We will surely hope to stay again some time in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ytb_com_cliffedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaiahjones, Owner at Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Innkeeping is a challenging 24/7 job, but guests like these keep the smiles on our faces. Thanks for making our job a little easier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just got back from a two-night stay with Katherine and Donnie at the Isaiah Jones Homestead B&B. We had a great room (the Jonathan Leonard room) with wonderful amenities. The breakfasts were awesome (when was the last time you had grilled peaches?) and we lucked out with the weather and were able to have breakfast outside on the deck overlooking the garden area. From the 24-hr. tea and coffee service to the chocolates by the night stand, they thought of everything. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We chose our room based on price. If you want to spend more, get the carriage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had spent almost a month travelling on a combined business and vacation trip. After all that time and then celebrating 4th of July in Boston we really needed a nice, quiet relaxing break before heading back home. Isaiah Jones Homestead was the best place we ever could have found.

From the warm welcome we received when Donnie brought us into the wonderful and tastefully decorated living room with the words "this is your home now for the next few days" to the fantastic three course breakfasts Katherine cooked up every morning we knew we were in a very special place. We were also very fortunate because, yes, by chance, the famous "Donnie combo" juice was available all three mornings! :) When the weather was good they set up our breakfast table on the back porch. It was quiet and a perfectly romantic way to start the day.

We stayed in the Deming Jarves Suite. It was large, clean and very very comfortable. The bathroom was also very large, very clean and had both an oversized jacuzzi tub and a separate shower cubicle.

Donnie and Katherine had tons of ideas about what to see, what to do and what the best roads to take to the sights were so we had maximum scenery and minimum traffic.


Perfect place, perfect hosts - simply The Best!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandP_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We just arrived home from our honeymoon at the Isaiah Jones Homestead and what a stay it was! Donnie & Katherine are completely cordial, fun to spend time with and just overall wonderful hosts. Our stay was magnificent! Don't consider staying anywhere else when on The Cape! Don't forget to ask Donnie for his special juice blend each morning...it's the best!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
13.5 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Sandwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
0.1 mi away
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Belfry Inn and Bistro
#4 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast

Property: Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Address: 165 Main St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing