We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belfry Inn and Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Ranked #4 of 8 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We thought we would be staying in a converted church instead we were next door in the painted lady. I can only guess what this was converted from. The room was very bright and airy which at 5pm was fine but not still at 5am when the sun came up and the room had inadequate curtains. The food in the restaurant was overly pretentious and over priced. Ravioli with no pasta? A fixed breakfast menu rather than been able to order eggs and bacon. Seemed to be running very short staffed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfryinn, Owner at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodations. Your stay was booked through a third party who should have let you know that there are three separate buildings on property which have different rates. We will be following up with the third party to make sure that guests are well informed of what they are booking. You booked a room in the Village house but we gave you a complimentary upgrade to the Painted Lady building, a beautiful Victorian that was formerly the rectory of the Church.

We were unaware that you thought you were staying in the beautiful converted church building known as the Abbey, but had you let us know we would have gladly shown you available rooms.

We certainly apologize that your room had “inadequate curtains”. Many people enjoy the light let in by the stained glass windows and curtained French glass doors of the Garden room, where you stayed. However, we would have been happy to show you some alternative rooms or bring additional curtains to your room had we known the light was bothering you. We hope that in the future you would bring any issues you have to our attention; we strive to make your stay as “heavenly” as possible.

We do have a set breakfast menu offering up to four selections each day, which we change daily. We also offer a gluten-free menu and regularly make adjustments the menu offerings to suit each guests dietary needs and taste. There is a variety of delectable omelets and scrambles offered on the menu but we are always happy to prepare eggs any way you like them, with bacon or sausage, for our guests if they don’t find anything on the menu they desire.

We aim to make your stay here a first class experience and we regularly customize meals for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    54
    22
    9
    11
See reviews for
31
160
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Belfry Inne for thee nights and it is a beautiful place to stay. The Bistro rooms were absolutly gorgeous, and our friday room had plenty of room to move around,and we also had a little sitting area outside the room to relax at night. Cant say enough about the staff, as they were very much into their jobs and were efficient, and kind at the same time, a managers dream staff! Tricia, who worked multiple jobs, was exceptional in her job to make us feel welcome and feel at home. Our rating is down by one because, the room we originally booked was very much smaller than it looked on the internet, and so we had to take a larger room for a substantial increase a night, had we not been locked in with booking.com we probably would have gone elsewhere. Also, no guest refrigerater was somewhat inconvienant. We did enjoy a dinner in the dining room one night, and it was excellent, and the manager even brought over a cordial for our anniversary.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bonnie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was booked through Trailfinders. We spent 2 days here in the "Tuesday" room. Fabulous room with the original window from the church. Light and airy and well modernised and well laid-out. There is also a balcony for warmer nights. It is well-located for the local sights and for the beach. I woudn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris499514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

A typical Cape Cod village house and Painted Lady House either side of an old catholic church made uop the Belfry Inne and it was a wonderful setting We stayed in the Village house and found it clean and comfortable and full of olde worlde charm . No tea or coffee makiners but both available from 7am in the restaurant. Staff friendly and a choice of dishes for breakfast which was included. We tried the restaurant for dinner once, quite expensive and unfortunately for us we got the server on an off night very condescending and dismissive so we didn't return. This experience affected the rating of the overall stay

Room Tip: I'd go for the village house although all have their own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spirito2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet New England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I found the Belfry Inne through Yankee Magazine. Listed as a neo-Victorian B&B in a converted Catholic Church, I knew I had to stay there.

My room was beautiful and light filled with a gorgeous stained glass window over the bed. It had a private patio that looked out on a flower filled path. The room was on the first floor and amazingly quiet. I stayed at the Painted Lady building but got to look at the Abbey's gorgeous rooms with their church pew beds and enormous stained glass windows.

The included breakfast was delicious and receives an A for presentation. My stay was only two days but everything was perfect both mornings.

Tricia was our clerk on the first day and our waitress on the second day. She was a joy, efficient, knowledgeable and pleasant.

I will definitely come back to the Inne. It was spectacular and the Sandwich area is so charming.
Can't wait to do it again.

Room Tip: The garden room at the Painted Lady is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatelaine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
425 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights Inbetween our visits to Boston & New York and were hoping for a quiet, comfortable break from the city bustle. We certainly got the first - I've never been to a place where so little is going on! Unfortunately, the comfortable bit didn't materialise. Our room in the Village annex was tiny to the point of being claustrophobic with the most uncomfortable bed I've slept on in years. Why it had two mattresses AND a mattress topper on I've no idea but it only served to make the whole thing too high and too lumpy. Combined with the option of either being too hot or kept awake by the thunderous A/C, we did not sleep well on either night. The bathroom was similarly small and poorly appointed, with dodgy electrics and an extractor fan that's not seen a duster in months by the look of it. All in all, the accommodation was very poor.

One redeeming feature was the breakfast though, which was of a good quality served by friendly efficient staff. We enjoyed this on both mornings as a great start to the day.

Breakfast aside, we were really disappointed with our stay at The Belfry. Having visited other places on the Cape, we would stay in Plymouth or Falmouth next time - a better choice of hotel with more going on.

It was notable that throughout our stay we encountered our host several times but not once did he ask how our stay was. Perhaps he knew. Either way, we contemplated having a moan on checkout but to be honest, we couldn't be bothered as it wouldn't have changed things.

We're always happy to recommend places on TA if we've had a good experience. Sadly on this occasion we are unable to do that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We came across this place while looking for a wedding venue for our daughter. We were so disappointed that it wasn't large enough since it is so unique. We did not stay at the Inne, but we had a lovely meal there recently for an anniversary celebration. The food was outstanding. We ordered a variety of entrees and from duck to pork chops to fish specials. Everyone in our party of eight was pleased with both the food and the service by Meghan. We were seated in the back away from the bar area. Maybe not the best location for some, but for us it was perfect - we felt like we were sitting around a table at home and literally were there for over 4 hours chatting and enjoying a leisurely dinner. Sandwich is such a neat area and I would highly recommend Belfry Inne as a stop when you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
22.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
17.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Courtyard Cape Cod Hyannis
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
22.4 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Property: Belfry Inn and Bistro
Address: 6 Jarves St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing