We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We return here whenever we visit”
Review of Bobby Byrne's Pub

Bobby Byrne's Pub
Ranked #20 of 66 Restaurants in Sandwich
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are at once surface and symbol. Our logo, which is influenced by the Celtic Knot, is insinuated not only into our decor and menu and onto our wall, but also unto the walls of our imagination. It can speak to us of mystery, of beginning and end, of what is now and of what is to be. Like poetry, we touch upon the coherent and the unknowable at the same time. Thus the Pub is about more than food and drink. We want to give you magic and metaphysics with your meat and malt. We hope that we nourish your spirit and enable you to experience not only another great good place but also a great good thought.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

There is both a table and bar section. We prefer the ambience of the bar and choose to eat our meals in the booths there. Food has always been very good, emphasis is on sandwiches. I like the chicken Shakespeare with roasted peppers on grilled filet with pesto aioli spread on the bun. Coleslaw is very good. There are TVs in the bar turned to sports offerings but the sound is not on.

Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 121 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had a seafood pasta dish that was delicious. I was there on a Saturday night and sat at the bar were the staff was great. Everything was done perfectly.

Thank davetcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey M, Owner at Bobby Byrne's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thanks for your review, the bar area is our most popular section of this restaurant. Our great bar staff has a lot to do with that. Our executive chef Jimmy O'Shea does a great job with seafood, only buys the freshest and best and I appreciate your comments recognizing his efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The menu choices are excellent and the food was very good. Service was attentive and the atmosphere is calm and inviting. We will definitely go here again when we're in the area.

Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey M, Owner at Bobby Byrne's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your experience in our Sandwich location. Our executive chef Jim O'Shea specializes in comfort food and its nice to hear you agree. We appreciate your kind words about our service staff. We have a veteran staff here and are fortunate to have them.
Slainte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had dinner with my family and there wasn't one thing about the meal that we enjoyed except for the potato skins appetizer. The seafood casserole was watery and the cheese sauce was supposed to be cheddar cheese however it tasted more like american. They served brussel sprouts as a vegetable, who ever heard of a restaurant serving brussel sprouts, nobody likes those. The apple crisp dessert came out cold not warm and the apples tasted like they came out of a jar and they weren't soft. As for the "crisp" part all I tasted was lumpy oatmeal. And they used gross whipped cream. Neadless to say I left the restaurant hungry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shadow2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Comfort food, and healthy choices too. Great staff, great specials, comfortable pub atmosphere. Always worth the trip. Slainte!

Thank EmerraldEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey M, Owner at Bobby Byrne's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thanks for your kind words. We feel we have a great staff, good food and excellent specials. We also feel the atmosphere is pretty comfortable. Slainte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby Byrne's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Bobby Byrne's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing