We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant disappointment sat feb 22, 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Ranked #4 of 8 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“restaurant disappointment sat feb 22, 2014”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I and friends have enjoyed the fine dining at Belfry for quite a few years. Our experience last weekend was a profound disappointment. ???? New chef maybe? Service was the usual very good..menu disappointing. Husband ordered clam chowder....was served out of pitcher into bowl...tiny amount..unusual and not especially good. My salad was flavorless. Entrees were limited and not up to accustomed standards. We were very disappointed...Will have to check carefully before we return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    54
    23
    8
    11
See reviews for
31
161
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I had read about this place about a year ago. We finally made it back to the Cape Cod area in October and this place was our first stop. We had a wonderful dinner. We sat by the fireplace, so it was quite cozy and romantic. The food was amazing and fresh. We did not stay here, but next time we are in Cape Cod, we will certainly book.

Room Tip: Even if you are not staying at this property, you must make it here for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffettsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I were made to feel very welcomed the minute we walked through the Belfry door. Very personal service. Our room was lovely with a very cozy and comfortable bed. We had a fireplace and a Jacuzzi to add to our experience. In the morning, we were warmly greeted by Lynn at breakfast. Breakfast is provided and the selections are varied and delicious. The Belfry, a former Catholic Church, has been remodeled as a restaurant with six suites for guests. It has been remodeled using many of the salvaged pieces of the church; i.e., the pews are now headboards for some beds. The stained glass windows have been used to accent the rooms. The Tuesday Room is especially beautiful. My husband enjoyed speaking with the owner about the engineering of the project.
We also dined two nights in the restaurant. Service was excellent and the service unhurried. We lingered over cocktails, watch out for their Cosmos, and appetizers. My husband and I both agree that dinner, filet mignon and short ribs, was one of the top three we have experienced.
We enjoyed our stay and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Look at the website for the Belfry. Choose a room that suits your personality. Each room is unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was so excited to stay in the "Tuesday" Room at The Belfry for my birthday in late November over Thanksgiving weekend. Everything about the inn was amazing, including the comfortable bed, the cozy fireplace, and the amazing bathtub (which even has colorful lights)! My fiancee and I were impressed by the generous breakfast selections included in the room rate, with something for everyone (french toast, waffles, omelets, scrambles, oatmeal, etc.). We also dined at the restaurant for my birthday dinner which was also so tasty. Highly recommended! A stay here is worth your money, I never wanted to leave!

Room Tip: The Tuesday Room is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fg1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Belfrey Inne has 3 main buildings and we stayed for two nights in the Painted Lady building, which was beautiful, clean and had an in room jacuzzi which was excellent (though note, due to the fact you had to clamber in, the jacuzzi was probably not suitable for travellers in their older years). The staff we met when we arrived were very friendly and helpful. We ate both nights in the restaurant (in the main building which used to be a Catholic Church and which still has stained glass windows), and the food was of very good quality. First night, I had cod in Cape Cod - and second night I had a sandwich in Sandwich! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at the Belfrey on 24/10 and 25/10 - the stay was absolutely faultness with the staff/room/food all of a high quality - we had breakfast both days and ate there on the first night - all meals were first class and when we drank in the bar on our second night the restaurant was full which in these austere times tells you something about the appeal of the Belfrey
When checking out I used the wrong Credit Card and when I went back to change the details I was told that it could be done but that the card companies would 2charge" which meant that it was not worthwhile - when I arrived home the Belfrey had credited the "charge" to my credit card - very impressive service - if you are visiting this part of America then book the Belfrey as you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

The Belfry is a former Roman Catholic Church that has been sympathetically converted into a hotel/inn/restaurant by the current owner/innkeeper. What a job he did! It's a stunning piece of work with guest rooms running off a gallery balcony above the cavernous restaurant. We stayed next door, out of season, in the old rectory, now called Painted Lady. I note that previous reviewers have complained about staying here but our tour plan, booked through a third party, made it clear that our room was in Painted Lady. The room was large enough with a massive whirlpool bath, lovely easy chairs and comfortable bathroom. It makes a pleasant change to have 2 comfortable chairs in a hotel room! The windows & doors rattled quite noisily on a windy second night, the mattress was quite uncomfortable and the heating (big old-fashioned radiators) lacked timely heat control but overall the facilities were fine. The bistro served good food, both at breakfast and in the evening. The hotel runs wine tasting evenings on Wednesdays for a limited season in the fall/early winter and the first one of the season coincided with our stay. We declined to offer to take part, in retrospect this was a mistake as it looked quite fun as we caught the tail end of it when arriving for dinner.
A superb base to explore Cape Cod.
Overall a good stay in a well run conversion. Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
22.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
642 reviews
17.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cape Cod-Falmouth
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Property: Belfry Inn and Bistro
Address: 6 Jarves St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing