We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible comfort and beautiful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belfry Inn and Bistro
Ranked #4 of 7 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the Belfry Inne after a few days in Boston. The weather had been very hot and humid and we really appreciated the cool of the room when we arrived. The decor was tasteful, the bed huge and perhaps the comfiest we've ever slept in.

The restaurant serves beautiful breakfasts and inventive dinners in an atmosphere of calm with attentive but unobtrusive service.

The buildings are beautifully kept and the rooms have been imaginatively and individually designed and fitted. Highly recommended for an indulgent and extremely comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eljayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Belfry Bistro is a gourmet gem and our favorite restaurant. It is set in an old converted church with some stain glass windows and a bar near where the altar used to be. Instead of wooden pews and benches, there are tables with comfortable chairs and candles. The tall, open architecture provides a roomy ceiling and spacious feel. The restaurant is comfortably, elegant. There is a small garden where you can do Wine Tastings on Wednesday nights. Reserve early, since we were unable to get reservations that day. We used Open Table to reserve a table in the restaurant at 8:15 pm, and there was only two other open tables at that time.

We had the Cod Fish Fritters with Celery Root Remoulade, Piquillo Pepper Aioli as an appetizer. They were nice, not fishy, and arrived quickly. I had the Five Spiced Long Island Duck with Breast Wild Rice, Swiss Chard, Truffle Merlot Reduction for the second time. The duck is not greasy or spicy and the merlot reduction is absolutely lovely with the wild rice and swiss chard wonderfully complementing the flavors. My husband had the fresh fish which was cod that had a lovely sauce and baby potatos. I had the chocolate, caramel, peanut butter dessert which came with chocolate ice cream - Small and lovely desserts.

We dine at Belfry Bistro twice a year when we visit the area, and we have always enjoyed greatly enjoyed our meals. It is our favorite fine dining restaurant in the area - definitely worth the trip and a visit!

Some tips:
the Bistro is closed on Mondays. Open Tues - Sat for lunch and dinner (dinner starts at 5 pm). Sunday, it is open for brunch and dinner. We have only come for dinner.

On Wed nights, there is the wine tasting 6 pm - 7 pm, but you have to call in advance for reservations. For $25, you get to sample four wines and have appetizers which are made fresh. The waitress said it is crazy busy, the kitchen and staff, so you may want to avoid around that time for dining. Although we arrived at 8:15 pm for dinner on Wed, the waitress still seemed busy that night, forgetting to bring bread and not bringing our bottle of wine until after we had finished our appetizer. Out of all the times we have eaten there, that was the "worst" wait staff experience which really was not too bad, and she was very nice, friendly, and we tipped well. We have eaten there on other Wed nights, around that time, and did not have any problems.

If you want "fresh" spring water, bring several jugs and containers (preferably with good lids) when you visit. Drive down road and to the right (past another church) is an always running, Sandwich spring with wonderfully cold, spring water bubbling out of the ground and out through pipes. It is free, always running, and you can help yourself to as much as you want. You may want to bring a flashlight, since it is dark at night. You can pull your car next to the Spring and fill up. It is down some stone steps and a wooden box is built around it with the pipes of water running out. The water is delicious, refreshing, energizing, and clean. I have never gotten sick from it. Every trip to the Belfry Bistro for dinner, we bring containers for the wonderful spring water. You may want to ask the wait staff for directions, but it is close-by and wonderful! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GodLovesYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Every detail was perfect! It was well worth every dollar we spent! The staff is friendly and welcoming, and our room was beautiful. The restaurant is BEAUTIFUL! I cannot say enough about the excellent service and delicious food! I love seafood and there is plenty of it on the menu (of course there are other great options for those who don't eat seafood). Overall the Belfry Inne was the ideal Cape Cod experience for me!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were visiting friends in Sandwich and they took us here for brunch. We were absolutely delighted with our food, excellent bloody Marys, sitting in the courtyard, and especially with our server, Christopher. What an awesome idea to convert this closed church to an Inn and Bistro. With so many churches closing these days, it's a wonder why more people don't do the same thing. Thank you for a most wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I stopped in Sandwich on our Honeymoon. We stayed at the Belfry Bed & Breakfast in the Painted Lady House in the Sarah Room. The room is a bit small, but very neat, clean and cozy. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and both meals were delicious. The staff was friendly and courteous. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I've been there with my wife and my 3 yrs old child. Very nice location, very calm and relaxing.
Good breakfast. I had a room in the ex-church: strange but nice (wednesday room). Very nice shower with music and chromo therapy.
I strongly suggest this place for a "no stress" vacation.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank emanuel_Como
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in Sandwich because we didn't know the Cape very well and I looked at Trip Advisor for a reasonably priced Inn with good reviews. That bein said, after driving around the Cape over the weekend, we wouldn't settle in Sandwich again. We would stay much further out near Wellfleet or Truro. SO, if you ARE set on Sandwich for some reason, this is an ok place to stay. However, I think the reviews misrepresent how nice it is. The dinner we had there was excellent, and our server (while forgetful) was pleasant. We sat outside which was very nice. The breakfast we had was good quality-wise, but very confusing. The menu that the hotel offers is somewhat misleading as you need to read fairly clearly that the items are a "SAMPLE" of what they serve, but they actually only have one or two choices on any given day. We brought this up to the waitress who then brought the owner out (unnecessarily) who we felt innapropriately addressed the situation by telling us he had been in business for 17 years. Way to make the customer feel diminished! We had a pleasant stay up until this exchange...
The room itself was fine, nothing special we thought and the grounds were just ok. It was a nice touch to have beach blankets and chairs for use though. All in all, I'd say an average stay (for someone who has been traveling every week for years :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank exeter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfryinn, Owner at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. The Belfry consists of three buildings with the largest rooms and amenities in the Painted Lady and Abbey building; the Abbey providing the largest rooms with the distinct architecture of the “church”. The Village rooms are simple, with Cape Cod cottage style furnishings with baths that have a shower only. Hence the price difference between the 23 rooms.

All reviews reflect the individual opinions of the writer(s). How could thsi guest miss for some reason all the beautiful perrenials abound at the inn or sit and ponder the day on the rocking chairs while sipping a glass of wine?.

Our breakfasts as stated on our web site and in the in-room literature clearly state that , 1) we are here to accommodate any dietary restrictions, and 2) here is a sample of what we offer daily, however the Chef makes two items daily. That is not to say that anyone who wishes for anything other than what the Chef is preparing that day the Chef will surely try to provide what the guest desires. In this situation we believe all we wanted to do was make whatever you would like to have and we even insisted that be the case especially if you felt you were not being offered a full menu.

We have been caring for guests for 17 years and every day we take the care to make sure everyone gets more than what they expect. Our staff gets rave reviews consistently and we are rated the top 10 for Open Table in our Boston market area and as well have the highest level of service from third party reviews from Zagat customers. The server that morning gets hug after hug from so many guests! Yes, occasionally we may faulter, but in the end we only try our best to care for everyone who enters the door. Just like today we provided gluten free muffins to three guests, fried eggs up with “no gooey egg white” for another guest and yet for another guest she only wanted a grilled bagel with plain yogurt! The menu for today was however; Feta and spinach omelet or waffles with strawberries. The menu begins with fresh fruit and banana bread.

For those who have any question who we at the Belfry Inne & Bistro please consider the following which hangs on the wall as you enter our “sanctuary”
Notes from Geritol Beach
Mary T. Wilkinson
1981
“Today I watched a young man comb the sand with a metal detector. Maybe he found a few coins or a bit of jewelry. He missed the smile I tried to offer, the changing cloud formations, the soaring gulls, the tide ebbing and the splendor of nature’s wonders. Some people go through life so burdened they miss the magnificent adventure of living.”

Please take a moment to unburden yourself as you enter this space. Write down your worries and dispose of them during your brief stay.
Yours,

Christopher Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
16.2 mi away
John Carver Inn & Spa
John Carver Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Plymouth
777 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa at The Pinehills
0.1 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Sandwich
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Sandwich
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The 1750 Inn at Sandwich Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Address: 6 Jarves St, Sandwich, MA 02563-2219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range: $88 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing