We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Info”

Cape Cod Canal Visitors Center
Ranked #5 of 39 things to do in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Corps of Engineers operated visitor center with educational material about the Cape Cod Canal.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Info”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you have an interest in the canal or boating its worth a few minutes of your time to stop in and learn new things.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 132andbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    61
    9
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were to late for the Ranger tour, but one of them was readily available to answer all our questions. Be sure to watch the short film, it not only covers the history of the canal but also the history of Sandwich. Very informative.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Winifred82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent information”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Enjoyed seeing the exhibits and hearing the presentation by the ranger. I heartily recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank CCAnnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stop in for an eye-opener”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Of all my trips to the Cape, this is the first time I'd stopped here and, I'll admit, it was at the suggestion of our out-of-state relatives. But I was intrigued by the photos, timelines and info on how the Canal was created. The story goes beyond tide mechanics and maritime engineering to include entrepreneurship, economics, social policy and uniquely well-applied government policy. I'm no history nerd, but I was thoroughly engaged and happy I'd visited.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank eye-of-newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great views of the canal traffic and an interesting presentation on the canal's history - really love that stuff

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Cod Canal Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to Cape Cod Canal Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing