We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent Anniversary getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Ranked #4 of 7 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is that Housekeeping seems to have missed our room one day and it did not get cleaned that day. However, we are repeat customers and the room was comfortable and excellent for the two of us to spend time together. I can chalk that one mistake up to human error. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Seth Room which I cannot recommend. It is a beautiful room located on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 266 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I and friends have enjoyed the fine dining at Belfry for quite a few years. Our experience last weekend was a profound disappointment. ???? New chef maybe? Service was the usual very good..menu disappointing. Husband ordered clam chowder....was served out of pitcher into bowl...tiny amount..unusual and not especially good. My salad was flavorless. Entrees were limited and not up to accustomed standards. We were very disappointed...Will have to check carefully before we return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I had read about this place about a year ago. We finally made it back to the Cape Cod area in October and this place was our first stop. We had a wonderful dinner. We sat by the fireplace, so it was quite cozy and romantic. The food was amazing and fresh. We did not stay here, but next time we are in Cape Cod, we will certainly book.

Room Tip: Even if you are not staying at this property, you must make it here for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffettsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I were made to feel very welcomed the minute we walked through the Belfry door. Very personal service. Our room was lovely with a very cozy and comfortable bed. We had a fireplace and a Jacuzzi to add to our experience. In the morning, we were warmly greeted by Lynn at breakfast. Breakfast is provided and the selections are varied and delicious. The Belfry, a former Catholic Church, has been remodeled as a restaurant with six suites for guests. It has been remodeled using many of the salvaged pieces of the church; i.e., the pews are now headboards for some beds. The stained glass windows have been used to accent the rooms. The Tuesday Room is especially beautiful. My husband enjoyed speaking with the owner about the engineering of the project.
We also dined two nights in the restaurant. Service was excellent and the service unhurried. We lingered over cocktails, watch out for their Cosmos, and appetizers. My husband and I both agree that dinner, filet mignon and short ribs, was one of the top three we have experienced.
We enjoyed our stay and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Look at the website for the Belfry. Choose a room that suits your personality. Each room is unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was so excited to stay in the "Tuesday" Room at The Belfry for my birthday in late November over Thanksgiving weekend. Everything about the inn was amazing, including the comfortable bed, the cozy fireplace, and the amazing bathtub (which even has colorful lights)! My fiancee and I were impressed by the generous breakfast selections included in the room rate, with something for everyone (french toast, waffles, omelets, scrambles, oatmeal, etc.). We also dined at the restaurant for my birthday dinner which was also so tasty. Highly recommended! A stay here is worth your money, I never wanted to leave!

Room Tip: The Tuesday Room is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fg1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Belfrey Inne has 3 main buildings and we stayed for two nights in the Painted Lady building, which was beautiful, clean and had an in room jacuzzi which was excellent (though note, due to the fact you had to clamber in, the jacuzzi was probably not suitable for travellers in their older years). The staff we met when we arrived were very friendly and helpful. We ate both nights in the restaurant (in the main building which used to be a Catholic Church and which still has stained glass windows), and the food was of very good quality. First night, I had cod in Cape Cod - and second night I had a sandwich in Sandwich! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Belfrey on 24/10 and 25/10 - the stay was absolutely faultness with the staff/room/food all of a high quality - we had breakfast both days and ate there on the first night - all meals were first class and when we drank in the bar on our second night the restaurant was full which in these austere times tells you something about the appeal of the Belfrey
When checking out I used the wrong Credit Card and when I went back to change the details I was told that it could be done but that the card companies would 2charge" which meant that it was not worthwhile - when I arrived home the Belfrey had credited the "charge" to my credit card - very impressive service - if you are visiting this part of America then book the Belfrey as you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
16.2 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
778 reviews
10 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
13.5 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Sandwich
651 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Sandwich
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Address: 6 Jarves St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range: $167 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing