We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of the brown Jug

the brown Jug
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout
Description: The brown Jug is one of Cape Cod's best specialty wine and gourmet food stores with positive reviews from many well known travel and food magazines. In the heart of Sandwich village, in Massachusetts, the brown Jug is open year round for all of your food and wine needs. Search here for those one-of-a-kind, hard to find items!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by the Brown Jug to pick up a picnic for our day out on the Cape. There was a fantastic selection of food, drinks, cookies and pretty much anything you could want. The staff were great and our picnic was delicious. Also great place to find European products, the best I've found in US so far.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteAtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    25
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gourmet store”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very good gourmet food selection. Definitely worth the trip for an unusual selection of cheeses, wines, confiture, etc.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BuddyPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious baked goods”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Visitors walking thru town always stop here for a delicious sandwich - it is located right in the middle of town and is worth a stop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Underdogx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely cafe for a stop in town”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were walking through town on a beautiful day and didn't want to spend a long time having lunch in an indoor restaurant (Daniel Webster Inn, for example). This was perfect - sandwiches and cheeses, chips and drinks, scones and coffee - and we sat in the outdoor courtyard listening to live music (around 2pm on a Sunday!) My sandwich was delicious - ham & brie & fig jam on a French baguette. Staff extremely helpful and accommodating. Not really meant for kids, though my three kids (ages 9, 7, 5) were with us and fortunately sat quietly enough eating and listening to music - but I probably wouldn't venture in with smaller children. Would definitely go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious but expensive”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way into town for our vacation. The shop had many fine looking foods and treats to browse through including a huge selection of oils and cheeses. Sandwiches are pre-made/self serve out of a cooling case. I got a roast beef/blue cheese sandwich, my husband a chicken pest one. Both were delicious. However for 2 sandwiches, two bottles of soda and one bag of chips our bill came to close to $28. Very pricy. Nice garden with live music to sit in and enjoy. Overall despite the cost, at least the food was very good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NurseCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the brown Jug also viewed

 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 
East Sandwich, Sandwich
 

Been to the brown Jug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing