We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary dinner!”

The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 65 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Traditional favorites share the menu with contemporary cuisine. Lovely dining rooms offer a choice of settings; candle-lit rooms, fireside dining in the Music Room or garden side dining in the sun or moonlit Conservatory combine with outstanding service and innovative cuisine to produce a positively exceptional dining experience. We welcome guests in all our dining rooms dressed from casual to their Sunday best. The Dan'l Webster Inn serves contemporary American cuisine for lunch and dinner daily, year round. Start your day in elegant style with a delightful Breakfast. Recipient of The Wine Spectator's prestigious Best of Award of Excellence, features wines that will please even the most discriminating guest. The Inn, recognized as a Distinguished Restaurant of North America, offers familiar favorites such as the most tender prime rib and filet mignon available along with seasonal and creative dishes from our constantly changing Chef's Special Menu
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great anniversary dinner!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife had a great dinner for our anniversary. We had butter poached lobster and prime rib, both were delicious. We shared some great conversation in a room filled with diners. All seemed to be enjoying good food and quiet conversations. We split a fantastic key lime pie for dessert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    155
    70
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Main dining room, Tavern and Bar all great”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Friendly staff and great choice of food ... full dinners and light fare. You will love breakfast whether in main dining room or in quiet side room. Tavern is especially welcoming with the glowing fireplace puts you in the holiday spirit and makes you forget the winter blues.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 311LMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
222 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Rebuilt some 40 years ago, the restaurant itself captures some of the charm of an old tavern/inn. Nice spot for a quality dinner in the winter. I don't know if a summer meal would garner the same review. Ate here with my wife, and with two apps, two dinners and a dessert plate, the meal was about $50 - I thought the price was very good. Bacon wrapped scallops would have been great, but bacon was a bit over cooked for me (too crispy). Onion soup was outstanding. Pizza and burger were excellent. Mud pie was huge - just right for two (yes, mud pie in winter, I know). Overall, a solid 4 out of 5. I'd go back.

Helpful?
Thank KidRip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Thanksgiving dinner”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Instead of cooking turkey etc. at home, we decided to eat at the Daniel Webster Inn and made a reservation 4 weeks ahead. We asked for a table in the 'Conservatory' dining area. I was told that they were not able to confirm that at that time. When we checked in, table within the Conservatory was waiting. Beautiful atmosphere!!!
The 5 course meal was excellent! Everyone loved it. It was delicious, very pleasantly presented and served hot. The waiter that was waiting on us was terrific.
We will be there next year again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dine Like It's 1699”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We came in from the cold and were seated in the tavern where there was a blazing fire and, blessedly, no TVs like other restaurants feel compelled to decorate with. Big menu. Choose a plain burger or more elaborate meals like perfectly baked fish with asparagus and sweet potatoes. Soups were exquisite. Indian pudding served warm. The perfect special ocasion place. We love this place for its old world atmosphere and the excellent food, which is never boring.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capesafetyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing