We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Quaint!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Ranked #4 of 8 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
203 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Perfectly Quaint!”
Reviewed September 22, 2006

We hit the Cape Cod area after peak season and our choice of B&Bs was diminished ~ after staying at the Blefry Inne, I am very glad that this was the case! It is an absolutely adorable compound with all the typical amenities of a B&B, with the lovely added touch of a terrific restaurant on property! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return in the future. The owner is just a gem, very personable! Quite the romantic spot.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thetripchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    54
    23
    8
    11
See reviews for
31
161
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2005

We stayed here for three days in July and it is a very pleasant spot. The food in the Bistro is excellent and the breakfast of very high standard. It is a B&B but with a difference as most rooms have a jacuzzi bath -in the room. Location is right in the middle of Sandwich village, so most attractions are within easy reach. The buildings are old and have been beautifully adapted in to a hotel and bistro.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2005

My husband and I spent New Years in the "Friday Room" in the Abbey - it was a kick. Huge high ceilings. The room was nicely decorated and had a working gas fireplace. Lots of unusual architectural touches. This is not one of those quaint, homey B&Bs with flowery wallpaper and teddy bears. It's more interesting and fun than warm and cozy. But we liked it for that very reason.

There was a big, tasty breakfast buffet for guests only in the dining room downstairs. Pastries, yogurt, scrambled eggs with herbs & cheese, sausage, several cereals, fruit - a good variety. We really appreciated that they didn't skimp even though there were very few guests (because it was winter).

The owner Chris & his staff were attentive and helpful, we were pleased with the level of service we received. Chris has restored this place and several other buildings and he's turned them all into inns. He is a popular figure around town.

We ate at the Inn one night. It was very expensive. Tiny portions, odd flavor combos, more the kind of food you read about in a magazine than actually eat.

I recommend the Belfry Inne - stay at the Abbey - for travellers looking for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ptzop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2005

We went to the Bistro one winter weeknight to celebrate a special birthday. The place was empty (should have been a hint), the food was lukewarm, overpriced, and mediocre (except for the cranberry-brie springrolls). You know that the service is poor when the coffee comes lukewarm and no refills are offered. I have been told, since, by a Sandwich resident, that they know not to bother going. I don't mind paying for a good meal, but this was a waste of a lot of money on atmosphere alone. I'll admit that the room is lovely - too bad about the food. Don't go unless you are on an expense account or you are out to impress someone with the prices. There are many better choices in the area.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank thirdtimeisacharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 9, 2004

We visited the Belfry Inne in Sandwich due to our arrival after the end of the season ~ our choice of lodging was limited as many had closed for the season. I am so glad this was the case! The Belfry Inne is an adorable compound comprised of two historic homes and a deconsecrated church abbey, all have rooms for guests. The bistro in the abbey was fantastic and offered items that you'd expect to see in the best restaurants. This Inne offered the typical B&B amenities but the service (the owner is wonderful and personable!!!) made it phenomenal. Highly recommended for a romantic weekend!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2004

How lucky could we be to end up a week of exploring New England to have our last night at this exquisite and uncomparable inn and restaurant! The Belfry is a restored Abby with beautiful woodwork, amazing stained glass and a staff that makes one feel like they have stepped back in time to a calm and elegant age. Although there are rooms in the Belfry, we stayed next door in the lovely Drew House, a fabulously restored Victorian with some rooms hiding under eaves and staircases. The winding staircase makes one wish they had packed lighter, but the oversized tubs and showers make the climb worthwhile. This is like a Bed and Breakfast, so don't expect a TV, although one is available in a lounge. Dinner at the Bistro was five-star quality and the atmosphere at the lovely, complimentry breakfast was more of a relaxed and peaceful "at home" or "among friends" feel.
Our only complaint was that we did not schedule another day in Sandwich to explore the quaint town and to delight in another night of what New England should be. Thanks to the owners and staff for this treat!

Helpful?
7 Thank FlyiHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
22.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
642 reviews
17.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Property: Belfry Inn and Bistro
Address: 6 Jarves St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing