We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant dining in a hidden sanctuary.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belfry Bistro

Belfry Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Belfry Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 65 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6A
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegant dining in a hidden sanctuary.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely experience! Delicious food, beautiful presentation, exhaustive wine list, attentive staff, and very classy atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    65
    27
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
329 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unique setting”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully converted church. Stunning venue. Food was very good. The beet salad starter and mussels dinner were the biggest hit. Service was spotty (e.g. Folks circulated a lot but had to be asked to replace removed silverware). There is an outdoor dining area but it was buggy. That was the biggest negative. They should invest in some bug lamps or citronella candles. On the whole, a nice but expensive dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Hammbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Think twice”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I had one of my worst dining experiences in well over a year this past last weekend. We had made brunch reservations for seven but upon arrival they seemed to be confused about where to put us. Once we were finally seated indoors, in the very nice and aesthetically pleasing former church, it took almost 15 minutes for our server to reach our table for a drink order. Three minutes later another server showed up asking for a drink order. When the drinks finally arrived, (another 10+ minutes) the server had no idea who got what drink and delivered two drinks we did not order.

Once the food was ordered it took another 20-25 minutes to get the food. The French Toast ($9) was one piece of bread and just all soft and mushy. We complained and they replaced it with another piece that was burnt on the outside surfaces but still very soggy on the inside. The fish in the two Fish & Chips dishes was very mushy and far from the nice clean flaky consistency we expected to receive. Two omelettes were ordered and both were quite small relative to serving sizes seen at other restaurants

To top it off, this was a celebration of sorts - an anniversary brunch. The restaurant gave us a free dessert with a candle, the dessert measured at most 2" x 2" x 3/4" high - AND they gave us seven forks to enjoy it with!! That's when we pretty much all lost it. Will never go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernest L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsicana, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner in an Interesting Setting”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had an excellent experience at the Belfry Bistro. The Catholic Church, which had been renovated into a restaurant, is still complete with beautiful stained glass windows and dark carved wood trim throughout. One of the menu items was duck meatloaf, which three of our party ordered. We also had the beef tenderloin. Everything was delicious. We also had a three-year-old with us, and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Service was excellent, and the manager stopped by our table twice to check on us. After dinner we went outside in the garden beside the church, which is lovely.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDFAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good a little slow...”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

First let me say the place is very interesting. It was an old Catholic church converted to a restaurant. The food was very good. I had the sea scallops (excellent) and Donna had the lobster. Also very good but cold when it came out. The waitress and staff were attentive and friendly. The only thing and I am not sure I feel this way because I am from NY is that the food service was slow. It took about 40 miinutes for our first course to arrive. It was chowder and salad. (Very Good) Our main dish took almost 75 minutes to arrive. Other than that, I would recommend this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul6527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belfry Bistro also viewed

 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Belfry Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing